Twilight Sisters

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 94% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Golab (1 year review) Tanith1 (battlebox strategy)


Grymkin Logo.jpg

Twilight Sisters
Grymkin Character Unit

"Make your deal, but be ye warned; There’s nothing worse than a witch that’s scorned."

The Twilight Sisters offer grim bargains to those they meet on the perilous roads of the Iron Kingdoms. As these enigmatic witches travel, they offer aid to their grymkin fellows, all while serving their own ends and punishing the wicked for their folly. Those who renege on a pact made with the sisters quickly see their lives end amid unimaginable torment.

Basic Info[edit]

Twilight Sisters
Missing Info
Twilight Sisters.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 14
ARM 11
CMD 6
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 2
COST 7
3.5 each
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast a single spell.
    • Death Rattle (★ Attack) - 8" range, POW 12
      When this spell boxes a living or undead non-warcaster/warlock enemy warrior model, you can immediately take control of the model. The boxed model immediately makes one basic attack, then is RFP'd.
    • Grim Returns (★ Action) - Return to Play one destroyed Grunt to a unit that has a target trooper within 5". The model returns with 1 unmarked damage box, in formation, and completely within 3˝ of the target trooper model. The returned model forfeits its combat action the turn it returns to play.
    • Heal [d3+1] (★ Action) - Remove d3+1 damage from a living Faction model in B2B.
  • Heidrun only
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.

Weapons[edit]

  • Witch's Blade - 0.5" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon


Thoughts on Twilight Sisters[edit]

Twilight Sisters in a nutshell[edit]

The Twilight Sisters are a utility unit focused around recursion. They will spend the early to mid game abusing Grim Returns on high value targets before they become personally involved with their high quality zap spell, and their surprisingly adept melee.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Neigh Slayers are extremely good targets for Grim Returns thanks to their high hitting power and relative frailty. (This will be especially true once the Warhorse is released). An effective strategy is to charge with only part of the unit, with the expectation that they will die. The other member(s) hang back and provide a target for Grim Returns, lengthening the effective lifetime of the unit substantially.
  • Piggybacks are the most expensive revivable models in faction (at 3 points a mode), and the more that are on the field the more effective Shield Wall is at providing defence. Bulldoze (provided by the Officer once he is released) is extremely effective at opening up lanes for fast targets (such as Rattlers or Gorehounds) or when bullying zones. It's worth noting that Bulldoze can be used the same turn as reviving a mdoel.
  • Old Witch3 can bring back grunts too with Hell Hole; that means 3-5 returned grunt every turn for your army with the Sisters' help. Old witch also provides them safety under her windstorm.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Fairly expensive, and have tissue-paper ARM - They have to get value from Grim Returns or else they are not going to be worth their 7 points
  • RFP effects invalidate Grim Returns, and Grievous Wounds cancel Healing.
  • Healing requiring them to be base to base with the target can be awkward at times. Especially if not anticipated.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • They are actually good at melee in the late game. Mat 6 P+S 12 Grievous Wounds is not to be passed up. Applying grievous to certain targets can also be extremely valuable. They are built to charge!
  • Their offensive spell is quite powerful, try to hit targets who can easily be killed and then kill someone else. The Sisters can potentially kill 4 models in one turn this way.
  • They can speed your models up on turn 1 using Grim Returns. Grim Returns requires them to target a model within 5", and then place the returned model completely within 3" of them. A Cage Rager or other beast can trample two neigh slayers to death. Then the neigh slayers position one or more models within 11" (walk 6, cast 5) of the sisters, who walk and cast grim returns. This places a Neigh Slayer up to 14" from the starting line. Netting you a small benefit in run distance. Its not game breaking by any means, but free distance is free distance. Especially on Neighs with their very powerful charges.
  • They can score circular zones very easily being a 2 member unit.
  • Don't be afraid to return "Low Value" Models. Having two models return to play consistently every turn adds up. A good example is sometimes even returning the grunts to a unit of Mad Caps can be quite effective as they have good guns that can contribute.

Dark Menagerie vs Bump in the Night[edit]

When constructing a list, a player will note that the Twilight Sisters are available in both themes. So the question is why would you take the Twilight Sisters in each theme? Generally there is no situation where they are worth the 7pts in Dark Menagerie. This is due to:

  1. Grim Returns is useless in Dark Menagerie. it only allows you to bring a single unit (Dread Rots). That unit is usually only brought as fuel for the death knell.
  2. They do not count towards free points. When you combine this with the fact they synergise best with another unit that doesn't count for free points, they begin costing the Grymkin player dearly
  3. Healing d3+1 for 3.5pts (the cost of one witch) is an incredibly steep price to pay. There is a large array of situations where you will face anti healing, or get your beast killed in one round. On top of that, the sacrifice arcana provides the opportunity for significant healing. Furthermore, Skin & Moans have an inbuilt healing ability where they can heal potentially 9d3 per turn. Overall, healing is basically already covered.
  4. The fact their spell RFPs actually annoys the knell a bit, which is a staple of the Dark Menagerie theme

Conversely, the Twilight Sisters are a staple of the Bump in the Night theme. They should be considered any time you want to skew your Bump list towards having a recursion angle. This means they are very often one of the first units removed in a list once the local meta has additional Remove From Play effects however.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • There was/is a lot of confusion on who's who. Heidrun is the younger looking one/the officer.
  • Beta rules released in the Grymkin CID (2017.03), final rules with the Faction release (2017.06)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Grymkin models[edit]

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge      (Edit)

  • If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Death Rattle      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model   [Show/Hide]
  • General
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Movement
  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • Melee Attacks
  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
  • Destroying the Controlled model
    If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
  • Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!

Rules Clarification : Grim Returns - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Heal and/or First Aid     (Edit)

  • This ability doesn't target, so you can use it on models behind you.
  • When Heal is used as a magic ability, it bypasses anti-spell stuff that hinge on the word "target" (such as Spell Ward or Arcane Vortex).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.