Warjack

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
War-Nouns (Edit)
Warmachine Warcaster "Junior" Warcaster 'Jack Marshal   Warjack Colossal   Vector Monstrosity
Hordes Warlock Lesser Warlock     Warbeast Gargantuan   Warbeast Pack  

This article goes over the core rules of warjacks. The content is a repeat of the core rulebook (as of version Sept2018v1.pdf).

See also the Basic Training article Your Battlegroup

Warjack types[edit]

Things which are sort of like Warjacks

  • Warbeast - The Hordes equivalent to a Warjack, a Warbeast is controlled by a Warlock.
  • Monstrosity - Available to Cephalyx Warcasters, a Monstrosity uses a lot of the same rules as a Warjack, but it's not one. Not really at all.
  • Vector - Available to Convergence Warcasters, a Vector is officially a warjack and uses a lot of the same rules as a Warjack, but it's slightly different.

Warjack Special Rules[edit]

All warjacks have the following special rules in common.

"Controlled"[edit]

Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
This rule isn't listed under the "Warjack" section of the rulebook, but instead under the "Building Your Army - Battlegroups" section.

This model must start the game either in a warcaster's battlegroup or marshalled by a Jack Marshal.

Cortex[edit]

Warjacks can gain focus. A warjack can have no more than 3 focus points at any time. Unless otherwise stated, a warjack can spend focus only during its activation. Remember, a warjack cannot gain or spend focus while its Cortex system is crippled (p. 57).

Damage Grid[edit]

Warjacks have damage grids. A warjack is not destroyed until all the boxes in its damage grid are marked. See “Recording Damage” on p. 57 for details.

  • (A) Crippled Arc Node - Warjack loses the Arc Node advantage.
  • (C) Crippled Cortex - Loses all focus it currently has, can't gain any new focus, and can't spend focus.
  • (M) Crippled Movement - Warjack can't run, charge, slam, or trample; and its base DEF is severely reduced.
  • (L) Crippled Left Arm, (R) Right Arm, or (H) Head - Weapons mounted in the according position roll one less die for attack and damage. Also, shields & bucklers mounted there don't work and you can't make power-, combo, or chain attacks with the crippled system
  • (G) Crippled Generator - Warjack cannot spend focus to heal its forcefield. Also, most of the time its special abilities/weapons will stop working.
  • (S) Crippled [Special] - Some Warjacks have special systems. The effects of being crippled will be detailed on their card.

Spending Focus[edit]

Warjacks can spend focus that they have been given during their activation.

Focus: Additional Attack
A warjack can spend focus to make additional melee attacks as part of its Combat Action (p. 36). It can make one additional attack for each focus point spent. Some models possess special rules that also enable them to spend focus points to make additional ranged attacks.

Focus: Boost
A warjack can spend 1 focus point to boost any of its attack rolls or damage rolls during its activation. Add an extra die to the boosted roll. Boosting must be declared before rolling any dice for the roll. Remember, a particular roll can be boosted only once, but a warjack can boost as many different rolls as you choose and can afford.

Focus: Run or Charge
A warjack must spend 1 focus point in order to use its Normal Movement to run or charge.

Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
This requirement doesn't apply to "bonus" run/charges (such as Countercharge).

Focus: Shake Effect
During your Control Phase after allocating focus, a warjack can spend focus points for the following:

  • If the warjack is knocked down, it can spend 1 focus point to stand up.
  • If the warjack is stationary, it can spend 1 focus point to cause the stationary status to expire.
  • If the warjack is suffering an effect like Blind or Shadow Bind that can be shaken, it can spend 1 focus point to cause the effect to expire.

Machine[edit]

Warjacks do not have a CMD stat or a command range.

