Witchwood

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 94% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Golab (1 year review) Tanith1 (battlebox strategy)


Witchwood
Grymkin Solo

"Beware the comely maiden ’neath the old and knotty tree—a foul, deceitful witchwood the maid will likely be."

Bound together as a witchwood, the woman and the ancient timber seduce victims with lilting song and fruits freely given, turning stouthearted allies against one another in jealousy. Any who take axe or torch to a witchwood soon find how easily their flesh tears in the tree’s gnarled grasp.

Basic Info[edit]

Witchwood
Missing Info
Witchwood.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 0
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 6
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 5
ARM 18
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 10
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
  • Hunter - This model ignores cover and concealment when shooting.
  • Immovable - The Witchwood has no Normal Movement. It cannot be moved or knocked down. It is automatically hit by melee attacks.
  • Prowl - While this model has concealment, it gains stealth.
  • Strange Growth - This model can be placed completely within 5" during its activation and can not be placed otherwise.

Weapons[edit]

  • Siren's Call - 8" range gun that does no damage.
    • Bewitch - This attack causes no damage. Instead, take control of target living enemy non-warcaster/warlock warrior model. You can immediately make a full advance with the enemy model, ignoring free strikes, followed by a basic attack then Bewitch expires. A model can be affected by Bewitch only once per turn.
    • Black Penny - this weapon/attack ignores the "target in melee" DEF bonus.
  • Swipe (x2) - 2" reach, P+S 15 melee weapons.


Thoughts on Witchwood[edit]

Witchwood in a nutshell[edit]

Witchwoods, affectionately known as "the spooky tree", are a fairly unique combat solo with a gun that can disrupt living enemy models. It is very often used as a scenario anchor due to its high arm, and potential stealth as well as its ability to simply walk contesting models out of a zone.

Why should i include Witchwoods in my army?[edit]

Witchwoods are generally brought as a free solo in Bump in the Night. It is extremely uncommon for players to pay for them as their 5pt price tag is very expensive. You should generally consider bringing one when you want to bring a combat solo who can sit on the edge of a zone or on a flag and not be trivially removed. Some casters in Bump are very support orientated and will be considering models such as Eilish and the Glimmer Imp. When you don't need these kinds of models however, Bump has only two non character combat solos, Trapperkin and Witchwoods.

Trapperkin are the offensive option, and Witchwoods can be viewed as the defensive option.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • The Heretic will sometimes passively assist its accuracy if his Trump happens to be on something it wants to hit or shoot. Don't expect Heretic to do much for it though. You can technically walk enemy models through Heretic's wall of fire, but this is generally something you'll do that's cute and available at the time, not a realplan
  • The Wanderer causes the Witchwood to have stealth at all times while Fog of War is up.
  • The Dreamer can technically make it RAT 9 by using mark target on the small phantasm. Once again, kind of a side case you shouldn't expect to see
  • It has one decent support synergy in that it can't be pushed so you can use it to either backstop your models from pushes, or stand in front of them to stop drags

It should be noted there really isn't that many powerful synergies for this model. It's very self contained. It's just the nature of a slow, ponderous combat solo who is more defensive in nature than offensive

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Thanks to immobile, it can't aim. RAT 7 is stellar, but the downside of not being able to aim is definitely there
  • It's threat ranges are pretty short, 7" for melee and 13" for its gun. These ranges are completely static with zero extenders meaning typically your opponent will be very aware of what you can and can’t do
  • It's not super easy to kill, but its also not super hard to kill. Melee troops in particular will be able to polish it off as even very low pow charges will chip away at it until its dead. It's at its most annoying when your opponent has to commit a decent gun at it, and possibly anti stealth tech.
  • The gun is pretty restricted, it works on non-caster, warriors only, and living models. This means its fairly typical to play some games where it will never fire its gun and its 5pts for a model with a 7" threat range
  • Its output is pretty low for 5pts
  • It has no answer to stealth or anti shooting tech such as Sucker or Shield guard.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • It can anchor zones, and use a combination of its gun and melee to walk models out of a zone while killing others.
  • Bewitch suffers from limited target selection, but its very powerful and flexible with a range of uses
    • Walking a unit leader away from the unit can leave members out of command which is awful, a whole unit can potentially be crippled. Opponents savvy to this may also not think enough about it when making field promotions when a leader dies. That is, their original leader was very safe from this threat, and then you killed a few models and he was forced to promote to the middle of the unit to keep everyone in command, which the Witchwood then takes advantage of
    • You're able to make a ranged attack with models you take control of, not just a melee attack. Be aware of taking control of models with very powerful attacks if it ever comes up. Eiryss1 for example is a hard target, but if your opponent ever fails to consider the tree and you're within 10" (or can get a back strike...). Gorman can blind important models with his grenade
    • The model you take control of is friendly during its move and attack. you can un-dig models with Dig in with this among other tricks. Your opponent can also make actions such as Admonition, Defensive strike etc.
  • You can use bewitch to make up for its mat 6 by turning its target away from you.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Beta rules released in the Grymkin CID (2017.03), final rules with the Faction release (2017.06)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Grymkin models[edit]

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bewitch      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model   [Show/Hide]
  • General
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Movement
  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • Melee Attacks
  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
  • Destroying the Controlled model
    If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
  • Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Black Penny      (Edit)

  • You ignore the "Target in Melee" DEF bonus, but if you miss you still need to randomly reassign the shot as per normal.

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • You can't use Dual Attack with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
    • If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hunter      (Edit)

  • Although you ignore cover/concealment, you don't ignore "secondary" bonuses a model gets from it. For example, a model with Prowl will still gain Stealth from their concealment. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Immovable and/or Immobile and/or Buried     (Edit)

  • There is no functional difference between "cannot move" and "cannot be moved".
    Even if you gain bonus movement (such as Dodge) via a spell or theme benefit, you still can't move. (Locked thread)
  • Witchwood only:
    • Since the Witchwood doesn't have Normal Movement, it can't gain the Aiming bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl      (Edit)

  • Whether you can trigger Prowl is a bit awkward; As long as you have concealment you can trigger Prowl ... even if the attacker ignores concealment, (such as with Hunter).
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds for LOS" (such as Bird's Eye) you get Prowl.
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds completely" (such as Alchemical Mask) you don't get Prowl. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Similar for standing in a forest.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.

Rules Clarification : Strange Growth - None yet. (Edit)