Difference between revisions of "Infernal Gate"

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
(Drawbacks & Downsides)
(Tricks & Tips)
Line 63: Line 63:
  
 
===Tricks & Tips===
 
===Tricks & Tips===
Crypt of Souls takes place after Dark Abyss. If you can spend all your souls on bringing back models in the maintenance phase, you get to roll in the Control Phase to get souls back.
+
* Crypt of Souls takes place after Dark Abyss. If you can spend all your souls on bringing back models in the maintenance phase, you get to roll in the Control Phase to get souls back.
 
+
* On forward deployment if it can be placed behind an obstruction or difficult terrain, it is worth it as a defensive measure. Ghost Shot and Eyeless sight mean that it does not care what is in front of it in any way. Reducing charge lanes can be very helpful in making sure this model survives longer into the battle.
On forward deployment, if it can be placed behind an obstruction, or difficult terrain, as a defensive measure, it is worth it. Ghost Shot and Eyeless sight mean that it does not care what is in front of it, from buildings, to forests, to other models. Reducing charge lanes to it can be very helpful in making sure this model survives long into the battle.
 
  
 
=Other=
 
=Other=

Revision as of 21:10, 13 February 2020

Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?


Infernal Logo.jpg Infernal Gate

Infernal Structure

For centuries, infernals have schemed ways to facilitate their arrival on Caen. Infernal gates serve as longer-lasting conduits to the outer realms, connecting as well to the repositories of souls held by infernal masters. Dormant gates can be disguised as ordinary structures, revealing their true nature only when activated, becoming towering portals of darkness adorned with unholy runes. Reality slips and shivers around the gate, and it can unleash bursts of spectral flame to consume those who would seek to prevent the arrival of infernal masters and their horrors.

BAHI icon.png

Black Anchor Heavy Industries
BAHI models are not available through normal distributors or local retailers. Players must purchase them directly from PP's online store.

See also Category: BAHI.

Basic Info

Infernal Gate
Missing Info
Infernal Gate.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Huge
SPD 0
STR 0
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 5
ARM 19
CMD 12
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 25
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 12
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Structure - All structures share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big fat buildings. Click the link for full text.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Eyeless Sight symbol.jpg Eyeless Sight
  • Forward Deployment - This model can be deployed up to 8" beyond your deployment zone.
  • Infernal Portal - When a model summons a horror while within 8" of this Infernal Gate, reduce the number of essence points the summoning model must spend by 1.
  • Soul Taker: Crypt of Souls - (1) This model can gain soul tokens. When a living model is destroyed in this model's command range, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token. (2) At the start of each of your Control Phases, this model receives d3 soul tokens if it does not have any. (3) This model can have up to five soul tokens at any time. This modle can spend soul tokens for the following:
    • Dark Abyss - During your Maintenance Phase, you can remove up to three soul tokens from this model to return one destroyed small- or medium-based friendly Faction soulless Grunt to play for each soul token removed. Models return with 1 unmarked damage box. Place the returned Grunts completely within this models command range, in formation, and completely within 3" of another model in their unit. Returned Grunts must forfeit their Combat Actions the turn they are returned to play.
    • Gate of Worlds - Once per turn at any time during its activation, this Infernal Gate can spend one soul token to place a friendly Infernal model within 5" of this Infernal Gate anywhere completely wihtin 2" of its current location. A model can be placed as a result of Gate of Worlds only once per turn.
    • Strength of Death - During its Combat Action, this model can spend soul tokens to boost one attack or damage roll for each token spent.

Weapons

  • Spectral Flames - 12" range, 4" AOE, POW 14 ranged attack
    • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
    • Ghost Shot - This model ignores LOS, concealment, and cover when making attacks with this weapon.
    • Rear Attack - Attacks with this weapon may target models in the attacker's rear arc.
    • Reload [1] - This model can spend 1 soul token to make one additional ranged attack with this weapon during its Combat Action.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on the Infernal Gate

Recent Release icon.jpg

New model - This article is a Work In Progress
This model has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Please don't delete this warning unless you (1) have played several games with the final rules (games with CID rules don't count) and (2) you've reviewed this article and it mostly(★) matches your experiences.

(★) Bearing in mind that other editors may make suggestions you don't think are the "best" but that doesn't make them "wrong". Don't delete stuff just because you disagree with it, please.
See also Category: Recent Release and Category: Recent Change.

Infernal Gate in a Nutshell

The Infernal Gate is the Infernal structure, and offers a suite of useful functions for an Infernal army. First, it reduces the summoning cost for your Horrors, which will lighten the strain on your Master. Second, it can bring back Souless models into the fray helping with the attrition swing. It has a friendly Slipstream effect to help with threat extension, and lastly it has a reasonable gun, which does not care about stealth, obstructions, LOS, cover or concealment. Oh, and it generates its own souls as well as feeding off anything nearby. It should work itself into most Dark Legacy lists, potentially even into Hearts of Darkness lists as well.

Combos & Synergies

Killing your own models with souls during your turn (Cultists and the Cutthroats) will empower this with souls. So if you need to get a boosted shot off, and don't quite have enough power to do this, consider sacrificing the expendables to get that power flowing.

