Difference between revisions of "Malady Man"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
m (Theme Forces)
(Tricks & Tips)
Line 70: Line 70:
* Countercharge on the Monkey can be used to block charge lanes. This is especially relevant for 1" reach medium bases, a well placed Monkey can block two-three models from meaningfully engaging.
* Countercharge on the Monkey can be used to block charge lanes. This is especially relevant for 1" reach medium bases, a well placed Monkey can block two-three models from meaningfully engaging.
* Don't be afraid to send the Monkey right into the enemy. His -hit aura works on things which are engaging him making him especially annoying for gargantuans or 2" reach living heavies.
* Don't be afraid to send the Monkey right into the enemy. His -hit aura works on things which are engaging him making him especially annoying for gargantuans or 2" reach living heavies.
* The Monkey can be used in conjunction with a unit of Mad Caps to efficiently generate corpses for Grave Ghouls. This is most relevant on turn 1, when Countercharge & Monkey's Paw are unlikely to do anything.
* The Monkey can be used in conjunction with a unit of [[Mad Caps]] to efficiently generate corpses for [[Grave Ghoul]]s. This is most relevant on turn 1, when Countercharge & Monkey's Paw are unlikely to do anything. See the [[Grave Ghoul]] page for an explanation of how the combo works.

Revision as of 21:20, 13 February 2020

Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?

Grymkin Logo.jpg

Malady Man
Grymkin Unit

Not all music is pleasing to the ear, and it is with discordant, off-kilter harmonics and an uneven tempo that the Malady Man plays his fiendish instrument. He punishes those who lack conviction and are easily distracted to abandon work or to neglect their wards. Soldiers who stray from watch posts, mothers who let their children wander off, or laborers who stand idly by more than they work, all have been transfixed by the sound of his hand-cranked organ before being torn apart by the deranged monkey that joins him.

Basic Info

Malady Man
Missing Info
Malady Man.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Man / Monkey
BASE Large / Small
SPD 5 / 7
MAT - / 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 12 / 14
ARM 14 / 12
CMD 8 / 3
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 5 / 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Man
    • Officer symbol.jpg Officer
    • Combat Caster - When this model's unit receives the Press Forward order, before its Normal Movement, this model can make one Magical Ability special action or special attack. It can then run or charge normally.
    • Hard to Keep a Good Monkey Down - If the Monkey is not in play during your Maintenance Phase, you can return the Monkey to this unit. Place the Monkey completely within 3˝ of this model.
    • Magic Ability [ - ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
    • Wagon - This model always has cover.
  • Monkey
    • Acrobatics - This model can advance through other models if it has enough movement to move completely past their bases. This model ignores intervening models when declaring its charge target.
    • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
    • Monkey Bite - While in melee with this model, living enemy models suffer -2 to melee attack rolls.


  • Man
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
  • Monkey
    • Bite - 0.5" reach, POW 3, P+S 8 melee attack


  • Cradle Song (★ Action) - When a living enemy model ends its activation within 5˝ of the Malady Man, the enemy model becomes stationary for one round. Cradle Song lasts for one round.
  • Desperate Pace [Grymkin] (★ Action) - RNG CMD. Target friendly Grymkin unit. If the unit is in range, Grymkin models in the unit gain +2" movement during their Normal Movement this turn.
  • Something Wicked (★ Action) - While in the Malady Man's command range, the Monkey gains an adiditional die on melee attack and melee damage rolls and Killing Spree. Something Wicked lasts for one activation. (Killing Spree - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, after the attack is resolved this model can advance up to 1" and make one additional melee attack.)

Theme Forces

Thoughts on the Malady Man

Recent Release icon.jpg

New model - This article is a Work In Progress
This model has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Please don't delete this warning unless you (1) have played several games with the final rules (games with CID rules don't count) and (2) you've reviewed this article and it mostly(★) matches your experiences.

(★) Bearing in mind that other editors may make suggestions you don't think are the "best" but that doesn't make them "wrong". Don't delete stuff just because you disagree with it, please.
See also Category: Recent Release and Category: Recent Change.

Malady Man in a nutshell

Nothing seems more Grymkin than a devilish songster who enchants you with his tunes while his murderous monkey companion bites his way through your infantry. The Malady Man (and his monkey) are a small two-mankey unit that provides some control for you and some spacing problems for your opponent. The Malady Man himself has a bevy of bewitching spells that makes life difficult for your opponent. Also, when needed, he can really turn the dial up to 11 and let the monkey loose, where it goes on a homicidal killing spree. Don't worry, when the monkey finally falls, another pops up next turn. Lastly, he can turn his melody upon his own allies to increase their movement as they rampage across the battlefield towards their enemy with Desperate Pace for Grymkin units.

