Vassal of Menoth

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Protectorate Logo.jpg Vassal of Menoth

Protectorate Vassal Solo

The unclean sorcerous technology of warjacks is forbidden to most who serve the Protectorate, but the ruling Synod has sanctioned the collection of wizards and mechaniks known as the Vassals to sully their souls with the power necessary to construct the weapons of modern war. Mostly captured from foreign lands, the Vassals sometimes take the field and lend direct arcane support to the warjacks they helped fashion to subjugate their former countrymen.

Basic Info[edit]

Vassal of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth
SPD 5
M.A. 6
DEF 12
ARM 12
CMD 3
HP 5
Cost 3
FA 2
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Abilities[edit]

  • Iron Sentinel - While B2B with a friendly Faction warjack, this model gains +2 DEF and ARM and cannot become knocked down.
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
    • Arcane Bolt (★ Attack) - 12" range, POW 11 magic attack with no additional features or effects.
    • Empower (★ Action) - RNG CMD. Target friendly Faction warjack. If the warjack is in range and it was suffering Disruption, it is no longer disrupted. The warjack also gains 1 focus point.
    • Enliven (★ Action) - Target friendly Faction warjack/warbeast in CMD range. The next time it suffers damage from an enemy attack (except while advancing), after the attack it may make a full advance. Enliven expires when it is used, or after one round.

Thoughts on Vassal of Menoth[edit]

Vassal of Menoth in a nutshell[edit]

The Vassal of Menoth helps the focus management/disruption of your jacks with Empower, and helps their survivialability/maneuverability with Enliven. Although he has a magic attack, with no way to boost the roll it's really not a real threat.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • He's a warjack support solo, so he works well with any warcaster that likes to take a bunch of jacks. Oh hello Mk3, didn't see you there. What's that you say? That's every warcaster now? Ok.
  • Enliven stacks nicely with Amon's ability to give Parry and Steady. You can take one punch on the chin, then walk away without suffering a free strike.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • He's not that popular, he's effectively 3 points for one extra focus a turn. Enliven sounds good on paper but it doesn't ignore free strikes so doesn't save you from melee. Also Enliven has to be used the next time the warjack is damaged or not at all. You can't save it for later.
  • Victim stats - unless he has Iron Sentinel even an Electro Leap will kill him.
  • Short range on his CMD-based abilities.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • You can use Enliven defensively to extricate your warjack from a fight in the following turn. Or you can use it offensively to jam your warjack even deeper into the enemy lines after it gets hurt.
  • When using Enliven defensively, remember to leave an escape route behind your jack; don't move the Vassal up B2B with jack and box it in.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Warmachine: Legends (2008)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Protectorate models[edit]

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Durst - Cyrenia1 - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant
Blessing of Vengeance
Heavy Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher
Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy
Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack
Elias Gade - Hand of Silence - Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Severius0 - Covenant
Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.

Rules Clarification : Iron Sentinel - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Empower      (Edit)

  • A warjack can benefit from Empower multiple times.
  • A warjack cannot go over its normal focus limit (which is 3 for most jacks) as a result of Empower. Refer to the Cortex rules.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Enliven      (Edit)

  • You can't "save" Enliven, you must use it or lose it the first time the warjack is damaged. It lacks the "you can choose to move" wording like, say, Watcher has.
  • Since the attacking model is the "active player", Enliven is resolved at Step 13 of the Timing Sequence.
  • Your Enliven movement can trigger enemy abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • If an enemy takes control of the warjack on a "hit" (such as the Machine Wraith) then you can't trigger Enliven. Because by the time you get to the "damage" step of the Timing Sequence it's one enemy model attacking another enemy model. (Infernal Ruling)