Woldwatcher

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

Circle Wold Light Warbeast

Woldwatchers blast apart the enemies of the Circle with pure elemental force and rip their foes to pieces with stone claws. The blood of the slain waters the earth and brings forth trees and abundant growth. Rolled into easily overlooked piles of stone, woldwatchers serve as guardians and sentries before springing forth to turn interlopers into fertilizer.

Basic Info[edit]

Woldwatcher
Missing Info
Woldwatcher.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 8
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 17
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 2
THRS N/A
HP 24
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Elemental Strike - 10" range, POW 12 ranged attack.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
    • Fertilizer - When a living or undead model is boxed by this weapon, center a 3" AOE on it then RFP it. The AOE is a forest that stays in play for one round.
  • Rune Fist (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapons.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Stone Form - The Woldwatcher can be forced during its activation to gain +4 ARM, but its base DEF is reduced to 5 and it is auto-hit in melee. Lasts for one round or until the Woldwatcher advances.

Animus[edit]

For one round, the caster cannot be pushed, knocked down, made stationary, or moved with a slam.

Recent Changes[edit]

No changes since 2017.11

Analysis of Woldwatcher[edit]

Woldwatcher in a nutshell[edit]

The Wold Watcher is an interesting utility piece; its ability to Stone Form makes it ARM 21 and therefore tougher than many heavies while costing half what many heavies do, and this combined with advance deployment makes it an awesome scenario piece. Remove from play on its attacks is the icing on the cake, making it useful in a lot of circumstances.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Slow
  • Hard to heal
  • Low damage output. It's all about the defence.
  • Short on Fury

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Two open fists = double-handed throw.
  • If you have the Fury, force for Stone Form. Nothing misses its DEF anyway.
  • It brings a lot of magical weapons, useful if you are facing incorporeal models.
  • It's excellent at contesting zones.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Primal Mk1 (2006)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Circle models[edit]

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fertilizer      (Edit)

  • Fertilizer is not optional. You just goddam love planting trees.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target, then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stone Form      (Edit)

  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an Any-Time ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Earth's Blessing - None yet. (Edit)