Warlock

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
War-Nouns (Edit)
Warmachine Warcaster "Junior" Warcaster 'Jack Marshal   Warjack Colossal   Vector Monstrosity
Hordes Warlock Lesser Warlock     Warbeast Gargantuan   Warbeast Pack  
Infernals Infernal Master Master Infernalist     Horror        

This article goes over the core rules of warlocks. The content is a repeat of the core rulebook (as of version 2018v1.pdf).

See also the Basic Training article LPG - Warcasters & Warlocks

Core Rules - Warlocks

All warlocks are independent models and have the following special rules in common.

Battlegroup Commander

This model can control a group of warbeasts. This model and the warbeasts it controls are collectively referred to as a battlegroup. This model can force the warbeasts in its battlegroup.

Only friendly models can be part of a battlegroup. If a rule causes a warbeast to become an enemy model, it is not part of its original battlegroup while that rule is in effect.

If an effect causes a battlegroup commander to fall under your opponent’s control, while the model is controlled by your opponent the warbeasts in its battlegroup remain under your control but are not considered to be part of their former controller’s battlegroup. If you regain control of the battlegroup commander, it resumes control of the warbeasts in its battlegroup unless some other model has already taken control of them.

Feat

Each warlock has a unique feat that can turn the tide of battle if used at the right time. A warlock can use this feat at any time during its activation. A warlock can use its feat only once per game.

Remember that a warlock cannot use its Normal Movement to run after using its feat and cannot use its feat after using its Normal Movement to run, as its activation ends as soon as it completes the run movement. Additionally, because a warlock can use its feat at any time, it can do so before moving, after moving, before making an attack, or after an attack but not while moving or attacking (see “Use of ‘Any Time’ Special Rules,”p. 11).

Fury Manipulation

This model has a Fury stat (FURY) and begins the game with a number of fury points equal to its FURY. During your Control Phase, this model replenishes its fury points by leeching fury from the warbeasts in its battlegroup. This model cannot exceed its Fury stat in fury points as a result of leeching. Unless otherwise stated, this model can spend fury points only during its activation.

A model with the Fury Manipulation special rule has a control range and can spend its fury points for additional melee attacks, to boost attack and damage rolls, and to shake some effects. During its controller’s Maintenance Phase, a model with the Fury Manipulation special rule loses all fury points in excess of its Fury stat.

Control Range

A model with the Fury Manipulation special rule has a control range, a circular area centered on the model with a radius that extends out from the edge of its base a number of inches equal to twice its current FURY. When a special rule changes a model’s current FURY, its control range changes accordingly. Some spells and feats use the control range, noted as “CTRL,” as their range or area of effect.

A model is always considered to be in its own control range.

A warbeast must be in its battlegroup commander’s control range to be forced or for the battlegroup commander to leech fury points from it.

Forcing Warbeasts, Leeching, Spirit Bond, & Reaving

See Warbeast-Warlock interaction, below.

Fury: Additional Attack

A model with the Fury Manipulation special rule can spend fury points to make additional melee attacks as part of its Combat Action (p. 50). It can make one additional attack for each fury point spent. Some models have special rules that enable them to also spend fury points to make additional ranged attacks.

Fury: Boost

A model with the Fury Manipulation special rule can spend 1 fury point to boost any of its attack or damage rolls during its activation. Add an extra die to the boosted roll. Boosting must be declared before rolling any dice for the roll. Remember, a particular roll can be boosted only once, but a model can boost as many different rolls as you choose and can afford.

Fury: Shake Effect

During your Control Phase after leeching fury, a model with the Fury Manipulation special rule can spend fury points for the following:

  • If the model is knocked down (p. 75), it can spend 1 fury point to stand up.
  • If the model is stationary (p. 75), it can spend 1 fury point to cause the stationary status to expire.
  • If the model is suffering an effect like Blind or Shadow Bind that can be shaken, it can spend 1 fury point to cause the effect to expire.

Discarding Fury

During its activation, a model with the Fury Manipulation special rule can remove any number of fury points from itself, even if it runs.

Transferring Damage

See Warbeast-Warlock interaction, below.