Combined with Lord Roget D'Vyaros and his Harmonious Exaltation, you spend 2 less essence than you would have for the round for your Infernal Master. This can mean the difference between having a transfer or not in those later rounds.

The Infernal Portal works for Great Princess Regna Gravnoy as well as your Caster, reducing the cost of her summon by 1, and allowing her to summon and cast deceleration in the first round.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It can't move. This has two effects, both related to who gets the first turn. When going second, it is unlikely the Gate's gun will be in range of anything which isn't also in very close proximity to your master. When going first, it is often close enough that the enemy can comfortably shoot it off the table on turn 2.
    • Note that this weakness is so extreme as to be reflected in the model's point cost. The Gate is a 12 point structure, an 18 or 19 points battle engine.
  • At DEF 5 it's an easy target for debuffs and infantry killing auto hits such as blasts, electro-leaps or Ashes to Ashes. Be careful when positioning attendant Cultists, or void forbid Marked Souls.

Tricks & Tips

  • Crypt of Souls takes place after Dark Abyss. If you can spend all your souls on bringing back models in the maintenance phase, you get to roll in the Control Phase to get souls back.
  • On forward deployment if it can be placed behind an obstruction or difficult terrain, it is worth it as a defensive measure. Ghost Shot and Eyeless sight mean that it does not care what is in front of it in any way. Reducing charge lanes can be very helpful in making sure this model survives longer into the battle.

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction launch (2019.06)

Other Infernal models

Infernal Logo.jpg       Infernal Index       (Edit)
Unique Rules : Masters, Horrors, Essence, & Summoning
Infernal Masters Agathon - Omodamos - Zaateroth
Attachment Lord Roget d'Vyaros Master Infernalist Princess Regna
Lesser Foreboder Light Lamenter - Shrieker Heavy Desolator - Soul Stalker - Tormentor
Units, Solos, & Structures
Structures Infernal Gate
Solos

Alain Runewood, Lord of Ash - Eilish1 - Eilish2 - Great Princess Regna Gravnoy (Master Infernalist) - Hermit of Henge Hold - Lord Roget d'Vyaros - Nicia, Hound of the Abyss - Orin1 - Saxon Orrik - The Wretch - Umbral Guardian - Valin Hauke, The Fallen Knight

Units

Croe's Cutthroats - Cultist Band - Griever Swarm - Howlers

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Dark Legacy - Hearts of Darkness J.A.I.M.s
This index was last updated: 2019.06

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Structure      (Edit)

  • The main differences between structures and the other huge bases are:
    • Structures can't aim.
    • Structures can't forfeit their Normal Movement (because they have none). If they're hit by an effect that makes the target "forfeit either Normal Movement or Combat Action as it's controller chooses" (such as Stranglehold) then the structure must forfeit its Combat Action.
    • Unlike Colossals and Gargantuans, your opponent can take control of your structure. There are very few such abilities that work on this model type, though.
  • Huge Base (Edit)
    • Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
    • You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
    • Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Forward Deployment      (Edit)

  • This model is placed at the same time as your normal deployment, not with your advance deployment models.
  • A model that is deployed touching a scenario zone does not count as within that zone, so won't contest/control it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Infernal Portal - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Crypt of Souls - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Vault of the Faithful and/or Dark Abyss     (Edit)
Return to Play - Other Units (Edit)

  • "Return" is quite simple if you only return models to your own unit (like Blood-Bound) or only return independent models (like Thagrosh1's feat). But if you're returning models to other units, then click to read more.   [Show/Hide]
    • If you can return multiple troopers at once, they don't all have to be the same unit. Spread the love around.
    • Troopers must return to their original unit. Even if you have two units of the same type (such as two units of Convergence Eradicators) then you can't have 4 die from unit [A] and return them all to unit [B].
    • If your rule is something like "return d3 models to units within CMD range" (Old Witch3) then it is d3 models total, not d3 models to each and every unit.
    • If your rule is something like "spend 1 soul to return 1 Grunt" (Enigma Foundry) then it doesn't matter where the souls came from originally. Think of them like currency, in this case.
    • Troopers are placed sequentially, and you can leap frog the "within 3" of another model in its unit" requirement.
    • You can Return models even after a unit is reduced to just Attachments (Weapon or Command)
      • If your Return ability lets you return a Leader or Officer model, then they will immediately become the unit commander and redefine the "in formation" bubble.
      • If your Return ability only allows Grunts, then the Grunt will not be field promoted when he arrives.
        This means that, in the unusual scenario where the Leader model has different wargear to the Grunts (such as Cygnar Stormguard), then that wargear is effectively 'lost'.

Rules Clarification : Gate of Worlds - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ghost Shot      (Edit)

  • Ignore LOS (Edit)
    • Since you ignore LOS, you can target models in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Although you ignore concealment/cover, you don't ignore any other bonuses models get "from" them (such as Prowl).
  • You don't ignore Stealth's "auto-miss" rule.

Rules Clarification : Rear Attack - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reload      (Edit)

  • You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)