Trollkin Scouts

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Trollblood Logo.jpg Trollkin Scouts

Trollblood Unit

Trollkin Scouts stand out as rugged and resourceful in a race known for their ability to endure. These nomadic Trollkin are skilled hunters who live off the land in tight-knit communities, on the outer edges of trollkin society. They are peerless woodsmen capable of stealthily burying an axe in an enemy within the densest of forests or charging forth with a battle cry and a barrage of thrown hunting axes. When the kriels can entice their isolated cousins to join them, they gain superb hunters who excel at irregular warfare.

Basic Info

Trollkin Scouts
Missing Info
TrollScouts.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 7
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE 6
COST 10
1.7 pts each
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

Thrown Axe
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
6 1 - 11
  • Thrown - Apply any modifiers to this model's STR to the POW of this weapon.
  • Grievous Wounds - A model hit by this weapon loses Tough and cannot have damage removed from it for one round.
Axe
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
0.5 4 11
  • Grievous Wounds - A model hit by this weapon loses Tough and cannot have damage removed from it for one round.

Weapon Attachment

As with most Trollkin units, the Trollkin Scouts can take up to 3 Trollkin Sorcerers. The Sorcerer's info has been omitted for brevity.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No changes since 2019.12

Thoughts on Trollkin Scouts

Trollkin Scouts in a nutshell

Trollkin scouts are an interesting unit of skirmishers - not normally the first models the Trollbloods reach for to be their skirmish screen, but sometimes effective. Their niche is if you want a unit with Grievous Wounds to deal with tough or healing. If you want this tech they are a good way of getting it - if you don't you don't.

There is a lot of double up in their role with Northkin Raiders, scouts have less fluidity due to the set unit, slightly less durability and slightly less potential due to quick work. Scouts however have greater accuracy due to gang and their ranged attacks are easier to use with assault and hunter.

Combos & Synergies

  • Lynus & Edrea - Being able to pick columns if you have ranged grievous wounds is very strong. They also remove LOS blocking clouds, which is nice.
  • Grim2 - His feat works wonders for them: Mark Target lets them hit, Snipe extends their assault range to an impressive 19". And of course, Mortality and Mirage works well with everything.
  • Mark Target as mentioned above, so Pyg Lookouts and any solos in Kriel Company.
  • Calandra1 - She has effectively a really nice DEF buff.
  • Madrak1 - also offers a Def buff, no knockdown and a to hit buff
  • Ragnor - Pulveriser adds to both the thrown weapon and the melee attack Pow 13 followed by a boosted Pow 15 can do a lot to light warjacks and warbeasts.
  • Borka2 , Jarl Skuld and Kolgrimma are all odd choices to play in Kriel Company. But each can offer concealment to stack prowl.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Gang makes them bunch up, which causes problems.
  • Northkin Raiders are a better skirmish screen and are slightly cheaper per model (not fiscally)
  • Because they are faster and operate quite far forward they can have issue positing within the Krielstone aura. But frankly ARM 15 on SWI is a joke and they operate quite dandily without the +1 STR from the elder thanks to Gang.
  • The model with the pig does not have the Bacon rule. For shame!

Tricks & Tips

  • They have enough DEF to take the charge, although ideally they want to give the charge.
  • Run a Whelp up to whatever you want to charge RAT 7 is much better than RAT 5

Other

Trivia

Released in Forces of Hordes: Trollbloods (2010)

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General

Step 1: Declare the charge

  1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
    • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
    • If no, continue to Step 2.
  2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
    • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

Step 2: Move the charging model

  1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
    • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
    • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
  2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though).
  3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
    • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). (Infernal Ruling)
  4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you resolve "Ends Movement" effects (such as Countercharge) before the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling).
    • If something happens at this point that changes whether a model is in/out of melee range, it does not retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge or vice versa.
  5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
  6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

You can make an Assault shot even if you charged less than 3".

Step 3: Make the ranged attack

  1. The ranged attack is optional.
  2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
  3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
  4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
    • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
  5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
    • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
    • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

Step 4: If you miss

  1. If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
  2. If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, do not reroll the attack against another model. It misses completely.

Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack

  1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
  2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
    • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
    • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
  3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


Units

  • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Other

  • Warbeasts
    • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Gang and/or Gang Fighter and/or Tag Team and/or Team Effort     (Edit)

  • You can gain the Gang bonus on free strikes, but generally only the first "Ganger" will get it.
For example, if a target is engaged by two models with Gang, when it leaves the melee range of the first Ganger it suffers a free strike with the Gang bonus. Then it leaves the melee range of the second and suffers a normal free strike.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hunter      (Edit)

  • Although you ignore cover/concealment, you don't ignore "secondary" bonuses a model gets from it. For example, a model with Prowl will still gain Stealth from their concealment. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl      (Edit)

  • Whether you can trigger Prowl is a bit awkward; As long as you have concealment you can trigger Prowl ... even if the attacker ignores concealment, (such as with Hunter).
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds for LOS" (such as Bird's Eye) you get Prowl.
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds completely" (such as Alchemical Mask) you don't get Prowl. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Similar for standing in a forest.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thrown      (Edit)

  • You do not add the model's base STR to the thrown spear, just modifiers. The base STR is already included in the POW of the weapon. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.