Troll Impaler

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1341 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Trollblood Logo.jpg Troll Impaler

Trollblood Light Warbeast

Pitching enormous spears with bone-crushing force, impalers are the living ballistae of the trolls. Each carries a quiver of massive wood-and-iron projectiles bearing only the most basic resemblance to the puny twigs smaller races call spears. These savage implements obliterate men and knock even the greatest beasts off their feet.

Basic Info

Troll Impaler
Missing Info
TrollImpaler.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 9
MAT 5
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 17
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 9
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 9
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

  • Assault symbol.jpg Assault
  • Regeneration [d3] - This model can be forced to remove d3 damage points once per activation. This model cannot use Regeneration during an activation it runs.
  • Follow Up - When this model slams an enemy model, immediately after the slam is resolved this model can advance directly toward the slammed model, up to the distance the slammed model was moved.
  • Set Defense - A model in this model's front arc suffers -2 on charge, slam power attack, and impact attack rolls against this model.

Weapons

  • Thrown Spear - 8" range, POW 13 ranged attack
    • Critical Smite - On a critical hit, the model hit can be slammed d6" directly away from this model. If the model hit has a larger base than the attacking model, it is moved only half the distance rolled. The POW of collateral damage is equal to the STR of this model.
    • Powerful Attack - When attacking with this weapon, this model can spend 1 fury point to boost all attack and damage rolls for the attack.
    • Thrown - Apply any modifiers to this model's STR to the POW of this weapon.
  • Battle Spear - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee attack

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Far Strike

1 SELF - - Turn No
The spellcaster's ranged weapons gain Snipe. Far Strike lasts for one turn.
Snipe - This attack gains +4 RNG.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2020.11 Vengeance of Dhunia CID

  • Points cost down to 9 (from 11)
  • Gains +1 RAT
  • Gains Follow Up and Assault
  • Thrown Spear gained Powerful Attack

Thoughts on Troll Impaler

Troll Impaler in a nutshell

The Troll Impaler is a troll that throws spears at people and is a solid single shot ranged option. When using him in a journeyman league, Stack pulverizer and rage from the mauler for a nice POW 18 range 8 attack. With a follow up melee attack. Boost the shot on a charge due to the combination of powerful attack and assault if you slam your target they will hopefully be knocked down or you will follow up into other models.

Before the Vengeance of Dhunia CID these warbeasts where regarded as one of the least cost effective models in the game, many guides from that time will suggest upgrading to the Dire Troll Bomber ASAP if you need the animus and taking an Ice Troll if you don’t need snipe. Now the Impailer sits in a nice middle ground between these 2 beasts, With more emphasis on full on aggression than either of them, it wants to be charging as often as possible, this will put it into danger but at the same time create interesting threat vectors your opponent won’t expect.

Combos & Synergies

  • Gunnbjorn1 - Killshot lets it Strike even deeper, you may get follow up twice a turn. Guides Fire isn’t necessary but comes in handy if you need to go light on Fury.
  • Jarl Skuld - Swift Hunter is handy as always and if your charge targets dies to the assault shot you cna just use swift hunter to move into melle with somethign else so your activation does not end (a charge only fails if you are not engaged in melee after moving).
    • The Dire Troll Mauler's animus and the Kriel Stone provide said strengh buff. Just keep in mind it cannot Far Strike itself if you use Rage on it.
    • Ragnor can put pulverizer on it
  • Dhunian Knot - A boost and a reroll give you decent-ish odds of rolling a critical.
  • Helga1 and Helga2 both have ways of fixing its atrocious MAT value.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Ranged knockdown just gets shaken by beasts or jacks and is overkill against infantry.
    • Its weaponry suffers the same sort of problem. Murdering infantry and not doing much to harder targets.
  • It shares an animus with the Dire Troll Bomber is arguably the best warbeast in the faction. If you just need the animus you will always be better off with the real deal, rather than the cheap knock off with assault.
  • MAT 5 does not provide adequate melee capability on turns it does not charge. On turns it does charge you are reliant on the knockdown provided by the slam. Crit fixing models like Calandra (feat) and Dhunian Knot help mitigate this.
  • If you want a ranged light just go for the Pyre Troll or Ice Troll.