Healing

At any time during its activation, this model can heal by spending fury points to remove damage it has suffered. This model can also spend fury points to remove damage suffered by warbeasts in its battlegroup that are in its control range. For each fury point it spends this way, this model can remove 1 damage point.

Spellcaster

This model can cast spells by paying the COST of the spells in fury points. In addition to the spells listed on its card, a battlegroup commander can also cast the animi (p. 98) of the warbeasts in its battlegroup that are in its control range.

Warbeast Points

Warlocks are the driving force of your army and do not cost army points to include. Instead, they grant you a number warbeast points that can be spent only on warbeasts for your warlock’s battlegroup. These bonus points are in addition to the army points determined for the game, and any warbeast points not spent on warbeasts for a warlock’s battlegroup are lost.

Warlock & Warbeast interaction

Warlocks are the most powerful models in HORDES. They are potent shamans and deadly warriors as effective in martial combat as when wielding magical forces. A warlock’s greatest talent, however, is controlling warbeasts.

Forcing Warbeasts

A model with the Fury Manipulation special rule can force its warbeasts as long as they meet the following criteria. The warbeast must be in the battlegroup commander’s own battlegroup and in its control range, though the warbeast need not be in its battlegroup commander’s line of sight. A battlegroup commander cannot force warbeasts in another model’s battlegroup even if they are both part of the same army.

For more info about forcing, see the Warbeast article.

Leeching

During its controlling player’s Control Phase, a model with the Fury Manipulation special rule can leech fury points from warbeasts in its battlegroup that are in its control range. Fury points leeched from a warbeast are removed from it and placed on the warlock.

A warlock can also leech fury points from its own life force during its controlling player’s Control Phase. For each fury point a model leeches in this way, it suffers 1 damage point. This damage cannot be transferred.

A warlock can leech any number of fury points but cannot exceed its FURY in fury points as a result of leeching. Leeching is performed at the start of the Control Phase before threshold checks are made or fury is spent to upkeep spells.

Spirit Bond

After leeching, a model with the Fury Manipulation special rule can additionally gain up to 1 fury point for each medium-based or larger warbeast that was part of its battlegroup and has been destroyed or removed from play. If a destroyed warbeast returns to play for any reason, the warlock can no longer gain fury points for that warbeast from Spirit Bond. A warlock cannot exceed its FURY in fury points as a result of Spirit Bond.

Reaving

A model with the Fury Manipulation special rule is able to capture the life essence of its warbeasts as they are destroyed or removed from play. When a warbeast in its battlegroup is destroyed or removed from play while in its control range, the warlock can reave the fury points on the warbeast. Before removing the warbeast from the table, remove its fury points and place them on the reaving model. A model cannot reave fury points from a warbeast in its battlegroup that was destroyed or removed from play by a friendly attack or as a result of transferring damage to the warbeast.

Some special rules enable a model that does not control a warbeast to reave its fury points. The fury points of a warbeast that was destroyed or removed from play can only ever be reaved by a single model, however.

A model cannot exceed its FURY in fury points as a result of reaving. Excess fury points gained from reaving are lost.

Transferring Damage

When a warlock would suffer damage, it can spend 1 fury point to transfer that damage to a warbeast in its battlegroup that is in its control range. The warbeast takes the damage instead of the warlock. Determine where to mark the damage normally. When the warlock transfers damage to a warbeast, damage exceeding the warbeast’s unmarked damage boxes is applied to the warlock and cannot be transferred again. The warlock cannot transfer damage to a warbeast that has a number of fury points equal to its FURY. The warlock is still considered to have suffered damage even if the damage is transferred. Models unable to suffer transferred damage cannot have damage transferred to them.

Warlock Destruction

When a battlegroup commander is destroyed or removed from the table, the warbeasts in its battlegroup become wild. Additionally, all upkeep spells cast by that model immediately expire.

Wild Warbeasts

While it is wild, a warbeast must use its Normal Movement to run during its activations. It is not required to move the full distance of its run, however, and can even run 0˝ if desired. If a wild warbeast cannot run, it makes a full advance and must forfeit its Combat Action. A wild warbeast cannot advance outside its Normal Movement, make special actions, be forced, cast its animus, or make attacks, including attacks that do not take place during the warbeast’s activation, such as free strikes. It also does not gain an ARM bonus for shields or bucklers. A wild warbeast cannot gain fury points and never frenzies.

