Well of Orboros

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Circle Logo.jpg Well of Orboros

Circle Structure

Among the many powerful elemental tools built by the blackclads of the Circle Orboros, the Wells of Orboros are perhaps the most versatile and awe inspiring. Most of these floating edifices are ancient, having been built by former omnipotents at places of special convergence. They tap into the sprawling ley line network of Caen, and by that connection, each can facilitate the crossing of vast distances by forces of the Circle Orboros. The energy that passes through them can be drawn upon to invoke seismic upheavals or to bolster and empower both wolds and druids in their vicinity. A well has no will of its own, but each responds instantly to the thoughts of blackclad leaders in a way that seems alive and purposeful.

BAHI icon.png

Black Anchor Heavy Industries
BAHI models are not available through normal distributors or local retailers. Players must purchase them directly from PP's online store (or second-hand).

See also Category: BAHI.

Basic Info

Well of Orboros
Missing Info
Well of Orboros.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Huge
SPD {{{spd}}}
STR {{{str}}}
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 5
ARM 19
CMD 12
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 10 (★)
N/A
N/A
(★) You get a free solo too
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Structure - All structures share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big fat buildings. Click here for the full rules..

Abilities

  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Eyeless Sight symbol.jpg Eyeless Sight
  • Destructive Power - During its activation, this model can suffer 1 damage to boost an attack or damage roll. This damage is suffered immediately after the attack is resolved.
  • Forward Deployment - This model can be deployed up to 8" beyond your deployment zone.
  • Nexus of Power - The control ranges of friendly Faction models with the Fury Manipulation special rule are extended 2" while in this model's command range.
  • Opening the Gate - This model can use Opening the Gate once per game at any time during its activation. Immediately add to play one friendly living non-character Faction solo with a point cost of 5 or less, placing it completely within 3" of this model. That solo must forfeit its Combat Action the turn it is put into play.
  • Waken the Stones - While in this model's command range, friendly Faction construct warbeasts gain Hyper-Aggressive. (Hyper-Aggressive - When a model with Hyper-Aggressive suffers damage from an enemy attack at any time except while it is advancing, after the attack is resolved it can immediately make a full advance directly toward the attacking model.)

Weapons

Sink Hole
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
14 1 4 14

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2021.10 Mega Update

  • Summoning changed to be only living solos (instead of any solo)
  • This only affected Gallows Grove (who also changed to non-living in the same update)

Thoughts on the Well of Orboros

Well of Orboros in a nutshell

This structure offers a variety of army support. It has a reliable ranged attack which can power up other models by giving them corpse tokens, most notably Tharn models but also even the Death Archon. It increases the control range of friendly models nearby. It grants a new ability to Construct warbeasts. Most importantly, it can add a model to your army during play.

Combos & Synergies

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • in Bones of Orboros it will get no use from “Bone Keeper” in Devourers Host it won’t get any benefit from “Waken the Stones” fortunately despite this it’s generous cost and other abilities still see it play in both themes.
    • there are exemptions to the above comment regarding Bone Keeper either you summon a Tharn non character solo or you run a minion model that collects corpses.
  • it can’t move at all so it’s initial placement dictates it’s battlefield presence.
  • outside of Baldur2 Circle doesn’t really leverage low defence high armour models that well. Despite its impressive number of boxes a charging heavy warjack will still kill it with only a bit of effort.

Tricks & Tips

  • The free solo ignores theme restrictions and FA requirements, as such, you can bring an extra Blackclad Stoneshaper or another Wayfarer, the Wayfarer being especially useful in say The Devourer's Host, giving access to Hunter's Mark can add a threat extension where your opponent might have been holding back.
  • with 32 hp there is little reason not to use Destructive power a few times a turn - especially if you have someone like Bradigus nearby to repair it.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in the Tharn Expansion (2018.11), although the model came out 4 months later

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lesser Warlocks

Krueger0 - Una1

Warlock Attachment

Druid Wilder - Tharn Blood Shaman

Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Chuck Dogwood - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Kogan the Exile - Krueger0 - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Shivers - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una1 - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2021.10

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Structure      (Edit)

  • The main differences between structures and the other huge bases are:
    • Structures can't aim.
    • Structures can't forfeit their Normal Movement (because they have none). If they're hit by an effect that makes the target "forfeit either Normal Movement or Combat Action as it's controller chooses" (such as Stranglehold) then the structure must forfeit its Combat Action.
    • Unlike Colossals and Gargantuans, your opponent can take control of your structure. There are very few such abilities that work on this model type, though.

