Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Trollblood Logo.jpg Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Trollblood Northkin Trollkin Character Solo

Few warchiefs command so black a reputation as the acrimonious Valka Curseborn. Noted for a foul temper, he has become bitter and ruthless with the passing of the years. At each battle’s end, he looks around himself with bloodied axes, taking in the carnage he has unleashed, disgruntled that he still draws breath. He seeks a hero’s death but is too stubborn to die easily. The foe worthy to claim his life has yet to stand before him.

Basic Info

Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North
Missing Info
ValkaCursebornChieftainoftheNorth.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 8
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 17
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 8
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Cold Imm symbol.jpg Immunity: Cold
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Tough symbol.jpg Tough
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Feign Death - This model cannot be targeted by ranged or magic attacks while knocked down.
  • Retaliatory Strike - If this model is hit by a melee attack made by an enemy model during your opponent's turn, after that attack is resolved this model can immediately make one basic melee attack against that model. This model can make only one Retaliatory Strike per turn.
  • Righteous Vengeance - If one or more friendly Faction warrior models were destroyed or removed from play by enemy attacks while within 5" of this model during the last round, during your Maintenance Phase this model can advance up to 3" and make one basic melee attack.
  • Rise - If this model is knocked down at the beginning of your Maintenance Phase, it stands up.
  • Take Down - Models disabled by a melee attack made by this model cannot make a Tough roll. Models boxed by a melee attack made by this model are removed from play.
  • Unyielding - This model gains +2 ARM against melee damage rolls.

Weapons

Theme Forces

Storm of the North


Thoughts on Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North in a nutshell

Valka is the chieftan of his Kriel. As an expert fighter and one seen to survive anything, Valka has a myriad of defensive rules that also embody aggression and retaliation. Valka is an attractive option to any Northkin force - a fairly effective wrecking ball with a potential of five weapon master attacks per round (two basic, a counter-charge, a retaliatory strike, and a righteous vengeance).

Combos & Synergies

  • Valka is normally seen in Storm of the North because free is an excellent price for this model and he's the most expensive free option in that theme.
  • He brings two magic weapon attacks which is extra helpful in Storm of the North since you typically don't have the incorporeal removal of the normal stone.
  • With Madrak1's Tactician he can be positioned behind your frontline to allow him to counter charge through your troops.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Like most 6 point solos he's easy to kill for the cost.
  • Counter-Charge can be tricky to use on a model without reach.
  • ignoring his bonus attacks (which are all conditional) he doesn’t hit harder than a single Troll Champion while costing almost twice as much.
  • He has fierce competition from Bumbles who has the same battlefield role he does, but hits harder and from Ambush.

Tricks & Tips

  • Righteous vengeance can be used for movement to line up a charge as well as simply for attacking.
  • Countercharge and retalliatory strike can work well together.

Other

Trivia

Released in the Northkin expansion (2017.07)

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

    Triggering Countercharge    
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
  • Some abilities let you "ignore intervening models when declaring a charge" (such as Flight). Unfortunately, you still need LOS to trigger Countercharge, and it's only after CC is triggered that you actually get to declare a charge. In other words, Flight and Countercharge don't work together for LOS purposes.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

    What can your opponent do?    

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

    Attacks, Boosting, & Other Triggers    

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.
  • Countercharge occurs outside of activation so you can't spend fury/focus to boost a countercharge attack, nor buy additional attacks afterwards, not trigger stuff that only happens during your Combat Action (like Berserk).
  • Even if you trigger Countercharge during your own activation, for the duration of you resolving the CC it "no longer counts" as being in your activation. This is a reversal of an earlier ruling. (Infernal Ruling)

    After the Countercharge    

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

    Other interactions    

  • Countercharge during your own activation (Countercharge vs Admonition etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation, but only if an enemy model moves during your activation. For instance, you move towards a model who has Admonition and they trigger that to try to move away. (You do a normal move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge from their admonition-move.)
    • However countercharge always counts as being out-of-activation, no matter when you trigger it. (Infernal Ruling)
    As a result, you can't trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack).
    • On the other hand, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge). (Infernal Ruling)
      This ruling still applies even after the 2018.07 update (Infernal Re-ruling)
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Feign Death      (Edit)

  • "Cannot be targeted" is not the same as "cannot be hit". You can still be hit by AOEs, Sprays, etc that target someone else.
  • You cannot use Gunfighter vs models Feigning Death, because Gunfighter is still a ranged attack.
  • However, you can use Point Blank, because that lets the attacker make a melee attack with a ranged weapon.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Retaliatory Strike      (Edit)

  • "Basic melee attack" also includes Mount Attacks. Refer to the definition of 'Basic Attack' in the rulebook.
  • You can't make Retaliatory Strikes vs free strikes, because the free striker is defined to be in your back arc (regardless of the actual model's facings) and thus you don't have LOS to it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum     (Edit)

  • Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
  • You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
  • Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the model/unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
  • Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
  • Units only
    • Out of formation models cannot make Vengeance moves nor Vengeance attacks.
      However if the unit commander uses their movement to bring the Grunts back into formation, then they can move and attack.
    • When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
    • If you manage to spawn new models during the Maintenance Phase (such as with Reconstruction or Blood-Bound) then those new models can also make Vengeance attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
      • If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
      • But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".
  • Triggers
    • Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
    • If a CA has Granted: Vengeance then only models in formation have it. However, models that are damaged while out of formation can trigger Vengeance, they just will not benefit from it. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rise      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Take Down      (Edit)

  • If you have Take Down innately, then the RFP is not optional.
  • If you have Take Down granted by a theme force benefit, then the RFP is optional.
    • If you choose to RFP at boxed, you don't get to trigger anything that happens at destroyed (such as Cleave).
    • If you choose not to RFP them, they're destroyed normally. They produce corpses, can be returned to play, etc, and most importantly you can trigger stuff at "destroyed" (such as Cleave).
  • Technically the theme benefit doesn't actually grant models Take Down, it just gives them a rule with almost the exact same wording as Take Down.

Rules Clarification : Unyielding - None yet. (Edit)