Trollkin Sorcerer

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 94% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Golab (1 year review) Tanith1 (battlebox strategy)


Trollkin Sorcerer
Trollblood Trollkin Weapon Attachment

The sorcerers of the trollkin are not timid lore masters but determined and lethal combatants. Typically born with the white skin and red eyes of albinos, making them easily recognized as trollkin sorcerers at birth, they often command powers associated with elements prevalent in the region of their birth. Thus, many originating from the north command the cold winds of winter as a powerful weapon that can be used to attack or defend.

Basic Info[edit]

Trollkin Sorcerer
Missing Info
TrollkinSorcerer.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. 6
DEF 12
ARM 14
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Rune Axe - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon

Abilities[edit]

  • Attachment: [Medium-based Trollkin] - This model can be attached to a Medium-based Trollkin unit.
  • Attachment Deployment - If the unit this model is attached to has Advance Deployment or Ambush, this model gains that ability.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Combat Caster - When this model's unit receives the Press Forward order, before its Normal Movement, this model can make one Magical Ability special action or special attack. It can then run or charge normally.
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast a single spell.
    • Disbinding (★ Action) - Enemy upkeep spells and animi on this unit expire.
    • Razor Wind (★ Attack) - RNG 10, POW 12 magic attack.
    • Rituals of Power (★ Action) - While the Sorcerer is in formation, the weapons of models in his unit gain Damage Type: Magical. Lasts for one round.


Thoughts on Trollkin Sorcerer[edit]

Trollkin Sorcerer in a nutshell[edit]

The Sorcerer(s) is a utility weapon attachment that works really decently well with a number units and is superfluous on others. It clears the unit of upkeeps with Disbinding, grants magic weapons to his entire unit so they can smite incorporeal models like the feared Wraith Engine or annoying Gremlin Swarm, additionaly it serves as a simple extra body in units that rely on their body count. The sorcerer also gains any benefits granted by Tactics or Granted unit leaders or Fell Calls.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Trollkin Champions are probably the unit that can make use of one or more sorcerers. First an foremost they can spread damage around with Sanguine Bond, and the sorcerer(s) add his ARM and boxes to the pool of the unit. Secondly they have a CA that grants them several effects, Relentless Charge being the one the sorc appreciates the most. Finally, giving POW 12 weapon masters with 2 initails per model that can recieve Kriel Stone buffs magical weapons lets them deal with Wraith Engines superbly.
  • If attached to Fell Caller units such as the Sons of Bragg or Boomhowler's the Sorcer will benefit from the Fell Calls, whcih can be cute but is probably not worth it.
  • The sorcerer can cast razor wind before running to engage. This can be a useful way to set up gang for Trollkin Scouts or position for defensive line on champions.
  • Attaching a sorcerer to a krielstone lets it store an extra fury. Paying 9 pts to get 3" extra on the aura isn't exactly worthwhile, but if you need to shave 1 point off a list that contains a max stone+elder, dropping down to min stone+elder+sorcerer only loses 1" of aura.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • He can only disbind on your turn, so if the opponent can just put e.g. Parasite on the unit and wreck it in one turn, he doesn't help.
  • If your meta doesn't see much Grymkin, Cryx or Protectorate, you might not need magic weapons all that much.
  • You can't attach a Sorcerer to the following units:

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Remember you can attach 3 sorcerers to a unit (if you care to shell out the points, and the cash). There are some cheeky things that that enables, like extra durability on Champions or extra aura range on the Krielstone.
  • They can attach to the Boomhowlers (in Kriel Company), even though they're a Minion unit.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Hordes: Gargantuans (2013)

Theme Forces[edit]

Since it can be attached to any unit, it can be in every theme (so far):

Other Trollblood models[edit]

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor
Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - Champions - Fennblades - Highwaymen - Long Riders - Runeshapers - Scouts - Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer
Sons of Bragg
Solos

Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Northkin Shaman - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Trollkin Attachment

  • If a unit has a mix of base sizes (such as Dannon Blythe and Bull), then it is not a medium-sized base unit and the Sorcerer can't be attached to it. (Infernal Rulings)
  • It could hypothetically be attached to a warlock unit, but so far each warlock unit contain Pyg models so don't count as a Trollkin unit.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attachment      (Edit)

  • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
  • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you can add an Attachment to multiple unit types (such as the Soulless Escort, Trollkin Sorcerer, or Ranking Officer) then there's a few weird interactions:
    • The Attachment will benefit from any Granted abilities, and any Orders given.
    • If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
      For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
    • The Attachment can benefit from and/or trigger any "models in this unit..." style abilities that aren't actually on its card, but only if at least one model with that rule is still in play. Depending on the wording of the rule, the attachment may have restricted benefits.
      Example 1 "If a model in this unit is ... each model in the unit can ..." : an Attachment can benefit from a Vengeance move and attack. Or, conversely, its unit can get Vengeance if the attachment is killed.
      But if everyone except the Attachment is killed, the Attachment won't benefit from Vengeance.
      Example 2 "This model can ... to other models in its unit" : an Attachment can have damage assigned to it via Sanguine Bond, but if it takes damage it can't share it to the main unit.

Rules Clarification : Attachment Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combat Caster      (Edit)

  • The unit has to receive the order before you can trigger Combat Caster, so you cannot use it if you are suffering from "cannot give/receive orders" (such as the Rebuke) or a "the order does not take effect" (such as the Pandemonium Arcana)
    • The Trollkin Sorcerer can't do use it while suffering Rebuke, even though one of his abilities makes spells on his unit expire.
  • You can still move and cast a spell normally, though.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Disbinding - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Razor Wind      (Edit)

  • The text description has no in-game effect. It's just for flavour.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rituals of Power      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")