Wroughthammer Rockram

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Mercenary Logo.jpg Wroughthammer Rockram

Mercenary Rhulic Heavy Warjack

Modified from a 'jack designed to crack rock walls and render stone to powder, the Wroughthammer Rockram pulverizes opposing warjacks with equal ease. The tempered ammunition of its Sledge Cannon wrecks 'jacks from the inside out, and the concussive power of its Pulverizer hammer shakes the very ground beneath its enemies.

Basic Info

Wroughthammer Rockram
Missing Info
Wroughthammer Rockram.jpeg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 4
STR 12
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 9
ARM 20 / 21 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
(★) 21 with the Buckler bonus
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Rhulic Warjack - This warjack must be controlled by a Rhulic model.

Abilities

Weapons

Sledge Cannon
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW   LOCATION 
8" 1 - 15 Right
  • Buckler symbol.jpg Buckler
  • Batter - When an enemy model is hit by this weapon during this model's activation, it becomes knocked down and can be pushed 1" directly away from this model. If the model hit is pushed, this model can immediately advance 1" directly toward it.
Pulverizer
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S   LOCATION 
1 6 18 Left

Theme Forces

Within mercenaries, this warjack can be used in:

Outside of mercenaries, this warjack can be taken by Thor Steinhammer in a few more themes.

Recent Changes

2021.10 Mega Update

  • +1 ARM

Thoughts on Wroughthammer Rockram

Wroughthammer Rockram in a nutshell

The Rockram bridges the gap between the Driller and the Avalancher. It has slightly inferior melee capabilities to the Driller, even when using assault, but it’s a lot better than the Avalancher. It’s buckler and knockdown gun is similar to the Avalancher but it’s not as durable.

Like all Rhulic jacks it’s slow and easy to hit but well armoured.

Combos & Synergies

  • Ram on the Sledge Cannon sets up all sorts of possibilities, not the least of which is for the Rockram itself. Assault, hit with the Cannon, push it back an extra inch (and follow up yourself), then finish it off with whack from the Pulverizer.
  • Gorten for Enerizer. With Repo from Hammer Strike it can be 13" away from what it just shot.
  • Ossrum - Energizer and +2 Speed from the feat. Snipe to help with the puny range.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • In a world with Drillers, Earthbreakers, and Bashers, it's tough to justify a Rockram. Outside of pure-Rhul mercenaries, the Buccaneer has a better knockdown at less than half the price.
  • Drillers have Sustained Attack and do not require knockdown making them better into Steady and Serpentine targets. Gunners and Blasters have accurate shooting and don't need it either.
  • It's slow. Even with Assault, it has a piddling threat range.

Tricks & Tips

You don't have to use Ram to advance - this can keep you out of charge range.


Other

Trivia

Released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)

Who can control this warjack

To include this mercenary warjack in your army, it must be controlled by one of the following Rhulic warcasters or marshals. Thus, to include this jack you first need to find a controller that works for your army.

Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal
Cannot take Colossals
Thor Steinhammer

Other Mercenary models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Malvin2 - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Princess Delores Graciela - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Tubbin - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Widget2 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin1 & Mayhem1

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ram and/or Batter     (Edit)

  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
  • RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Stagger      (Edit)

    • A Staggered model can still declare a charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • If that charging model can then buy a melee attack, that bought attack will count as its charge attack.
    • Stagger prevents "free" Power Attacks, such as Smash & Grab.
    • If you manage to free strike a model that is in the middle Slam move, and cause a Stagger, it will not prevent the slam that is already in progress.
    • Stagger does work vs Colossals/Gargantuans.

    Rules Clarification : Rhulic Warjack - None yet. (Edit)

    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

    • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
      • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
      • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
    • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

    Inert warjacks

    • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

    Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
    (Click Expand to read)

    General

    Step 1: Declare the charge

    1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
      • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
      • If no, continue to Step 2.
    2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
      • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

    Step 2: Move the charging model

    1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
      • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
      • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
    2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though).
    3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
      • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). (Infernal Ruling)
    4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you resolve "Ends Movement" effects (such as Countercharge) before the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling).
      • If something happens at this point that changes whether a model is in/out of melee range, it does not retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge or vice versa.
    5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
    6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    Tip lightbulb.png

    Tip !
    Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

    You can make an Assault shot even if you charged less than 3".

    Step 3: Make the ranged attack

    1. The ranged attack is optional.
    2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
    3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
    4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
      • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
      • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
      • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

    Step 4: After finishing the Assault attack

    1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
    2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
      • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
      • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
    3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


    Units

    • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
    • Assault & CRA (Edit)
      • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

    Other

    • Warbeasts
      • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
    • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
      • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
      • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
        • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
        • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
        • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
        • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).

    Rules Clarification : Sturdy - None yet. (Edit)