* The rules were first published in [[Warmachine: Reckoning]] (2015)
* The rules were first published in [[Warmachine: Reckoning]] (2015)
| || |
Revision as of 06:38, 5 December 2017
Protectorate Colossal Warjack
The consecrated colossals of the Protectorate of Menoth are towering masterpieces of faith and war. The Revelator strips away the obscuring magic of profane casters and scorches the earth to leave nothing but ashes behind.
- Conflagrator (x2) - 10" range, 4" AOE, POW 15 guns.
- Light Bringer (x2) - 14" range, POW 12 guns.
- Fist (x2) - 2" reach, P+S 21 melee weapons.
- Colossal - Colossals are giant warjacks, even bigger and stompier. They all share a stack of standard special rules (click the link for full details).
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
- Feretory - This model ignores concealment and Stealth. Additionally, this model's weapons gain Damage Type: Magical. While its S system is disabled, this model loses the benefits of Feretory.
Thoughts on Revelator
Revelator in a nutshell
The Revelator is your toolbox colossal, with a bit of board controlling potential on its main guns, and some nice added utility in the form of Stealth removal for your army. Boasting the same melee prowess as the Judicator (Sans Reliquary), its ranged firepower is much more significant. Menoth artificers removed the flame throwers along with the rocket pods, and duct-taped 2 Vanquisher-like main guns, and 2 Reckonereqsue cannons. Thus, the Revelator's overall firepower equals of a large battlegroup, all by itself. Thanks to Feretory, it can remove Stealth from crucial opposing models to the rest of your army. It is also a great addition to your list in a Menoth mirror-match, as Passage from your opponent's Choir means nothing.
Combos & Synergies
Usual caveat for things that enhance warjacks:
- The true-and-tested trio of Choir, Vassal Mechanik, and Vassal of Menoth
- The Deliverer Arms Master allows it to launch its Conflagrator shots beyond screening models. This can become especially important against certain armies, since due to Feretory models with Stealth can block its LOS.
- Anyone who can further enhance its ARM (Defender's Ward, Inviolable Resolve and the like).
- Battlegroup and force multipliers (Incite, Brand of Heresy, Crusaders' Call, Manifest Destiny, Eye of Menoth, etc.)
- Universal de-buffs (Death Sentence)
- Speed Buffs (Redline, Escort)
Special mention to Amon, who can buff speed, attack and ARM on the colossal. Fortify offers a nice big area, where you can defend your troops from knock down effects and pushes. However, he still prefers his battlegroup to include multiple warjacks for pulling off Synergy chains, and more jacks mean more "free" focus from Power-up.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Very low DEF, great starting point for electro leaps, Spine Bursts, and the like.
- Light Bringer will remove Stealth from only a single model in a unit. It's strong enough to kill most of the squishier targets outright, so the rest of your army still have to shoot against Stealth on such models.
Tricks & Tips
- Basic order-of-activation advice: shoot with the Light Bringer first against a heavy with Stealth, then with the Conflagrators to prevent auto-miss.
- Burning Ground requires direct hit on enemy models. Aim for low DEF targets to trigger the AoE, which might potentially deter lighter models lingering nearby.
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
- In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Burning Ground (Edit)
Hazard templates, and similar "non-hazard damage" templates
- What's a "non-hazard"? Well, most templates that deal damage to models that walk into them are defined as 'Hazards' but some, like Creeping Barrage and Wall of Fire, are not.
They behave similarly with two differences: 1) a Hazard is defined as terrain; 2) by default Hazards have no Damage Type (even if the spell/weapon that put it into play does have a Damage Type). That said, some Hazards do have a Damage Type.
- When you first put these templates into play they don't do damage to models they overlap. The exceptions are if it's from an AOE weapon it will do damage, or if it says it does damage it will do damage.
- Damage templates from spells:
- Spells which leave a template and are not described as a hazard will do magical damage to models that walk around in them. (Example: Razor Wall)
- Spells which leave a template and are hazards will not do magical damage to models that walk around in them. Instead, they do whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- Some spells do both. They aren't labelled as a hazard, so it does magical damage, and also they specify another damage type. For example, Wall of Fire.
- A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the hazard will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
- If two hazard templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.
- Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance).
- Damage from a hazard is not considered to be from the weapon/spell that originally put it into play (so it doesn't gain the Damage Type or any other special rules of the weapon/spell).
Rules Clarification : Fire Beacon - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- Throw - General ( Edit )
- See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
- Throw - Power Attack
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
- Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
Rules Clarification : Colossal (Edit)
- Refer to the Colossal article for a recap of their rules.
- Huge Base (Edit)
- Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
- You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
- Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
- Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Feretory (Edit)
- When you ignore Stealth you must ignore both aspects: both the "auto-missing" and also the "intervening model" part.