Difference between revisions of "Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
(Theme Forces)
(Theme Forces)
Line 46: Line 46:
 
* <u>Other Factions</u>
 
* <u>Other Factions</u>
 
** {{Hearts of Darkness}}. {{PAGENAME}} can only go in this theme if [[Mortenebra]] is leading the army. It becomes an '''[[Infernal]]''' model in this theme.
 
** {{Hearts of Darkness}}. {{PAGENAME}} can only go in this theme if [[Mortenebra]] is leading the army. It becomes an '''[[Infernal]]''' model in this theme.
** {{Strange Bedfellows}}. {{PAGENAME}} can only go in this theme if [[Mortenebra]] is leading the army. It becomes a '''[[Mercenary]]''' and '''[[Convergence]]''' model in this theme.
+
** {{Strange Bedfellows}}. It becomes a '''[[Mercenary]]''' and '''[[Convergence]]''' model in this theme.
  
 
===Recent Changes===
 
===Recent Changes===

Revision as of 01:13, 11 November 2019

Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?


Cryx Logo.jpg Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls

Cryx Thrall Unit

A necrosurgeon accompanies each band of mechanikally enhanced necromantic soldiers that march from one killing field to the next; this specialist among necrotechs was created to maintain thralls and craft replacements as they are destroyed.

Basic Info

Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls
Missing Info
Necrosurgeon.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Surgeon / Thrall
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 4
MAT 5 / -
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5 / 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 1 Necrosurgeon 3 Stitch Thralls
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Stitch Thrall Grunts
  • Necrosurgeon
    • Undead
    • Officer symbol.jpg Officer
    • Body Snatcher - When a living or undead model is destroyed within 5˝ of this model or a Grunt that is in in its unit and in formation, this model gains the destroyed model’s corpse token. This model can have up to 5 corpse tokens at any time.
    • Necrosurgery (★ Action) - Target a friendly Faction undead model in B2B. Remove d6 damage points from it.
    • Ressurectionist (★ Action) - Remove up to 3 corpse tokens from the Necrosurgeon and add to play one small-based Grunt to a friendly Thrall unit within her command range for each token removed. Grunts must be placed in formation & within 3" of the Necrosurgeon, and they must forfeit their Combat Action this turn.
    • Sacrificial Pawn [Thrall] - When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can have one friendly, non-incorporeal Thrall model within 3" of it hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects.

Weapons

  • Necrosurgeon
    • Gut Splitter - 0.5" reach, POW 5, P+S 9 melee weapon
  • Stitch Thrall Grunts
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No change since 2017.05


Thoughts on Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls

Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls in a nutshell

You take the Necrosurgeon if you're fielding Thralls, and she greatly increases their resilience.

She also has some use as a healer.

Combos & Synergies

  • Terminus loves undead infantry spam, as his 'Shadow of Death' ability makes all the Thralls Tough, and the Necrosurgeon will add insult to injury (spam to spam).
  • Fielding Mechanithralls, the Necrosurgeon, and a Sepulcher can make your recursion mechanic extremely hard to stop.
  • In Ghost Fleet theme, you can kill your own Revenants, collect their corpses, and they will auto-return next round. Giving you two undead bodies for the price of one!
  • Goreshade3 can use Mockery of Life to return a Grunt to play after you've collected its corpse, once again giving you two undead bodies for the price of one.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They're a special order model.
  • If the entire Thrall unit is wiped out, you can't use Ressurectionist.
  • The Thralls can't do anything useful on the turn they enter play (except advance and jam, which is their best thing, anyway).
  • If you position the Necrosurgeon badly, she could be killed easily. For instance an AOE weapon that scatters onto her can kill her quite easily, and she can't trigger Sacrificial Pawn against it because it's not a direct hit.
  • The Stitch Thralls have no melee weapons, which means they can't charge nor engage enemies nor make free strikes. The best they can do (other than collect corpses) is block enemy charge lanes.
  • Sometimes you run into activation order dilemmas:
    • You want the Stitch Thralls in place to collect the enemy corpses. So you need to activate the Necrosurgeon unit first and run into position. But position them badly, and the Stitch Thralls can block the combat Thralls charges.
    • You want to run the Stitch Thralls forward to collect as many corpses as possible. But you can't use the Necrosurgeon's action and run the Stitch Thralls on the same turn. So if you're moving slowly and using your Action, you risk the Stitch Thralls not being in position to collect.
    • You want the Necrosurgeon safely hidden at the back of the Thrall swarm, but you want the Stitch Thralls out front to collect corpses when the Combat Thralls kill the enemy. This can mean the Combat Thralls block the Necrosurgeon unit moving forwards.
  • You can get around a lot of these issues by having more than one Necrosurgeon and/or more than one Thrall unit.

