Difference between revisions of "Reflex Servitors"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
m
(Theme Forces)
 
Line 41: Line 41:
 
===Theme Forces ===
 
===Theme Forces ===
 
{{Destruction Initiative}}. {{PAGENAME}} gain [[Shield Guard]] in this theme.
 
{{Destruction Initiative}}. {{PAGENAME}} gain [[Shield Guard]] in this theme.
 +
{{Strange Bedfellows}}
  
 
=Thoughts on {{PAGENAME}}=
 
=Thoughts on {{PAGENAME}}=

Latest revision as of 01:10, 11 November 2019

Convergence Logo.jpg Reflex Servitors

Convergence Servitor Solo

The reflex servitor represents precise function given deadly form. In many respects, its efficiency and lethality perfectly embody the Convergence’s basic combat doctrine. Though it is programmed to eliminate enemies through its own detonation, it does not sacrifice itself randomly. Indeed, the reflex servitor resembles a predator stalking prey, waiting for the proper moment to strike.

Info icon.png

When you go to physically buy Reflex Servitorss, you get a pack with 3 models. They are added to your army in "sets" of 3 models. They are 3 separate solos (they are not a unit with 3 members).

With FA 3, you can get 9 models into your army.

Basic Info

Reflex Servitors
Missing Info
ReflexServitors WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 3
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 13
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4 points for 3 solos
1.3 each
N/A
FA 3 (9 solos)
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Dig In (★ Action) - This model gains cover, does not suffer blast damage, and does not block LOS. The model remains dug in until it moves, is placed, or is engaged. It can begin the game dug in.
  • Steady - This model cannot become knocked down.

Weapons

  • Probability Mine – 0.5" reach, P+S 3. Only P+S three?! That's probably not going to hurt ... right?
    • Detonation - If this attack directly hits, place a 4" AOE on the model hit and the model hit suffers a POW 14 damage roll. If the attack misses, place a 4" AOE on the Servitor. All other models under the template besides the one directly hit suffer a POW 7 blast damage roll. Blast damage from this attack is not considered to have come from an attack. Detonation damage is unboostable. RFP the Servitor after resolving the attack.

Theme Forces

Destruction Initiative. Reflex Servitors gain Shield Guard in this theme. Strange Bedfellows

Thoughts on Reflex Servitors

Reflex Servitors in a nutshell

One of two Advance Deployers in Convergence, Reflex servitors are highly annoying proxy mines. It excels when threatening high DEF skirmishers, thus restricting their movement and attracting enemy fire.

Combos & Synergies

  • Prime Axiom : Actually, axiom can spawn these little buggers where they hurt the most. Considering Reflex servitors are expensive to field, it is somewhat reasonable to just 'create' a solo while boasting a colossal.
  • Inverter : Whether you're placing them with Axis or Lucant, an Inverter shrouded with Reflex servitors are hard to crack. Even better in Destruction Initiative, as they're shield guards with dig in.

Warcasters

  • Iron Mother Directrix : Her main support action, aperture beam, can increase servitor's detonation damage. A well-placed servitor can wipe out half a squad in this way, particularly useful when facing Infantry hordes.
  • Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer : Countercharge for everyone! They're great screening your main vectors, forcing them to calculate countercharge lanes.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Expensive to field ... per attack. They cost just the same as Attunement Servitors, but you're only getting 3 attacks the entire game.
  • Their main role is to harass the enemy, but this task goes hard when your enemy bring beefy units. You can't make a scratch.
  • Likewise, don't expect it survive throughout the game. If this happens, something is wrong. Whether it is you or your opponent.

Tricks & Tips

  • In Destruction Initiative, these little fellas are free, dig-in able, AD able shield guards. Best friends with Conservator.
  • Their AD, and great MOV means that these guys are perfect friendly-fire target. Flare, craters are essential to our game-making. If you cannot hit enemy's nimble solo, how about blast damage?
  • In the scenario-focused SR2017 they are great to contest zones, even if they are not able to control it. Imagine a dig-in Reflex Servitor on a hill or way behind a forest at the edge of your opponent's own zone. It will need an annoying amount of ressources to get rid of a 0-point model denying scoring for him.
  • Don't forget that after they attacked an enemy model, they are gone. So no jammming up the opponent after that.

Other

Trivia

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2019.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Detonation     (Edit)

  • Not considered an attack / Pure damage roll (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Some attacks create a "secondary damage" roll that is explicitly "not considered an attack" (such as Electro Leap); while other abilities just tell you to make a "pure damage" roll without mentioning attacks at all (such as Vent Steam). In terms of interacting with 'attack triggers' (such as Vengeance) "secondary damage" and "pure damage" work the same.
    • When one attack triggers a secondary damage roll, the original attack and damage is definitely an attack and triggers stuff normally.
    • Secondary/pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • Secondary/pure damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • Secondary/pure damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
      1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
        • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
        • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
      2. It is a damage roll from a model so:

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Triggering Countercharge
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • Some abilities let you "ignore intervening models when declaring a charge" (such as Flight). Unfortunately, you still need LOS to trigger Countercharge, and it's only after CC is triggered that you actually get to declare a charge. In other words, Flight and Countercharge don't work together for LOS purposes.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
    • Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
  • Countercharge within your own activation ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation, but only if an enemy model somehow triggers their own move. For instance, you move towards a model with Admonition and they trigger that to try to move away. (You do a normal move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge from their admonition-move.)
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge). (Infernal Ruling)
      This ruling still applies even after the 2018.07 update (Infernal Re-ruling)
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dig In     (Edit)

  • Unlike nearly every ability in the game, Dig In doesn't have a "expires after one turn/round" clause.
  • Thus you could spend your action on turn 1 to Dig In and (assuming you don't move or get engaged) stay Dug In on turn 2 and use your action to make ranged attacks.
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • If a model with Dig In is added to play or returned to play, it does not count as "starting the game". It can't be put into play already Dug In. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady     (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.