Difference between revisions of "Megalith"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
m (Abilities)
m (Combos & Synergies)
 
Line 61: Line 61:
 
[[File:Baldur-the-stonecleaver.jpg|thumb|[[Baldur1]] ]]
 
[[File:Baldur-the-stonecleaver.jpg|thumb|[[Baldur1]] ]]
 
[[File:72059 EpicBaldurWEB.jpg|thumb|[[Baldur2]] ]]
 
[[File:72059 EpicBaldurWEB.jpg|thumb|[[Baldur2]] ]]
* Megalith is Baldur's personal warbeast, and [[Baldur2]] really likes the healing bond. Both Baluder2 and [[Baldur1]] have decent spells to geomance, and provide free charges.
+
* Megalith is Baldur's personal warbeast, and [[Baldur2]] really likes the healing bond. Both [[Baldur2]] and [[Baldur1]] have decent spells to geomance, and provide free charges.
 
* [[Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress]] or the [[Blackclad Wayfarer]] - Hunter's Mark is an excellent threat range extender that provides free charges. And free charges make for some interesting angles in melee.
 
* [[Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress]] or the [[Blackclad Wayfarer]] - Hunter's Mark is an excellent threat range extender that provides free charges. And free charges make for some interesting angles in melee.
  

Latest revision as of 06:23, 20 March 2020

We have 1297 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Circle Logo.jpg Megalith

Circle Character Heavy Warbeast

Megalith’s eyes glow with something greater than the will of its master, something akin to self-awareness. This stone goliath sometimes wanders where it believes itself most needed, allowing nearby woldwardens to advance together as a crushing wall while shrugging off enemy attacks.

Basic Info

Megalith
Missing Info
Megalith.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 4
THRS N/A
HP 35
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 20
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Bond [Baldur] - If this model begins the game in Baldur's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Baldur and in their control range, at the start of Baldur's activation, Baldur can heal d3 hitpoints.
  • Bountiful Restoration - During your Control Phase, remove d3 damage points from this model. If a friendly Woldwarden is B2B with this model during your Control Phase, the Woldwarden removes d3 damage points for Mend instead of 1 damage point.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
  • Steady - This model cannot become knocked down.

Weapons

Animus & Spells

Geomancy is a magic ability spell, Undergrowth is an animus spell.

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Geomancy 1 Stats vary every time

Once per activation while in its controller's control range, this model can be forced to cast one of the spells on its controller's card with a COST of 3 or less. This model cannot cast upkeep spells or spells with a RNG of SELF or CTRL. Use this model's Magic Ability score when making magic attack rolls.

Undergrowth

2 SELF (★) - Round No
While within 5" of the spellcaster, enemy models treat open terrain as rough terrain and suffer –2 DEF. Undergrowth lasts for one round.

Theme Forces

  • When taken by anyone else

Thoughts on Megalith

Classic sculpt

Megalith in a nutshell

Megalith is an upgraded Woldwarden. More expensive but tougher, hits harder in melee, has a higher magic ability, and has a much better animus (one that flattens the defense of the enemy).

Combos & Synergies

  • Megalith is Baldur's personal warbeast, and Baldur2 really likes the healing bond. Both Baldur2 and Baldur1 have decent spells to geomance, and provide free charges.
  • Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress or the Blackclad Wayfarer - Hunter's Mark is an excellent threat range extender that provides free charges. And free charges make for some interesting angles in melee.

Bones Combos

Anyone can take him in Bones, which opens up a few more combos. Warlocks with good spells for Megalith to geomance are:

Of those, Baldur2, Bradigus, and Krueger2 are the clear winners.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Easy to hit
  • Expensive

Tricks & Tips

  • Remember that 5" from Megalith means his aura covers a lot of ground.

Other

Trivia

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Chuck Dogwood - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.02

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.

Rules Clarification : Weight of Stone - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).

Rules Clarification : Bountiful Restoration - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Geomancy      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Important Note

This Rules Clarification is very similar to the ones for Spell Slave and Necromancy (since all 3 are very similar abilities). Where Geomancy is different to the other two, the text has been coloured green.

Who does the casting

  • It is the Geomancer that does the casting, not the warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
    • It's not anything simple like the warcaster getting an extra spell during their own activation.
    • Nor is it anything like an arc node.
    • Any buffs/debuffs currently on your warcaster/warlock are completely irrelevant.
  • For stuff that interacts with spellcasters (such as Witch Hunter) it is the location of the Geomancer that matters, not the location of the warcaster.
    • If the Geomancer is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, it cannot cast spells. Regardless of where your warcaster is.
    • If the warcaster is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, that has no affect on what the Geomancer can do.

When/how does the Geomancer cast

  • A Geomancer uses its Magic Ability to cast spells, but because it is neither a (★ Attack) or (★ Action) it means it can cast spells as an "Any Time" ability.
  • A Geomancer must be forced to use its Magic Ability. They do this instead of paying the full COST of the spell.
    • The cost of forcing is 1 fury.
    • If an enemy ability prevents you from forcing, it will prevent you casting spells.
    • Since they do not pay the full cost of a spell, they are unaffected by stuff which changes the COST of a spell; such as Lamentation (Infernal Ruling) or Scaverous's feat (Infernal Ruling)

What spells can the Geomancer choose to cast

  • The Geomancer cannot cast spells with a range of SELF or CTRL, or with a COST more than 3, or that are an UPKEEP.
    • It can cast spells that use the phrase "Spellcaster's battlegroup" because it's in the battlegroup.
    • In addition to this, the Geomancer is limited by the definition of 'Spellcaster'. Often it will be able to cast a spell fine, but the benefits won't be fully applicable to the Geomancer.
      • Geomancer cannot benefit from anything that occurs in the 'Spellcaster's CTRL area' because they don't have one. (Infernal Ruling)
        For instance, a Geomancer that casts Excarnate will not be able to summon a new grunt.
      • Geomancer cannot benefit from spells that give the caster Fury. Such benefits are limited to models with the 'Fury Manipulation' rule, which only warlockshave.
        For instance, a Geomancer that casts Siphon Bolt would still take focus from the enemy, but won't gain any focus itself.

How can they boost the spell

  • The Geomancer can be forced to boost, just like with a regular attack.

Other

  • The Geomancer doesn't gain any buffs/abilities that are on your warlock/warcaster (such as True Sight).
  • The Geomancer cannot channel spells through arc nodes. You can only channel through nodes in your control range, and he doesn't have a control range.
  • The Geomancer can use spells like Annihilation to gain enemy souls. But he will be unable to use the soul tokens so they will stay on the Geomancer for the rest of the game (doing nothing). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Undergrowth      (Edit)

  • "Treat Open Terrain as..." (Edit)
    • This ability doesn't change the terrain type, just how models treat it. (In comparison to, say, Rapid Growth which creates a forest.)
    Because it doesn't change, models that get a benefit for being near terrain (ie the Earthborn Dire Troll) need to instead be inside the affected area to gain the benefit. If it's outside the area, then from its current point of view the area is open terrain.
    • If you have two overlapping effects like this (such as "treat open as rough" overlapping with "treat open as shallow water"), the area is treated as both terrain types.
    • If you then have a model that ignores one of the overlapping effects (such as Amphibious trying to treat shallow water as open terrain) they'll still suffer the effect they're not ignoring. (Infernal Ruling)