Warwitch Siren

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1330 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Cryx Logo.jpg Warwitch Siren

Cryx Solo

For centuries the Orgoth tyrants used their warwitches as living implements of atrocity and mass destruction. Now, hundreds of years later, the Cryxian warwitches have become icy killers, as cold in spirit as the shadows in which they are clad. Their arcane powers have been refined over time, and the witches called sirens have learned ways to seduce their enemies into annihilation.

Basic Info

Warwitch Siren
Missing Info
34075 WarwitchSiren WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 7
STR 5
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. 6
DEF 14
ARM 13
CMD 5
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Parry symbol.jpg Parry
  • Stealth symbol.jpg Stealth
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.

Weapons

  • Shadow Blade - 2" reach, P+S 11 melee attack
    • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
    • Shadow Bind - A model hit by this weapon/attack suffers -3 DEF, and for one round when it advances it cannot move except to change facing. Shadow Bind can be shaken.

Spells

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Empower

(★ Action) CMD - - - No
Target friendly Faction warjack. If the target warjack is in range and it was suffering Disruption, it is no longer disrupted. The warjack also gains 1 focus point.
Venom

(★ Attack) 8" spray - 10 (Corrode) - Yes
Venom deals Corrosion Damage. Models hit suffer the Continuous corrosion effect.
Seduction

(★ Action) - B2B - - No
Take control of a living enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model B2B with this model. You can immediately make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then Seduction expires. The enemy model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. A model can be affected by Seduction only once per turn.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Warwitch Siren

Warwitch Siren in a Nutshell

The Siren is a support model and her versatility makes her an interesting option. But if you want to use her a bit more offensively, she has the SPD to get in your opponent's face and the DEF, Stealth and Parry to keep her safe from (most) harm. However with low ARM and few damage boxes, anything that does manage to hit her will probably crush her.

Empower is a handy stand-by ability, letting a jack boost or buy an extra attack without draining your caster's reserves.

Seduction is also rather versatile. Not only can you make enemy models kill each other, but more importantly they can be repositioned to clear a charge lane, expose their back arcs to a gunline, or simply walk them off a scenario objective... the uses are endless.

Venom is straightforward, although she will struggle to hit average-to-high DEF enemies.

The use of Shadow Bind is limited since the Siren doesn't have the stats to survive in melee for long and Shadow Bind can be shaken by Warjacks and Warbeast.

Combos & Synergies

She is fairly self-sufficient, and doesn't require support from other models or units. However, if you wish to use her offensively, her low MAT/Magic will limit her ability to hit the enemy. As such, using a 'caster with DEF debuffs (such as Deneghra1 or Skarre2) or a 'caster that allows boosts/rerolls on attacks (Mortenebra or Scaverous) can be handy. Aiakos2 is of particular note as he fixes her MAT with Carnage while she Empowers his jacks, which he really likes due to his low focus stat.

The synergy with Empower & warjacks should be obvious. Of particular note is:

  • Stalkers - With the Stalker having Extended Control Range and them both having Stealth, good SPD, and high DEF they can make a great flank harrasament duo.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Despite Stealth and good defense, she is easy to kill. Watch out for rogue AOE blasts.
  • Her MAT limits usefulness of melee, still worth locking down some enemies with Shadow Bind. Especially if they don't have longer melee range.

Tricks & Tips

  • Use your melee weapon to Shadow Bind an enemy model that doesn't have longer melee range, while you stand outside their melee range. They will be unable to advance and attack you in melee, and unable to shoot because they're engaged by you. This trick is best used against models with low DEF. But remember that Shadow Bind can be shaken by Warbeast/Warjacks.
  • Sirens are good to block charge lanes, or make charges riskier. Standing nearby an important target, they threaten chargers with their Shadow-Bind calsuing free strikes at technically MAT8 - which, upon hitting shuts down their charge movement, and unless they're within melee range with their targets, end their actication.
  • You can use spells in melee (as long as you didn't charge. If you charge, you must make a melee attack).
  • If you expect an important jack of yours to be taken over by the enemy next turn (with spells like Domination, or by a Machine Wraith), tag it with the Siren's Shadow Blade. It can still turn around, but can't advance. Use this trick with care in case of jacks with 2" melee range, as they can still turn around and hit you.

Other

Trivia

Released in Forces of Warmachine: Cryx (June 2010)

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shadow Bind , Force Hold, Force Lock, Quagmire, and/or Crawling Chaos     (Edit)

  • Models affected by this ability may still advance 0" and thus abilities that trigger on "ends their movement within ..." or "after this model advances ..." will still trigger (for example Slipstream, Countercharge, etc).
  • Models may still be placed, so abilities like Apparition will still work.
  • The restriction applies to all advances: normal activation, bonus in-activation (like Overtake), and out-of-activation (like Energiser).
  • Shadow Bind only
    • If you manage to free strike a charging model and Shadow Bind it, their charge movement ends because they can no longer advance. At that point, you check whether their charge movement was successful or not.

Rules Clarification : Parry - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Empower and/or Recharge     (Edit)

  • A warjack can benefit from this ability multiple times.
  • A warjack cannot go over its normal focus limit (which is 3 for most jacks) as a result of this ability. Refer to the Cortex rules.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Venom      (Edit)

  • Damage Type (Edit)
    • This spell does elemental damage in addition to magical damage, not instead of magical damage. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Seduction      (Edit)

  • Seduction does not target. You can take control of someone in your rear arc, if you're B2B.
  • Seduction doesn't require an attack roll.
  • Depending on the model, sometimes Seduction is a normal action and sometimes it is a Magic Ability.
Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)   [Show/Hide]

General

  • Several abilities start with the sentence "Take control of a model" then a full stop, then a bunch of stuff you can do with that model. You can't uncouple the first sentence from the rest of the "do stuff" sentence(s), in other words if you want to "do stuff" then you have to "Take control". (Infernal Ruling)
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.

Attacks

  • Many "Take Control" abilities allow a basic melee attack. Some allow a basic attack. Gunfighters cannot make a ranged attack unless they're allowed the later.
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:

  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)