This model is available in one Prime Army, The Thornfall Alliance. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.
Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.
Each war hog is over a ton of muscled, bristling rage strong enough to rend steel and tear the living flesh from the bones of enemy warbeasts. Enhanced by alchemical and mechanikal augmentations, these products of dark experimentation are goaded by the farrow into a state of frenzied bloodlust. With twin war cleavers and massive tusks, war hogs mercilessly slaughter their enemies, answering the screams of their victims with primitive grunts of delight.
- Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.
- Aggression Dial - This model can use Aggression Dial at any time during its activation. This model gains +2 STR that activation. At the end of that activation, this model suffers d3 damage points. Aggression Dial can be used only once per activation.
| Irresistible Force
|The spellcaster gains Bulldoze. Irresistible Force lasts for one turn.
- Bulldoze - When a model with Bulldoze is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per turn. Bulldoze has no effect when a model with Bulldoze makes a trample power attack.
Thoughts on War Hog
War Hog in a nutshell
The War Hog is a stone cold melee killer of heavies. Hitting hard and crunching through things. Between Aggression Dial and the Battle Boar's Primal Animus and the various buffs from several Farrow Warlocks, it can reach effective power levels far beyond 20+2D6, and it has a whopping three initial attacks to wail down on things. Its competitive 14Pt cost make it likely to trade across and up, while requiring a significant of damage to be taken down lest it frenzy for even more destruction on the next turn.
Combos & Synergies
- Battle Boar For when you really don't want that Colossal to survive
- Dr. Arkadius Probably overkill with Arkadius. Which means they get the job done.
- Helga the Conquerer Field Marshal: Gang Fighter makes them wreck stuff.
- Lord Carver, BMMD, Esq. III Batten Down the Hatches takes them above Khadoran armor, and his feat will turn them into wrecking balls.
- Sturm & Drang Under Sturm they get in unscathed thanks to the ARM buff and Shield Guard. Drang makes them more terrifying than normal
Drawbacks & Downsides
- It's a very obvious target to enemies. They will probably not ignore them!
- Getting bogged up by infantry puts them in a pickle.
Tricks & Tips
- Not much to say - it's a straight forward beatstick.
Released in Forces of Hordes: Minions (2010)
Who can control this warbeast?
With the way Minion battlegroups work, this warbeast can't simply be taken by any Minion warlock, and instead it must be controlled by one of the following:
Alternatively, a Skorne warlock can take this warbeast in the Disciples of Agony theme.
Other Minion models
Rules Clarification: : Warbeast (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.
- If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)
- A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
- An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)
- Transferring Damage
- If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
- Frenzy (Edit)
- You cannot trigger optional abilities (such as Cleave or Sprint). (Infernal Ruling)
- You must trigger compulsory abilities (such as Consume) ... except for compulsory abilities that also generate an extra attack (such as Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation.
- If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
- If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
- If a frenzying warbeast has two melee weapons with the same POW, it can choose which one to use. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Aggression Dial - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Knockdown (Edit)
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification : Irresistible Force (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Bulldoze (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.
Bulldoze - General
- Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly, refer to the section on moving models, below.
- You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
- The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model bulldozes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
- Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes full advances, runs, charges, and slams, but doesn't include stuff like Reposition or Energizer.
- You can't make free strikes against models you Bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
- Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
- An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
- If you contact a model you want to Bulldoze while overlapping another model or an obstacle, then you can "pause" on top of that other model/obstacle while resolving the Bulldoze, then continue your movement off the other model/obstacle. (Locked thread)
Bulldoze - Charges / Slams
- If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane but it does not move far enough, you can't Bulldoze again. You will continue your charge, contact it again, and stop.
- You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
- Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
- If you Bulldoze your charge target out of your melee range, this doesn't break the "once in your melee range the target must stay in your melee range" rule. Bulldoze is an exception. (Infernal Ruling)
Bulldoze - Moving the models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A. But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:
- Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
- If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
- And in this situation, a model beside the pushed model is effectively behind it unless you're pushing at a perfect tangent.
- A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
Push - General
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)