Difference between revisions of "Revelator"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
m (Recent Changes)
m (Theme Forces)
Line 38: Line 38:
===Theme Forces===
===Theme Forces===
* <u>Protectorate</u>
* {{Exemplar Interdiction}}. {{PAGENAME}}s gain [[Blessed]] weapons in this theme.
** {{Exemplar Interdiction}}. {{PAGENAME}}s gain [[Blessed]] melee weapons in this theme.
* {{Guardians of the Temple}}
** {{Guardians of the Temple}}
* {{The Creator's Might}}
** {{The Creator's Might}}
* {{The Faithful Masses}}. {{PAGENAME}}s gain [[Hand of Vengeance]] in this theme.
** {{The Faithful Masses}}. {{PAGENAME}}s gain [[Hand of Vengeance]] in this theme.
* {{Warriors of the Old Faith}}. {{PAGENAME}}s can be "shared" by Khador warcasters in this theme.
** {{Warriors of the Old Faith}}. {{PAGENAME}}s can be "shared" by Khador warcasters in this theme.
* <u>Infernals</u>
* {{Hearts of Darkness}}. {{PAGENAME}}s can only go in this theme if Feora [[Feora, Priestess of the Flame|(1)]], [[Feora, Protector of the Flame|(2)]], or [[Feora, The Conquering Flame|(3)]] is leading the army. They become an Infernal warjack and gain [[Accumulator]] [Soulless] in this theme.
** {{Hearts of Darkness}}. {{PAGENAME}}s can only go in this theme if Feora [[Feora, Priestess of the Flame|(1)]], [[Feora, Protector of the Flame|(2)]], or [[Feora, The Conquering Flame|(3)]] is leading the army. They become an Infernal warjack and gain [[Accumulator]] [Soulless] in this theme.
===Recent Changes===
===Recent Changes===

Latest revision as of 00:38, 8 August 2019

Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?

Protectorate Logo.jpg Revelator

Protectorate Colossal Warjack

The consecrated colossals of the Protectorate of Menoth are towering masterpieces of faith and war. The Revelator strips away the obscuring magic of profane casters and scorches the earth to leave nothing but ashes behind.

Basic Info

Missing Info
32108 Revelator WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
STR 18
M.A. N/A
ARM 19
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 60
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Colossal - Colossals are giant warjacks, even bigger and stompier. They all share a stack of standard special rules (click the link for full details).
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Feretory - This model ignores concealment and Stealth. Additionally, this model's weapons gain Damage Type: Magical. While its S system is disabled, this model loses the benefits of Feretory.


Theme Forces

  • Infernals

Recent Changes

No changes since 2018.07

Thoughts on Revelator

Revelator in a nutshell

The Revelator is your toolbox colossal, with a bit of board controlling potential on its main guns, and some nice added utility in the form of Stealth removal for your army. Menoth artificers removed the flame throwers along with the rocket pods, and duct-taped 2 Vanquisher-like main guns, and 2 Reckonereqsue cannons. Thus, the Revelator's overall firepower equals of a large battlegroup, all by itself. Thanks to Feretory, it can remove Stealth from crucial opposing models to the rest of your army. It is also a great addition to your list in a Menoth mirror-match, as Passage from your opponent's Choir means nothing. While more expansive, Revelator is currently outshined by Judicator thanks to the dice skew new reliquary can pull off.

Combos & Synergies

Usual caveat for things that enhance warjacks:

Special mention to Amon, who can buff speed, attack and ARM on the colossal. Fortify offers a nice big area, where you can defend your troops from knock down effects and pushes. However, he still prefers his battlegroup to include multiple warjacks for pulling off Synergy chains, and more jacks mean more "free" focus from Power-up.

  • Malekus is currently the main bastion of Revelator. His feat makes all his ranged attacks more damaging (extra dice is extra dice) and can grant him extra (albeit unboostable) attack and his pet jack Eye of Truth provides him with blessed weapons. Between Malekus, sevy0 and ever-present Choir you can get three POW18 and two POW15 shots with 3d6/4d6 damage rolls. Oh,and anything that passes Burning Ground area will get whacked for additional 12+3d6 damage which is high enough to wipe out most light infantry on anything but most meager rolls but can potentially threaten already wounded jacks/beasts with that risk of finishing off key system/spiral.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Very low DEF, great starting point for electro leaps, Spine Bursts, and the like.
  • Light Bringer will remove Stealth from only a single model in a unit. It's strong enough to kill most of the squishier targets outright, so the rest of your army still have to shoot against Stealth on such models.

Tricks & Tips

  • Basic order-of-activation advice: shoot with the Light Bringer first against a heavy with Stealth, then with the Conflagrators to prevent auto-miss (if S system is out).
  • Burning Ground requires direct hit on enemy models. Aim for low DEF targets to trigger the AoE, which might potentially deter lighter models lingering nearby.



  • The rules were published in Warmachine: Reckoning (2015), but it didn't go into production until much later (2017.11)

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)          
Battlegroup & Similar

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Feora4 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant


Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest


Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.01

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Burning Ground      (Edit)

  • Hazard templates, and similar "non-hazard damage" templates (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • What's a "non-hazard"? Well, most templates that deal damage to models that walk into them are defined as 'Hazards' but some, like Creeping Barrage and Wall of Fire, are not.
      They behave similarly with two differences: 1) a Hazard is defined as terrain; 2) by default Hazards have no Damage Type (even if the spell/weapon that put it into play does have a Damage Type). That said, some Hazards do have a Damage Type.
    • When you first put these templates into play they don't do damage to models they overlap. The exceptions are if it's from an AOE weapon it will do damage, or if it says it does damage it will do damage.
    • Damage templates from spells:
      • Spells which leave a template and are not described as a hazard will do magical damage to models that walk around in them. (Example: Razor Wall)
      • Spells which leave a template and are hazards will not do magical damage to models that walk around in them. Instead, they do whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
      • (Infernal Ruling)
      • Some spells do both. They aren't labelled as a hazard, so it does magical damage, and also they specify another damage type. For example, Wall of Fire.
    • A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the hazard will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
    • If two hazard templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.
    • Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance).
    • Damage from a hazard is not considered to be from the weapon/spell that originally put it into play (so it doesn't gain the Damage Type or any other special rules of the weapon/spell).

Rules Clarification : Fire Beacon - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Colossal      (Edit)

  • Refer to the Colossal article for a recap of their rules.
  • Huge Base (Edit)
    • Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
    • You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
    • Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Feretory      (Edit)

  • When you ignore Stealth you must ignore both aspects: both the "auto-missing" and also the "intervening model" part.