When a warbeast goes wild, remove all fury points from it.

A friendly Faction model with the Battlegroup Commander special rule, such as a warlock, that ends its movement in base-to-base contact with a wild warbeast can take control of it. To take control of the warbeast, the battlegroup commander must spend 1 fury point during its activation while base-to-base with the warbeast. The warbeast is no longer wild but must forfeit its Combat Action the turn it becomes controlled. The warbeast becomes a part of its new controller’s battlegroup.

Warlock Units

Some warlocks are part of a unit rather than being independent models. The warlock is the unit commander and activates as part of the unit. The warlock is the model in the unit with the Officer advantage and is the only model in the unit that has the special rules of a warlock. The warlock controls a battlegroup, has a feat, can spend fury, and so on. If the warlock is destroyed, its upkeep spells expire and its warbeasts become wild as normal.

The models in a warlock’s unit are part of its battlegroup.

Warlock units cannot have command or weapon attachments added to them. However, a warlock that is part of a warlock unit can still have solos with the Attached rule attached to it. If a solo with the Attached special rule is attached to a warlock who is part of a warlock unit, the solo remains an independent model and does not become part of the warlock unit.

See Also

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warlock      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • General
    • Damage from a feat is neither an attack nor Damage Type: Magical (unless the feat says it is).
    • FURY (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warlock's card. Fury (lowercase) refers to fury points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FURY stat, not double your fury points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warlocks are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warlock rules.
  • Reaving & Leeching
    • If you choose to Reave, it's all or nothing. You must Reave all the Fury (up to your limit) and you can't choose to "let some disappear". (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is Removed From Play, you can still reave fury off it. (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is destroyed or RFP'd while under your opponent's control then:
      1. You cannot reave fury off it. Because it is still enemy at the time it was destroyed/RFP'd, and you can't reave from enemy warbeasts.
      2. After it is taken off the table, it returns to your control and is eligible for Spirit Bond and (possibly) Return to Play stuff (like Thagrosh1's feat).
  • Transferring Damage
    • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If there is too much damage for the warbeast and it "overlaps" back to the warlock, then that damage is considered ... unsure at this time. (Infernal Checking)
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unitor Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcaster and Warlock pages respectively, for the "regular" rules clarifications.

  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argus can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • The non-caster models are trooper models but are (normally) not Grunt models. Therefore they're not eligible for stuff like Revive.
  • Press Forward Order vs Casting Spells
    • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
    • If you issue the Press Forward order and your caster does not have LOS to any enemy models, then they cannot declare a charge and instead must run, so therefore can't cast spells. But between the fact that models declare charges one at a time, and spells being an Any Time ability, it actually becomes a bit convoluted. The scenarios are essentially:
      • (A) "issue Press Forward order ► I want to cast a spell ► can I declare a charge ► if no, I must run & I can't cast spells."
      • (B) "issue Press Forward order ► I want to cast a spell ► can I declare a charge ► if yes, I can cast it. ► After casting the spell, do I still have a valid charge target ► if yes, rinse and repeat."
      • (C) "issue Press Forward order ► I want to cast a spell ► can I declare a charge ► if yes, I can cast it. ► After casting the spell, do I still have a valid charge target ► if no, I must now forfeit both my Normal Movement and Combat Action."
    • Refer to (Infernal Ruling) and (Infernal Ruling). However note that as of 29th May 2019 it is getting reviewed (Infernal Checking)
    • Note that, in the above scenarios, the "I want to cast a spell" step is a Any Time ability. So although you may not be able to declare a charge right "now", you could for instance move one of the troopers in the unit to open up LOS.
    • Unfortunately if you have no valid charge targets you cannot cast a spell, even if resolving the spell would give you a valid charge target (such as Energizer or Mage Sight).
  • Steamroller 2018
    • The non-caster models can contest scenario zones & flags.
    • The caster model cannot contest.
    • The caster model can control zones and flags by itself, but:
      • to control a zone, the entire unit remaining in play needs to be in formation.
      • to control a flag, the entire unit remaining in play must be within 4" of the flag.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcastersor Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.