Umbral Guardian

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1323 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Infernal Logo.jpg Umbral Guardian

Infernal Solo

Umbrals are a type of infernal that occupies a distinct niche in the Outer Abyss, benefiting from being able to slip into Caen more easily than others. They possess a special connection to shadows that lets them exploit darkness to serve as gateways. Guardians are often contracted to bind into the shadows of important infernal assets, lurking unseen to await the time they are needed, at which point they spring into action in defense of their charge.

Basic Info

Umbral Guardian
Missing Info
Umbral Guardian.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 7
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 16 / 17 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 8
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
FA 3
(★) 17 with the Buckler bonus
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Soulless symbol.jpg Soulless
  • Defensive Strike - Once per turn, when an enemy advances into and ends its movement in this model's melee range, this model can immediately make one basic melee attack against it.
  • Ghostly - This model can advance through terrain and obstacles without penalty and can advance through obstructions if it has enough movement to move completely past them. It cannot be targeted by free strikes.
  • Shadow Guardian - You can choose not to deploy this Umbral Guardian at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play when a friendly non-Umbral Infernal model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack. Place this Umbral Guardian completely within 3˝ of the hit model. Umbral Guardian is automatically hit by the ranged attack instead of the model originally hit and suffers all damage and effects.
  • Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.

Weapons

Theme Forces


Thoughts on the Umbral Guardian

Umbral Guardian in a Nutshell

Umbral Guardians are extremely interesting and they have a new rule with interesting interactions. At their core, they're hardy Shield Guards with a good defensive stat line and potent melee attack. However, their Shadow Guardian rule allows them to not be deployed with the rest of your army, and instead 'Bamf' into play when one of your models is hit by an enemy ranged attack. They absorb the attack and take the hit, much like Shield Guard. Then, after that, they still have Shield Guard to absorb an additional nearby enemy ranged attack!

Combos & Synergies

  • The major decision you must make here is when to deploy these. you can view them as ablative hp for solos or horrors mostly. If they do survive, they'll be a decent way to tie up something.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Every shot your opponent lands makes you consider if you want to deploy them to absorb the hit or hold in reserve in case you need it more in the future. This can lead you to deploying them too early or never deploying them at all after you have eliminated all of the shooting.
  • They do not have marked soul and are in fact soulless; they can neither refill essence nor be sacrificed to create a new horror
  • Their guard abilities require direct hits

Tricks & Tips

  • Shadow Guardian works vs ranged sprays, unlike regular Shield Guard. (Neither work vs spell sprays though.)
  • You can trigger Shadow Guardian and Shield Guard on the same turn.

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction launch (2019.06)

Other Infernal models

Infernal Logo.jpg       Infernal Index       (Edit)
Unique Rules : Masters, Horrors, Essence, & Summoning
Infernal Masters Agathon - Omodamos - Zaateroth
Attachment Lord Roget d'Vyaros Master Infernalist Princess Regna
Lesser Foreboder Light Lamenter - Shrieker Heavy Desolator - Soul Stalker - Tormentor
Units, Solos, & Structures
Structures Infernal Gate
Solos

Alain Runewood, Lord of Ash - Eilish1 - Eilish2 - Great Princess Regna Gravnoy (Master Infernalist) - Hermit of Henge Hold - Lord Roget d'Vyaros - Nicia, Hound of the Abyss - Orin1 - Saxon Orrik - The Wretch - Umbral Guardian - Valin Hauke, The Fallen Knight

Units

Croe's Cutthroats - Cultist Band - Griever Swarm - Howlers

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Dark Legacy - Hearts of Darkness J.A.I.M.s
This index was last updated: 2019.06

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Soulless - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Defensive Strike      (Edit)

  • If an enemy doesn't stop in your melee range, but continue all the way through it and out the other side, you won't get to make a Defensive Strike.
    You will get to make a free strike as per normal, though.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ghostly      (Edit)

  • Ghostly doesn't let you move through other models, just terrain.
  • Ghostly doesn't let you ignore damage from hazardous terrain. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Guard and/or Shadow Guardian     (Edit)

  • You can't use this ability vs spells.
  • You shift all effects onto the new model, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use this ability vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • This ability doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
  • Shield Guard only
    • You can link Shield Guards together. Model A is hit, Model B uses Shield Guard to take the hit from A, then model C uses Shield Guard to take the hit from B, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
    • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
    • The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)