Power Attacks[edit]

Warjacks can make power attacks. To make a power attack, a warjack must spend 1 focus point. The possible Power Attacks are:

  • Slam - Kind of like a charge, but if the attack hits then the target gets slammed away, takes damage, and is knocked down. It can also strike other models and cause collateral damage to them and knock them down.
  • Head-butt - If the attack hits, it knocks the target down and does a bit of damage.
  • Trample (Heavy warjacks & colossals only) - Warjack can move over small based models, and gets to make an attack against each model it moves over.
  • Throw (Requires an Open Fist) - If the attack hits, and you beat their strength check, then throw them directly away + scatter.
  • Power Strike (Colossals only) - Like a slam, but there is need for a run up first.
  • Sweep (Colossals only) - Makes a melee attack vs every model in one of its firing arcs. Useful vs swarms of infantry, useless otherwise.

Colossals[edit]

Colossals are huge-based warjack. There are a number of special rules that apply to colossals but not to smaller warjacks.

Main article: Colossal

Controller Destruction[edit]

Inert Warjacks (Warcasters & Battlegroup Controllers)[edit]

Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
The rules for inert warjacks isn't listed under the "Warjack" section of the rulebook, but instead under the "Damage - Disabled, Boxed, Destroyed" section.

When a model with the Battlegroup Commander special rule is destroyed or removed from the table, the warjacks in its battlegroup become inert. In many cases, the loss of a warcaster heralds the end of the battle. If the game does not end with the warcaster’s loss, though, other warcasters or ’jack marshals can reactivate the inert warjacks.

When a warjack becomes inert, it loses any focus points it had, and while it is inert it cannot gain focus points. An inert warjack cannot activate and does not have a melee range. It cannot engage or be engaged by other models. A model is never in melee with an inert warjack. An inert warjack has no facing, cannot advance or make attacks, and does not gain an ARM bonus for shields or bucklers. Abilities that cannot be used while a model is stationary cannot be used while a warjack is inert. A melee attack targeting an inert warjack automatically hits. An inert warjack has a base DEF of 5.

An inert warjack can be reactivated by a friendly Faction model with the Battlegroup Commander special rule, such as a warcaster, or by a friendly Faction model with the ’Jack Marshal advantage. To reactivate the warjack, a model with Battlegroup Commander can spend 1 focus point anytime during its activation while base-to-base with the warjack. A ’jack marshal can reactivate an inert friendly Faction warjack during its activation by forfeiting its Combat Action while base-to-base with the warjack. The reactivated warjack is no longer inert, but it must forfeit its Combat Action the turn it is reactivated. If the model reactivating a warjack has Battlegroup Commander, the warjack becomes a part of its battlegroup.

If the model reactivating a warjack is a ’jack marshal, the reactivated warjack comes under its control unless the ’jack marshal already controls a warjack.

Autonomous Warjacks ('Jack Marshal)[edit]

An autonomous warjack is a warjack that does not have a controller and is not part of a battlegroup. A warjack becomes autonomous when its controlling 'jack marshal (p. 74) is destroyed or removed from play or while its controller is under an opponent’s control.

An autonomous warjack acts normally but does not gain the benefits of being marshaled or being part of a battlegroup. A warjack must have a controller at the start of the game; it cannot begin the game autonomous.

A friendly Faction model with the Battlegroup Commander special rule, such as a warcaster, or a friendly Faction model with ’Jack Marshal can take control of an autonomous warjack. A ’jack marshal that is already controlling a warjack cannot take control of an autonomous warjack.

To take control of an autonomous warjack, a friendly Faction model with the Battlegroup Commander special rule must spend 1 focus point during its activation while base-to-base with the warjack. A ’jack marshal can take control of an autonomous friendly Faction warjack during its activation by forfeiting its Combat Action while base-to-base with the warjack. If the model taking control of the warjack has the Battlegroup Commander special rule, the warjack becomes a part of its battlegroup.

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Old warjack names[edit]

Mk3 no longer has faction-specific names for warjacks, but prior to that certain factions "renamed" their warjack types:

  • Retribution Warjacks were referred to as Myrmidions.
  • Cryx Light Warjacks were referred to as Bonejacks.
  • Cryx Heavy Warjacks were referred to as Helljacks.