From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Cygnar Logo.jpg Squire

Cygnar Solo - (Warcaster Attachment)

Mk4 icon.png
This model is available in two Prime Armies, First Army and Storm Knights. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

The Squire represents the culmination of decades of painstaking work by the experimental engineering branches of three of the leading centers of thinking in Cygnar: the Strategic Academy, the Royal Cygnaran University, and Caspia’s Cygnaran Armory. Powered by an advanced arcane turbine similar to those found in warcaster armor, the Squire has no tools or weaponry, as its designers intended it to neither labor nor fight. Instead, this compact mechanikal marvel enhances the innate powers of the warcaster controlling it.

Basic Info

Missing Info
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
STR {{{str}}}
MAT {{{mat}}}
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 1
Warcaster 1
the Statblock
  • Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model to a friendly Faction warcaster for the rest of the game. Each Faction warcaster can have only one model/unit attached to it.


  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Arcane Realignment - While this model's warcaster is within 5" of it, that warcaster can reroll one failed magic attack roll each turn.
  • Arcane Repeater - While this model's warcaster/warlock is within 5" of it, that caster's control range is extended 2".
  • Reserve Accumulator - Once per turn during your Control Phase after replenishing focus, if this model is within 5" of its controlling warcaster, you can mark one unmarked accumulator circle on this model's card to give 1 focus point to its warcaster. (This ability can be used three times per game.)


  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Squire

Squire in a nutshell

Do you want to do things with focus and/or spells? Then the Squire is for you! R2-D2 will follow your Warcaster around and generally improve his ability at Warcasting. This little robot is often the first choice for a free card in any given theme force, plus a worthwhile item to buy for new players.

Combos & Synergies

Most Cygnar Warcasters don't mind having the Squire along, but Reinholdt, Madelyn Corbeau and Sylys Wyshnalyrr are also attachments, you may find that certain casters don't need the faithful little 'bot unless casting spells or using focus to gain additional attacks is their primary goal.

Some general guidance:

  • Consider the Squire if you have abilities, spells or a feat linked to the size of your control range.
  • If you are going to be casting spells at key models, the reroll is a great ability to have.
  • The additional focus is ideal for many focus-strapped casters and/or those who want an additional melee attack/boost.

Check out the individual Warcaster pages for their own combos and synergies with attachments.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • The Squire is not a frontline model. If he's near the action, he's useful enough that your opponent may try to take him out (and is weak enough that it is very likely).
  • He is more expensive than all the other attachments. If your army is very tight on points, it might be worth switching to a different attachment (unless taken for free).
  • Warcasters with few or no offensive spells don't benefit from most of its rules.
  • The Warcasters with a preference for guns (typically their own) often don't get as much out of the Squire as they do from Reinholdt, who is slightly cheaper.
  • Sylys Wyshnalyrr might be better for a warcaster who both has upkeep spells and doesn't care about their control range. Or at least very slightly cheaper.

Tricks & Tips

  • Once you've used up the focus points on the Squire, you may find it of limited use in the late game unless you are casting spells. Its defensive stats and boxes means it can be a surprisingly effective speed bump or charge lane blocker.
    • Or slam it into small based targets to knock them down. Amusingly, casters with Force Hammer can cast that at the Squire to slam it over an enemy model...and use the Squire's own reroll against itself if necessary.
  • It's a construct, so you can repair it, if needed.
  • Its defense is lower than your caster's. Don't stand him too close, since opponents can target him with AOEs and clip low arm casters. This is especially true for spells with additional effects such as Hellmouth and Hex Blast. Keep it at the maximum distance from your caster.



Voltaic Vixen. GenCon exclusive

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

Battlegroup Controllers: Caine0 - Nemo4 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)


Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Dreyfus1 - Dreyfus2 & Flubbin2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures

Nemo4 - Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse

Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attached      (Edit)

  • Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
(You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
  • Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).

Rules Clarification : Arcane Realignment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Arcane Repeater - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reserve Accumulator      (Edit)

  • Reserve Accumulator occurs at Step 1 of the Control Phase (Replenish Focus), not at Step 5 (All other effects).
  • This means the focus you take from the Squire is available to allocate to a warjack at Step 3 (Allocation). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can grab focus from the Squire even if you're under an effect that prevents you replenishing focus (such as Disruptor Bolt). "After replenishing focus" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.