Difference between revisions of "Template:RC Warcaster Unit"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
m
 
Line 1: Line 1:
{{RCbox
+
{{RC Longbox
 
|Name= Warcaster Unit
 
|Name= Warcaster Unit
|font_size={{{font_size2|88%}}}
+
|font_size={{{font_size2|90%}}}
 
|Header2=or [[:Category:Warlock Unit|Warlock Unit]]
 
|Header2=or [[:Category:Warlock Unit|Warlock Unit]]
 
|list=''This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock '''units'''. You may also want to check the [[Warcaster]] and [[Warlock]] pages respectively, for the "regular" rules clarifications.''
 
|list=''This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock '''units'''. You may also want to check the [[Warcaster]] and [[Warlock]] pages respectively, for the "regular" rules clarifications.''
Line 25: Line 25:
 
*** to control a flag, the entire unit remaining in play must be within 4" of the flag.
 
*** to control a flag, the entire unit remaining in play must be within 4" of the flag.
 
{{RC Units Buying Attacks|font_size=100%}}
 
{{RC Units Buying Attacks|font_size=100%}}
}}<noinclude>[[Category:RC Template]]</noinclude>
+
}}<noinclude>
 +
 
 +
[[Category:RC Template]]
 +
 
 +
</noinclude>

Latest revision as of 18:10, 26 March 2020

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcaster and Warlock pages respectively, for the "regular" rules clarifications.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argus can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • The non-caster models are trooper models but are (normally) not Grunt models. Therefore they're not eligible for stuff like Revive.
  • Press Forward Order vs Casting Spells
    • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
    • If you issue the Press Forward order and your caster does not have LOS to any enemy models, then they cannot declare a charge and instead must run, so therefore can't cast spells. But between the fact that models declare charges one at a time, and spells being an Any Time ability, it actually becomes a bit convoluted. The scenarios are essentially:
      • (A) "issue Press Forward order ► I want to cast a spell ► can I declare a charge ► if no, I must run & I can't cast spells."
      • (B) "issue Press Forward order ► I want to cast a spell ► can I declare a charge ► if yes, I can cast it. ► After casting the spell, do I still have a valid charge target ► if yes, rinse and repeat."
      • (C) "issue Press Forward order ► I want to cast a spell ► can I declare a charge ► if yes, I can cast it. ► After casting the spell, do I still have a valid charge target ► if no, I must now forfeit both my Normal Movement and Combat Action."
    • Refer to (Infernal Ruling) and (Infernal Ruling). However note that as of 29th May 2019 it is getting reviewed (Infernal Checking)
    • Note that, in the above scenarios, the "I want to cast a spell" step is a Any Time ability. So although you may not be able to declare a charge right "now", you could for instance move one of the troopers in the unit to open up LOS.
    • Unfortunately if you have no valid charge targets you cannot cast a spell, even if resolving the spell would give you a valid charge target (such as Energizer or Mage Sight).
  • Steamroller 2018
    • The non-caster models can contest scenario zones & flags.
    • The caster model cannot contest.
    • The caster model can control zones and flags by itself, but:
      • to control a zone, the entire unit remaining in play needs to be in formation.
      • to control a flag, the entire unit remaining in play must be within 4" of the flag.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).