Grymkin are a melee faction whose biggest weakness is their ability to deliver their models to the enemy’s face intact. There isn’t a single Grymkin unit which does not overwhelmingly benefit from an additional 2” of movement a turn courtesy of Desperate Pace.

Combos & Synergies

  • Dread Rots are squishy & slow, but also hard hitting & cheap. They pair particularly well with the Malady Monkey (Monkey Man?) as the Monkey can effectively deal with the softer, harder to hit targets while the Dreads deal with the harder, but much easier to hit ones.
  • Piggybacks have always needed a goodly amount of support, and now those support options have just gotten better! Literally the only thing Pigs need to be worth their points is to be an additional couple inches up the table. Desperate Pace is so relevant to their impact on the board, it might even be worth calling Pigs + Malady Man the best combo in Grymkin (perhaps even better than Skin & Moans + Death Knell).

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • While the Malady Man himself has some resistance to shooting thanks to the Wagon rule, he is still a large base with middling stats and will get sniped by anything which can boost. Once he's dead, the utility of the monkey drops dramatically.
  • Likewise, the monkey can be removed from game. This prevents its respawning, and effectively removes all the direct output of the unit. This scenario is especially crippling into similarly slow & bulky armies (such as in the mirror), as the relevance of Desperate Pace declines dramatically later in the game.
  • The Malady Man & Monkey is a 6 point unit which can be taken for free, you are unlikely to be spending points on these guys. This means they take up a free slot which could be used on something else, such as Lord Longfellow or one of the attachments. This is less a problem for the Malady Man and more for other options in your list; including a full FA of 2 Maladies Man result in fast but samey lists.

Tricks & Tips

  • The Malady Man is a great scoring option for Dark Menagerie lists, whose only other unit option is Dread Rots. Their ability to act as scoring pieces actually improves when only one member remains, as they are still technically a unit. If this is only the Monkey, it can be trivial to contest & score round zones as it is very easy to block a small base.
  • Countercharge on the Monkey can be used to block charge lanes. This is especially relevant for 1" reach medium bases, a well placed Monkey can block two-three models from meaningfully engaging.
  • Don't be afraid to send the Monkey right into the enemy. His -hit aura works on things which are engaging him making him especially annoying for gargantuans or 2" reach living heavies.
  • The Monkey can be used in conjunction with a unit of Mad Caps to efficiently generate corpses for Grave Ghouls. This is most relevant on turn 1, when Countercharge & Monkey's Paw are unlikely to do anything. See the Grave Ghoul page for an explanation of how the combo works.



Released at Adepticon (2019.03)

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser



Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler


Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters


Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Weird Wendell - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combat Caster      (Edit)

  • The unit has to receive the order before you can trigger Combat Caster, so you cannot use it if you are suffering from "cannot give/receive orders" (such as Rebuke) or a "the order does not take effect" (such as the Pandemonium Arcana). You can still move and cast a spell normally, though.
    • Special Mention: The Trollkin Sorcerer can't trigger Combat Caster while suffering Rebuke (even though one of his spells would make Rebuke expire).

Rules Clarification : Hard to Keep a Good Monkey Down - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.

Rules Clarification : Wagon - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Acrobatics      (Edit)

  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

    Triggering Countercharge    
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • Some abilities let you "ignore intervening models when declaring a charge" (such as Flight). Unfortunately, you still need LOS to trigger Countercharge, and it's only after CC is triggered that you actually get to declare a charge. In other words, Flight and Countercharge don't work together for LOS purposes.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

    What can your opponent do?    

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

    Attacks, Boosting, & Other Triggers    

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.
  • Countercharge occurs outside of activation so you can't spend fury/focus to boost a countercharge attack, nor buy additional attacks afterwards, not trigger stuff that only happens during your Combat Action (like Berserk).
    • Exception: It is possible to trigger Countercharge during your own activation (for instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away). In that case, you can do all the stuff mentioned above. (Locked Thread)

    After the Countercharge    

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

    Other interactions    

  • Countercharge within your own activation ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation, but only if an enemy model somehow triggers their own move. For instance, you move towards a model with Admonition and they trigger that to try to move away. (You do a normal move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge from their admonition-move.)
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge). (Infernal Ruling)
      This ruling still applies even after the 2018.07 update (Infernal Re-ruling)
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).

Rules Clarification : Monkey Bite - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Cradle Song      (Edit)

  • Stuff which happens "at the end of a model's activation" get resolved before stuff which happens "when the activation ends". So things like Sprint and Reposition occur before Cradle Song can be triggered. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Remember, stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the recap on stationary for what models can/can't do.
  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Desperate Pace - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Something Wicked      (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Killing Spree - None yet. (Edit)