Wolf Lord Morraig

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

Circle Wolf Sworn Character Solo

Fluff blurb

Basic Info

Wolf Lord Morraig
Missing Info
Wolf Lord Morraig.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Mounted / Dismouted
BASE Large / Small
SPD 9 / 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 8
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 17 / 15
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 10 / 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons

  • Cleft Blade - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount attack

Abilities

  • Dragoon - Dragoons begin the game as a Cavalry model but can become dismounted during play. When they do so, their stats go down slightly and they lose some of their special rules & equipment.
  • Mounted only
    • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks. Click the link for the full rules text.
    • Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.
  • Mounted or Dismounted
    • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
    • Cleave - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved this model can make one additional melee attack. This model can make only one additional attack as a result of Cleave each activation.
    • Flank [Wolf Sworn] - This model gains +2 to melee attack rolls and an additional die on melee damage rolls vs enemy models in the melee range of other Wolf Sworn models.
    • Prowl - While this model has concealment, it gains stealth.
    • Veteran Leader [Wolf Sworn] - While in this model's command range, other friendly Wolf Sworn models gain +1 to attack rolls.


Analysis of Wolf Lord Morraig

Wolf Lord Morraig in a Nutshell

Wolf Lord Morraig is a leader of the Wolf Sworn. Hard hitting and able to buff everyone, he epitomizes everything dragoons want to be

Combos & Synergies

  • All Wolf Sworn. Notably:
  • Grayle the Farstrider - He grants tactican. This can set up a few things:
    • He stands behind Reeves to give them the veteran leader, then charges through them on his own activation
    • Once the Wolves charge in, he can charge over them for the flank bonus, thanks to their 2" melee.
    • Grayle himself is wolf sworn, so he benefits from Veteran Leader and activates flank.

Drawbacks and Downsides

  • Expensive

Tricks & Tips

  • His impact attacks benefit from flank. This can be a great way to unjam your infantry, especially if you can get tactician from Grayle.
  • You could cleave off an impact attack that fails to kill. Just remember, you only get it once per activation.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Theme Forces

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Cleave      (Edit)

  • Cleave doesn't trigger off free strikes or Impact Attacks, since those occur outside of your Combat Action.
  • Despite "additional attacks" normally occurring only after all initial attacks are resolved, Cleave "interrupts" your initial attacks because it must be resolved immediately.
  • You cannot trigger an "Any Time" ability between the first attack and the Cleave attack, because Cleave occurs at Step 14 of Apdx A, and "Any Time" abilities cannot be triggered until after Step 14 is finished.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Flank      (Edit)

  • You can gain the Flank bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
  • Melee range is measured from your front arc so you cannot trigger Flank on models in your back arc.
  • The target enemy doesn't need to be in the Flanker's LOS, just their melee range.
    • Most of the time if something is in your melee range then it is so close it's in your LOS too, and the difference is meaningless.
    • But if you have 2" reach and you're jammed up in B2B with a bunch of closely-spaced enemies, you'll find your LOS is blocked. In this case, you might be able to trigger Flank on an enemy model that is "hiding" behind that front row of jammers, even though you don't have LOS to it.
  • Flank is not tied to a specific weapon, so Mount attacks and Power Attacks can benefit as well.
  • If the target moves in/out of the Flanker's melee range between the attack roll and the damage roll (for instance if you throw it) then you need to reassess whether you get the Flank bonus for the damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl      (Edit)

  • Whether you can trigger Prowl is a bit awkward; As long as you have concealment you can trigger Prowl ... even if the attacker ignores concealment, (such as with Hunter).
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds for LOS" (such as Bird's Eye) you get Prowl.
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds completely" (such as Alchemical Mask) you don't get Prowl. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Similar for standing in a forest.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader      (Edit)

  • Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause.
    • Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
  • Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)