Tricks & Tips

  • Try to line up the slams.
  • You may slam knocked down models.
  • You can use Follow Up on a Critical Smite, not just on a Power Attack Slam.
  • Far Strike and Boosting the gun only leave you one more point of fury before it is fully topped of. Consider whether you want to charge, or reload for an unboosted shot, or if you'd rather have a transfer for your warlock (in which case you should nothave it generate more than 2 fury points.

Other

Trivia

Released way back in Primal Mk1 (2006)

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Powerful Attack      (Edit)

  • You must declare whether you're using Powerful Attack before making any attack rolls. You can't try and mix-and-match it to avoid friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)
  • It has to be declared at the attack stage. If you choose not to use it on attack rolls, you can't trigger it on damage rolls. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your attack auto-misses, such as an AOE vs Stealth, then you can declare it after deviation but before making damage rolls. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The Powerful Attack bonus doesn't apply to "secondary" damage such as Magic Bullet or Electro Leap.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Smite      (Edit)

  • This rule changed in Mk3 to no longer say it "adds the weapon's POW". It still does add the POW, however, because the whole section on calculating Slam damage was reworded in the main rulebook.
  • Smite is not a Power Attack Slam, it is just an attack which causes a model to be slammed. As such, you can smite friendly models.
  • You can trigger Critical Smite on a free strike.
  • If you Smite on a charge, then the slam damage will be boosted.
  • Chain Attack Smite only - Unlile the other versions of Smite, a Chain Attack one doesn't have the distance halved when a smaller base model smites a larger. The Knights Exemplar Seneschal is just that awesome.
  • See also the clarifications on being slammed
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thrown      (Edit)

  • You do not add the model's base STR to the thrown spear, just modifiers. The base STR is already included in the POW of the weapon. (Locked thread)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation.
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
  • If a frenzying warbeast has two melee weapons with the same POW, it can choose which one to use. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General

Step 1: Declare the charge

  1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
    • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
    • If no, continue to Step 2.
  2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
    • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

Step 2: Move the charging model

  1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
    • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
    • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
  2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though).
  3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
    • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). (Infernal Ruling)
  4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you resolve "Ends Movement" effects (such as Countercharge) before the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling).
    • If something happens at this point that changes whether a model is in/out of melee range, it does not retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge or vice versa.
  5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
  6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

You can make an Assault shot even if you charged less than 3".

Step 3: Make the ranged attack

  1. The ranged attack is optional.
  2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
  3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
  4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
    • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
  5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
    • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
    • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

Step 4: If you miss

  1. If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
  2. If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, do not reroll the attack against another model. It misses completely.

Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack

  1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
  2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
    • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
    • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
  3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


Units

  • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Other

  • Warbeasts
    • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).

Rules Clarification : Regeneration - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Follow Up      (Edit)

  • If the target is killed by the slam damage, Follow Up cannot trigger because there is no model to move toward left on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you slam your target through smaller-based models, then you can only advance as far as those models - you can't walk through them.
  • You can use Follow Up on any kind of Slam (such as Smite), not just on a Power Attack Slam.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Slam      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

  • If you slam someone via a Power Attack the distance they move depends on relative base sizes.
If you slam someone via a weapon or spell, the distance they move will be as per that weapon's/spell's rules text. Sometimes it doesn't depend on base size.
  • The range of a slam Power Attack is irrespective of your weapon range:
    • A slam power attack made by a colossal or gargantuan has a 2˝ melee range.
    • A slam power attack made by any other model has a 0.5˝ melee range.
  • Obstacles stop slams, but they don't stop throws.
Obstructions stop both.
  • If three models are B2B and in a triangle formation, and you slam one toward the other two, it will contact both those two models simultaneously. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can use an "any time" ability after resolving the slam movement but before the slam attack. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Far Strike      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Snipe      (Edit)

  • Although Snipe the spell and Snipe the Attack Type are two different "sources", they are multiple instances of the same effect. As such, they're not cumulative. Refer to the "Rule Priority" section of the core rulebook.
  • Snipe does not affect the range of weapons that use the Spray template, or one's which have RNG = CTRL.