Huge Base (Edit)

But this bonus doesn't apply to slams triggered by normal attacks (such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability).
Also, simply being on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook, click to read them.   [Show/Hide]

From the 2020.02 edition of the core rules (Edit)

Fields of Fire
Page 37 A huge-based model’s front arc is marked on its base. Its front arc is further divided into two 90° fields of fire. These fields of fire determine which models a huge-based model can target with its weapons, depending on the location of those weapons. Weapons located on a huge-based model’s left side (L) can be used to target only models in its left field of fire, and weapons located on its right side (R) can be used to target only models in its right field of fire. Weapons with locations “S,” “H,” or “—” can be used to target models in either field of fire. If any part of a model’s base is on the line separating the left and right fields of fire, the model is considered to be in both fields of fire.
Concealment, Cover, LOS
Page 49 Concealment & Cover - Huge-based models never gain the DEF bonuses from concealment or cover.
Page 60 Clouds - Cloud effects do not block line of sight to huge-based models.
Page 87 Forests - Forests do not block line of sight to huge-based models.
Huge-Based models in melee
Page 54 - Huge-based models never gain the Target in Melee DEF bonus.
Page 65 - Combined Ranged Attacks cannot target a model in melee unless it has a huge base.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
  • Blind vs Eyeless Sight (Edit)
    • If a model is Blinded, and then given Eyeless Sight, then that model ignores Blind ... but it is technically still Blinded. So if you somehow later lose Eyeless Sight (for instance walking out of the range of Menoth's Sight), it will immediately go back to suffering the effects of Blind. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Also this means stuff that only works vs Blind models (ie Hidden Blade) will still trigger vs a "Was Blinded but then got Eyeless" model.
  • Anti-Cloud abilities vs Burning Earth (Edit)
If you make a piece of terrain "Burning Earth" it counts as a cloud effect in addition to it's original type. This has 2 odd rulings:
  1. If any part of the terrain piece is "hit" by an ability that makes clouds expire (such as Gale Winds) then the entire terrain piece is taken off the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If a model can ignore clouds but not the original terrain type, they don't ignore the terrain. For instance if you have a burning forest, then Eyeless Sight can't see through the forest. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Destructive Power      (Edit)

  • You cannot suffer more damage to boost than you have hitpoints remaining. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can kill yourself with this ability.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Forward Deployment      (Edit)

  • This model is placed at the same time as your normal deployment, not with your advance deployment models.
  • A model that is deployed touching a scenario zone does not count as within that zone, so won't contest/control it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Nexus of Power      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Opening the Gate      (Edit)

  • If you're using The Devourer's Host theme and bring in a solo that can have corpse tokens, that solo does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
  • If you bring in a solo that normally declares something at the start of the game (such as Prey or an Ogrun Bokur's Client bonus) then they don't get that bonus. (CID ruling)
  • You cannot bring in a Companion model. They don't have a points cost, so cannot satisfy the "with a points cost less than 5" requirement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Waken the Stones      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hyper-Aggressive      (Edit)

  • Because you must move directly towards your attacker, you cannot change facing after completing your Hyper-Aggressive move.
  • HA can be triggered more than once per turn.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bone Keeper      (Edit)

  • There is no range limit on who you give the corpse to.
  • You can give corpses to Minion models.
  • You can collect corpses from friendly models you kill yourself.

Rules Clarification : From Beneath - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : High-Explosive      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Rear Attack - None yet. (Edit)