Difference between revisions of "Template:RC Menoth's Gaze"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
m
m
 
Line 2: Line 2:
 
|Name=Menoth's Gaze
 
|Name=Menoth's Gaze
 
|font_size={{{font_size2|85%}}}
 
|font_size={{{font_size2|85%}}}
|list=* The model(s) don't have to move ''directly'' towards the Avatar. This means moving in a "slowly tightening spiral" is an acceptable option.
+
|list=* The entire movement needs to be towards the Avatar; you can't start 3" away, move to within 1", then continue moving and end your movement 2" away, and try to claim ''"2 is less than 3 therefore I moved towards it"''. Refer to the definition of "towards" in the core rulebook. ('''[https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?278742-Menoth-s-gaze Locked Thread]''')
 +
* The model(s) don't have to move ''directly'' towards the Avatar. This means moving in a "slowly tightening spiral" is an acceptable option.
 
* Whether this spiral needs to be measured as a series of straight lines, or whether you just accept the "mathematical solution of a perfect curve" and move the model directly to its final position is a hotly debated topic. ([http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?269888-Gaze-of-Menoth-quot-spiral-quot-movement-and-practical-limitations-on-measurement Link to discussion]). The general consensus is, though, that it's up to your ''opponent''.  
 
* Whether this spiral needs to be measured as a series of straight lines, or whether you just accept the "mathematical solution of a perfect curve" and move the model directly to its final position is a hotly debated topic. ([http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?269888-Gaze-of-Menoth-quot-spiral-quot-movement-and-practical-limitations-on-measurement Link to discussion]). The general consensus is, though, that it's up to your ''opponent''.  
 
** If they are willing to accept your mathematical proof, no dramas. You're both on the same page.
 
** If they are willing to accept your mathematical proof, no dramas. You're both on the same page.

Latest revision as of 05:28, 16 August 2019

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Menoth's Gaze     (Edit)

  • The entire movement needs to be towards the Avatar; you can't start 3" away, move to within 1", then continue moving and end your movement 2" away, and try to claim "2 is less than 3 therefore I moved towards it". Refer to the definition of "towards" in the core rulebook. (Locked Thread)
  • The model(s) don't have to move directly towards the Avatar. This means moving in a "slowly tightening spiral" is an acceptable option.
  • Whether this spiral needs to be measured as a series of straight lines, or whether you just accept the "mathematical solution of a perfect curve" and move the model directly to its final position is a hotly debated topic. (Link to discussion). The general consensus is, though, that it's up to your opponent.
    • If they are willing to accept your mathematical proof, no dramas. You're both on the same page.
    • If they're not, then you need to move the model in accordance with the rules: Straight lines and rotations. You can make each movement 1/16 of an inch and each rotation 1/10 of a degree, but it needs be measurable and confirmable by both players.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)