Tricks & Tips

  • Keep one Grunt towards the back of the table, that way your opponent can never completely wipe out the unit and can always use Necrosurgery. This is called the "insurance model".
    • If you're using this trick, and the insurance model is so far back it's out of formation, you can't target the unit with friendly spells or special rules.
  • If the Necrosurgeon dies, the stitch thralls can still control/contest scenario objectives or block charge lanes.
  • By the current Steamroller rules, a unit needs 50% of its starting numbers to be alive to control flags / zones. Keep it in mind, sometimes all it takes is a single extra model returned, to put the unit above that limit.
  • Be smart about where you move before using Necrosurgery - with clever positioning your newly-created Thralls can engage enemies, bypass free strikes, or even get placed on the far side of walls!
  • In a pinch, one surgeon can collect from two units of Thralls by carefully spreading out your stitch thralls.
  • The Necrosurgeon can create more Stitch Thrall Grunts in her own unit, extending her own collection area.


Other

Trivia

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Body Snatcher      (Edit)

  • You can collect corpses from Brute Thralls.
  • You do not need LOS to the destroyed models.
  • If there are multiple models eligible for collecting a corpse token and you need to determine the closest, then you measure to the Necrosurgeon, not to the Stitch Thralls.
    • The Stitches don't count as "models eligible for collection" - they merely extend the range the Necrosurgeon can collect from.
  • A Stitch that dies in the same attack as a Thrall (caught in the same AOE for instance) may collect the corpse token, because the Stitch Thrall model is still on the table when both of them reach the "destroyed" stage.

Rules Clarification : Necrosurgery - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ressurectionist      (Edit)

  • You can add one Grunt to three different units, or any other combo you can think of, if you want. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The new Grunts must be placed in formation with an existing unit, you may not create a new unit.
  • Only one existing Thrall from the unit needs to be in the Necrosurgeon's CMD range, not the entire unit. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You don't need LOS to any models that you create.
  • The following is no longer true since the 2017.06 errata, but the wording is being checked by PP staff Staff comment
    • A Thrall unit with a Skarlock Commander attached is (still a Thrall unit) (not true RAW), and a valid target for Ressurectionist. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Even if every Thrall is killed, and the unit is reduced to just the Skarlock Commander, it is (still a Thrall unit) (not true RAW) and still a valid target. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Differences
  • Sacrificial Pawn is optional.
    Grim Salvation and Sucker are not optional.
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
    • Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
    • CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells).
    All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
  • The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
    Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • With reference to the timing chart in Appendix A: placing a spray template down occurs at Step 3. Using Sacrificial Pawn occurs at step 6. Placing an AOE template down occurs at step 7.
      Therefore if you use Sac Pawn vs a spray, the placement of the spray template does not change. If you use Sac Pawn vs an AOE, the placement of the AOE template does change.
    • A model indirectly hit by an AOE attack cannot use Sac Pawn vs it.
    • Since a spray template doesn't move, it may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • When/if you shift an AOE template, the original target may be clipped by the edge of the AOE anyway (depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are).
  • Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
    • If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
    • Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn (Edit)
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.