Triumph

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1217 articles and 91% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Baldwin (one year review) Vanguard (one year review)


Cygnar Logo.jpg Triumph

Cygnar Character Heavy Warjack

Triumph is the culmination of centuries of Cygnaran technological development. Made to the specifications of Major Markus “Siege” Brisbane, Triumph is armed with a massive cannon that can strike enemy warcasters with a sniper’s precision or rain explosive-tipped death down on the heads of opposing infantry and warjacks. Triumph is an artillerist’s dream and a nightmare to Cygnar’s foes.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Triumph
Missing Info
Triumph.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 7
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 18 / 20 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 30
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 18
N/A
N/A
FA C
(★) 20 with the Shield
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Bond [Siege] - If Triumph begins the game in Siege's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. Triumph is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While Triumph is bonded to Siege and in their control range, Triumph gains boosted ranged attack damage rolls.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
  • Rapid Fire - This model can make one basic ranged attack during your Maintenance Phase.
  • Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.
  • True Sight - This model ignores cloud effects when determining LOS. This model also ignores Stealth.

Weapons

  • Heavy Barrel - 16" range, POW 15 gun
  • Assault Shield - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
    • Shield - This weapon is a shield that gives the model a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. A model does not gain this bonus while the weapon system with the shield is crippled or when resolving damage that originates in its back arc.

Theme Forces

When taken by Siege

When taken by anyone else

Recent Changes

No changes since 2017


Thoughts on Triumph

Triumph in a nutshell

Triumph is a further amplified, ranged specialist version of the Defender - it carries a shield rather than a hammer and in return gets an extra shot and Shield Guard and can shoot models with Stealth. It also has magical ranged attacks by default, which can turn around a lot of bad match-ups against enemies with Incorporeal models. If you are looking for an armored turret that can shield guard (as opposed to the rather less armored Hunter) it's what you are looking for.

Unlike most bonded character warjacks, he can be taken in a theme force (Gravediggers) by warcasters other than Siege.

Combos & Synergies

Triumph is pretty self contained and does what it does well. Little need for support, but shines as part of a team thanks to shield guard.

  • Siege's bond with Triumph is awesome, giving it boosted damage on the rapid fire attack (something normally not possible). It also makes Triumph very Focus-efficient as fully boosting its in-activation attack only costs the power-up focus. For this reason Triumph in competitive play is normally used by Siege.
    • Major Markus 'Siege' Brisbane - Siege1 wants as much boosted damage rolls from his army on feat turn as he can get. Triumph brings 2 with rapid fire (which doesn't take advantage of his feat) and his bond.
    • Siege2 only has his maul and Battering Ram to damage incorporeal targets, which is even more of a problem in his normal Gravediggers theme. Triumph covers this weakness.
  • Trenchers in general have trouble with high ARM targets in their Gravediggers theme force, and are pretty low on magical weapons. 2 POW 15 shots per turn can help you out, and let you to use Aiyana's abilities (when given a ranking officer) for damage boosting instead of handing out magic weapons.
    • Thankfully Siege2 is the probably second best warcaster for Gravediggers (second only to Haley3), so Triumph can get his bond for boosted damage rolls. Combined with Fury, ARM will not be a problem for such a Gravediggers list.
  • Can protect more fragile models while/until they can they do some damage. Basically, take it when you want to protect something that will likely be out in the open and don't mind investing in some extra ranged power. Pairing a Charger or Firefly with the Triumph would be the basic and quite versatile version of this tactic. Triumph can potentially force enemies to close in, so consider taking with melee oriented guards. You can also get a little more exotic and bring a Hunter for a tough dedicated sniper group, a Grenadier for a siege bombardment group, or a Minuteman for a strong one-two punch group. Adding an Avenger or Reliant makes a group that can be tough to approach.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model. Not pnly that, but he's actually an "upgrade kit" and you need to buy a normal Defender model for the main body, legs, etc.
  • The rapid fire shot can't be boosted, making it a lot less effective than a simple ROF 2 would be or than Triumph appears. Of course it now costs little more than a Defender.
  • Triumph is more expensive than a Defender despite having almost no melee game - and remember that the hammer hits harder than a gun so Triumph doesn't get the work done of a Defender.
    • On the flip side, thanks to Dual Attack jamming models won't hamper Triumph's ranged capacity as much as the Defender's.
  • He has one of the worst primary melee weapons on any heavy. Mostly because it's not a "real" primary weapon - Triumph doesn't have one of those.

Tricks & Tips

  • Make use of that Shield Guard and the out-of-activation shoot. It is all too easy to forget it -especially for new players.
  • He's a great tool into Grymkin. The combination of True Sight and a magical gun stops Gremlin Swarms shutting down your scenario game.
  • Thanks to dual attack, Triumph has the option of trampling forward to gain an effective extra 3" on his ranged attack.
  • Slam a model to knock it down then shoot it.

Other

Trivia

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Caine0 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • You can't use Dual Attack with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
    • If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rapid Fire      (Edit)

  • You can't boost Rapid Fire shots, since you can only boost during your activation. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model with Rapid Fire has different Attack Types, it can choose which to Attack Type to use for the Maintenance Phase shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model's attacks gain an effect "when this model activates" (such as the Blightbringer), then those effects won't apply to the Maintenance Phase shot. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Guard and/or Shadow Guardian     (Edit)

  • You can't use this ability vs spells.
  • You shift all effects onto the new model, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use this ability vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • This ability doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
  • Shield Guard only
    • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
    • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
    • The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : True Sight      (Edit)

  • You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.