Tyrant Rhadeim

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1291 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Skorne Logo.jpg Tyrant Rhadeim

Skorne Praetorian Ferox Character Solo

fluff

Basic Info

Tyrant Rhadeim
Missing Info
Tyrant Rhadeim.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Mounted / Dismounted
BASE Large / Small
SPD 8 / 6
STR 7
MAT 8
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 17 / 15
CMD 10
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 10 / 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 9
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Dragoon - Dragoons begin the game as a Cavalry model but can become dismounted during play. When they do so, their stats go down slightly and they lose some of their special rules & equipment.
  • Mounted
    • Cavalry symbol.jpg Cavalry
    • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
    • Dodge - This model can advance up to 2" immediately after an enemy attack that missed it is resolved unless it was missed while advancing. It cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.
    • Jump - After it makes a full advance during its Normal Movement but before it performs its Combat Action, you can place this model anywhere completely within 5" of its current location. Any effects that prevent charging also prevent this model from using Jump.
    • LeadershipPraetorian Ferox ] - Friendly Praetorian Ferox models in this model's command range gain Dodge (As above).
    • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
    • Steady - This model cannot become knocked down.
  • Dismounted
    • Cavalry
    • Pathfinder
    • Dodge - As above
    • Jump
    • Leadership - As above
    • Reposition
    • Steady

Weapons

  • Mounted
    • Lance of Bashek - 2" reach, P+S 12
      • Armor-Piercing (★ Attack) - When calculating damage from this weapon, halve the base ARM stats of models hit.
    • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount attack
      • Pounce - During an activation in which this model was placed as a result of using the Jump ability, its Mount damage rolls are automatically boosted.
  • Dismounted
    • Lance of Bashek - As above
    • Mount

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Tyrant Rhadeim

Tyrant Rhadiem in a Nutshell

BY THE POWER OF GRAYSKULL- Ahem. Yes. He-Ma- I mean Rhadiem is a highly mobile solo with a horrifically powerful armor piercing weapon attached to him. So he will reach his target and he will hit it hard. The question is, will he survive afterwards? Well...

Combos & Synergies

  • Xerxis1 can make the Ferox get more use out of Dodge and he can give Rhadiem an additional damage die on feat turn and Stir the Blood him. Delicious.
  • Makeda2 can put Storm Rager on Rhadiem and let him one-shot most warcasters on average dice and help him survive the approach.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Very squishy solo for the points.
  • He only has two attacks and only one is amazing. Make it count

Tricks & Tips

  • Jumping into the enemy's back arc is worth a bonus to hit and boosted mount damage from Pounce. Do it
  • Rhadiem is the ultimate assasination tool against Warmachine casters. Warlocks can just transfer damage away.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Other Skorne models

Skorne Logo.jpg       Skorne Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Hexeris1 - Hexeris2 - Jalaam1 - Rasheth1 - Makeda1 - Makeda2 - Makeda3 - Mordikaar1 - Morghoul1 - Morghoul2 - Morghoul3 - Naaresh1 - Xekaar1 - Xerxis1 - Xerxis2 - Zaal1 - Zaal2 - Zaadesh2
Lessers & Attachments Aptimus Marketh (Warlock attachment) - Zaadesh1 (Lesser Warlock)
Lesser

Agonizer - Aradus Scarab - Reptile Hounds - The Terrorizer

Light Basilisk Drake - Basilisk Krea - Cyclops Brute - Cyclops Raider - Cyclops Savage - Cyclops Shaman - Razor Worm
Heavy

Aradus Sentinel - Aradus Soldier - Archidon - Chiron - Bronzeback Titan - Despoiler - Molik Karn - Rhinodon - Tiberion - Titan Cannoneer - Titan Gladiator - Titan Sentry

Gargantuans Desert Hydra - Mammoth
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Cataphract Arcuarii - Cataphract Cetrati - Cataphract Incindiarii - Immortals - Legends of Halaak - Nihilators - Paingiver Beast Handlers - Paingiver Bloodrunners - Praetorian Ferox - Praetorian Karax - Praetorian Keltarii - Praetorian Swordsmen - Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer - Venator Catapult Crew - Venator Flayer Cannon Crew - Venator Reivers - Venator Slingers

Solos

Abidan the Keeper - Ancestral Guardian - Aptimus Marketh - Extoller Novitiate - Extoller Soulward - Hakaar the Destroyer - Immortal Vessel - Mortitheurge Willbreaker - Paingiver Bloodrunner Master Tormentor - Paingiver Task Master - Tyrant Rhadeim - Venator Dakar - Void Spirit - Zaadesh1

Battle Engines Siege Animantarax - Supreme Guardian
Theme Forces
Disciples of Agony - Masters of War - The Exalted - Winds of Death
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Skorne Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.01

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Armor-Piercing and/or Case Cracker     (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Pounce - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dragoon      (Edit)

  • Dragoons become dismounted instead of becoming disabled, so you can't trigger anything that works on disabled (such as Tough) when you kill their horse.
  • If a dragoon is dismounted while overlapping another model (such as an Incorporeal one), then you have to rewind to the dragoon's last legal position before resolving the dismount. (Infernal Ruling)
  • When a Dragoon is dismounted, even though you replace the physical model, it is considered the same in-game model for the purposes of whether the original attack hit/damaged it (for stuff like Chain Attack or Drag). For instance, you could hit the mounted model with your first attack, damage it enough to dismount it, then resolve Drag vs the dismounted model. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Cavalry model with no melee weapon
    • If you have a Mount weapon but no regular Melee weapon (such as the Efaarit Scout), you can still declare a charge. (Locked thread)
    • You can make Impact Attacks along the way.
    • Once you get to the charge target, however, you can't make a melee attack against it. Because you can't use the mount weapon for a charge attack, due to the way the Cavalry rules are written. (Unless you have a rule like Trampling Hooves.)
    • If you don't charge, the mount attack can be used as an initial melee attack.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bounding Leap and/or Jump     (Edit)

  • You cannot use Jump or Bounding Leap if you forfeit your movement. "After making a full advance" is a conditional requirement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can only use Jump or Bounding Leap after a full advance, which means you can't do it after a Slam, Trample, or Charge.
  • You can use "At any time" abilities between completing your move and doing the Jump/Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Jumps & Leaps are a "placement". They do not trigger free strikes, and you can even jump over solid buildings of infinite height.
  • If you cannot advance more than 0" (for example suffering from Shadow Bind) then you can Jump/Leap. Making an advance of 0" is sufficient to trigger Jump/Leap.
  • Jump only
    You cannot use Jump if you are suffering "any effect which prevents charging". So...
    • If you forfeit your Normal Movement, you cannot Jump. (For the same reason as given above.)
    • If you forfeit your Combat Action, you cannot Jump. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you "cannot make attacks" (such as with Morvahna1's feat), you cannot charge, therefore cannot Jump. (Locked Thread)
  • Unit with Jump
    • Complete all the models' Normal Movement before starting any Jumps. Then do all Jumps (that you can do and/or want to do) before starting any Combat Actions. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Models in a unit can Jump even if they don't receive a Press Forward order (failing to be told to charge is not the same as being prevented from charging). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dodge      (Edit)

  • Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
  • An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
  • If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, you can choose whether to dodge or riposte first. Appendix A Step 13 applies here, because the controller of the model being attacked is not the active player.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Leadership      (Edit)

  • If you have two Leaders handing out the same buff, then sometimes they stack (Bronzeback) and sometimes they don't (Exemplar Bastion). (Infernal Ruling)
  • See specific models for case-by-case clarifications.