Protectorate Light Warjack
The Vigilant’s twin fist-mounted shields make it an incredibly durable light warjack. The tremendous area covered by its towering shields provides nearly unassailable shelter from even the most devastating of enemy artillery fire. Warcasters favor the Vigilant for its great utility, not only is it like a small, mobile battlement but since it carries no weapons its hands are free to hurl enemy combatants about like ragdolls. The ‘jack’s unsophisticated weaponry and cortex make it easy and inexpensive to manufacture, ensuring its place among the Menite crusaders for years to come.
- Shield Fists (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 11 melee attack.
- Shield - This weapon is a shield that gives the model a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. A model does not gain this bonus while the weapon system with the shield is crippled or when resolving damage that originates in its back arc.
- Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make a Throw Power Attack.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Girded - This model and friendly models B2B with it do not suffer blast damage.
- Roadblock - This model provides cover to friendly models as if it were an obstacle. This model loses Roadblock while it is incorporeal or knocked down.
Thoughts on Vigilant
Vigilant in a nutshell
The Vigilant is a light warjack with two shields, and is exactly as annoying to remove as that would indicate.
Combos & Synergies
- Anything that gives it an ARM buff. Making it even harder for the enemy to kill.
- Initiate Tristan Durant in particular runs it well - Fortify isn't that useful on the ranged jacks he prefers but it's excellent on one that's bodyguarding your caster, providing knockdown and push immunity.
- Placing one in Durst's battle group and keeping it B2B with him makes both seriously hard to kill, as it goes to DEF 14 and ARM 25, and Durst can pass damage onto it if he's hit
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Low damage output.
- Anything with chain weapons or that can get into its back arc. (Or that can turn it round)
- The enemy can jam it in melee.
- Cover counts only for ranged and magical, but not for melee attack rolls
- Ultimate issue is his cost. While it provides interesting utility, he cost same as devout and ultimately offers more narrow use - there is still a lot of things that can bypass him as a bodyguard and while devout can still hold zones (thou with lesser ARM going for him), he can also clear chaff much better as he has stronger weapon and higher MAT. Not to mention you can just buy crusader for one more point.
Tricks & Tips
- Use it to tank the charge. Its main benefit is being hard to kill.
- One of the few jacks in faction with two open fists - always keep throws in mind. Just remember, you cannot target a model on a larger base.
Originally released in Warmachine: Protectorate of Menoth (April 2010)
Themes for non-character warjacks (Edit)
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler (Edit)
- The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
- In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
- You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- Throw - General ( Edit )
- See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
- Throw - Power Attack
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
- Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
- Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Girded - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Roadblock (Edit)
- A Roadblock model does not count as intervening terrain for melee attacks.
- Shadow Fire vs Roadblock (Edit)
- If you use Shadow Fire vs a Roadblock model then the Roadblock will still grant cover to nearby models; even though you can "see right through it".
- Because the rule for getting cover from an obstacle is simply: does a line pass between the attacker and target that goes over/through the obstacle? Is the target within 1" of the obstacle on that same line?
- In other words, whether the obstacle actually blocks LOS or not isn't relevant.