Trollkin Long Riders

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Trollblood Logo.jpg Trollkin Long Riders

Trollblood Unit

Long riders gallop into battle as inexorably as the tide, riding thick-framed and powerfully muscled bison that pound the earth beneath thundering hooves as they charge to shatter enemy lines. The impact of these great steeds can send even titans tumbling back into the mud, all while the riders lay down deadly blows with their long-handled axes.

Basic Info

Trollkin Long Riders
Missing Info
LongRiders5man.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 7
STR
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 18
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 8 each
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE 3 / 5
COST 12 / 20
4 each
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Cavalry symbol.jpg Cavalry
  • Tough symbol.jpg Tough
  • Bull Rush (Order) - Affected models must run, charge, or make a slam power attack this activation. If an affected model makes a slam power attack, instead of resolving damage rolls using the model's STR, use the current POW of the Mount. Afer resolving a slam power attack (and Follow Up) this model can make a basic melee attack.
  • Follow Up - When this model slams an enemy model, immediately after the slam is resolved this model can advance directly toward the slammed model, up to the distance the slammed model was moved.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.

Weapons

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Trollkin Long Riders

Trollkin Long Riders in a nutshell

Long Riders are the heaviest cavalry unit in the game - and are slam-machines with their Bull Rush. Do you like slams? Then these are awesomely fun - and pretty effective in the right army.

Combos & Synergies

  • Fell Caller Hero - One is pretty much mandatory if you want to field them. Pathfinder is crucial for their large bases, lest they get bogged down by a forest or wall these tuffalos cannot charge through normall for some reason.
  • They have a specific support solo: Horthol, Long Rider Hero who gives them Line Breaker for +d6 on impact attack rolls. He is generally not considered to be worth it, but he's there.
  • Krielstone: As ever, the tough get tougher. In Storm of the North the Northkin Elder can also give them a significant speed buff.
  • Grissel Bloodsong, Fell Caller: Hoof It lets them disengage a long way so they can get that second charge.
  • Madrak Ironhide, Thornwood Chieftain: Guided Hand gives them an extra dice on attack rolls to help fish for crits on the impact. Add in Horthol to make it 4 dice to hit.
  • Madrak Ironhide, World Ender/Madrak, Great Chieftain: Blood Fury/Battle Lust gives them an extra dice for damage rolls. Because it is an additional dice this also applies to Impact rolls.
  • Horgle, the Anvil: Inviolable Resolve combined with the Krielstone makes them Arm 22, no pushes or slams, plus Solid Ground prevents knockdown. Overall a good package and they work independently of his unreliable fire schtick.
  • Pyre Troll or Slag Troll - Flaming Fists or Acidic Touch adds to melee damage, not STR, so it affects the mounts, which means it affects the Bull Rush order slams, and impact attacks. The problem? You can only ever target one per unit and if you try to put another animus on another model in the same unit, the old animus expires, as unintuitive as that is. But if you want to get one super powered slam out there, its definetly an option.
  • Dhunian Archon - She heals them when something else dies and negates damage rolls against them by sacrificing her own HP.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Expensive and big targets, just asking for a debuff to be put on them.
  • Generally not worth it if you only get a single charge out of them. If you can get two they are extremely worth it.

Tricks & Tips

  • They are also nice in scenario games, to clear zones or pretend that enemy models are allowed into your zone.


Other

Trivia

  • Released in Hordes: Evolution (2007)
  • Nickname(s): Tuffalos. Because they ride buffalos and they're tough.

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Powerful Charge  and/or Brutal Charge     (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then the attack doesn't count as a "Charge Attack" and you won't get the bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Cavalry model with no melee weapon
    • If you have a Mount weapon but no regular Melee weapon (such as the Efaarit Scout), you can still declare a charge. (Locked thread)
    • You can make Impact Attacks along the way.
    • Once you get to the charge target, however, you can't make a melee attack against it. Because you can't use the mount weapon for a charge attack, due to the way the Cavalry rules are written. (Unless you have a rule like Trampling Hooves.)
    • If you don't charge, the mount attack can be used as an initial melee attack.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bull Rush      (Edit)

  • You cannot slam your own models.
  • You cannot make impact attacks if you declare a slam.
  • If charging, make the charge movement and impact attacks normally.
  • Unlike Impact Attacks, slam attacks are resolved at the same time as charge attacks. PP Rules Forum
  • See also the general clarifications on slams.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Follow Up      (Edit)

  • If the target is killed by the slam damage, Follow Up cannot trigger because there is no model to move toward left on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you slam your target through smaller-based models, then you can only advance as far as those models - you can't walk through them.
  • You can use Follow Up on any kind of Slam (such as Smite), not just on a Power Attack Slam.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Slam      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

  • If you slam someone via a Power Attack the distance they move depends on relative base sizes.
If you slam someone via a weapon or spell, the distance they move will be as per that weapon's/spell's rules text. Sometimes it doesn't depend on base size.
  • Obstacles stop slams, but they don't stop throws.
Obstructions stop both.
  • If three models are B2B and in a triangle formation, and you slam one toward the other two, it will contact both those two models simultaneously. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can add model special rules (such as Gang) to the damage roll.

Power Attack Slam

  • You don't add any special rules on your model, unless it specifically refers to Power Attack Slam (such as Hard Head)
  • You can use an "any time" ability after resolving the slam movement but before the slam attack roll. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The range of a Power Attack Slam is irrespective of your weapon range:
    • A Power Attack Slam made by a colossal or gargantuan has a 2˝ melee range.
    • A Power Attack Slam made by any other model has a 0.5˝ melee range.
  • You can boost the damage roll.

Weapon Slam (ie Smite)

  • You use the weapon's full P+S, not the attacker's base STR.
  • You can add weapon special rules (such as Weapon Master) to the damage roll.
  • You can boost the damage roll (and if you charged, it is auto-boosted).


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
    • Some end-of-activation abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
    Whether it is explicit it or not, it is the last thing you can do for the activation. You can not do a different "at any time" ability during or after triggering an end-of-activation ability. You cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
    For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
    • If you start resolving an end-of-activation-movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's end-of-activation-movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one end-of-activation ability, you have to choose which one to resolve, then your activation ends and you cannot use the other one.
    • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.