Trencher Long Gunners

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Cygnar Logo.jpg

Trencher Long Gunners
Cygnar Trencher Unit
Officer
Command Attachment

To the trenchers, the staccato crack of rifle fire represents the familiar tempo of war. Trained in the use of repeating long rifles, Trencher Long Gunners provide their comrades in the corps with dedicated long-range fire support. These troops single out their targets and rain bullets on them from afar, cutting down ranks of enemy infantry with each fusillade.

Basic Info

Trencher Long Gunners
Missing Info
T. Long Gunners.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 6
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +1CA
COST 11 / 18 +4CA
2.0 each
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Entire Unit

  • Combined Ranged Attack - This unit can combine their ranged attacks to get a cumulative +1 bonus on accuracy and damage for each model involved.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Dual Shot - If a model with Dual Shot uses its Normal Movement to aim, it can make one additional ranged attack this activation.

Officer only

  • He has +1 MAT, RAT, & CMD. He has 5 hitpoints.
  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Go to Ground (Minifeat) - Once per game, models in this unit can gain cover and immunity to blast damage and will not block LOS for one round. The effect on each model ends after one round or if that model moves or is placed or engaged.
  • Granted: Precision Fire - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Precision Fire. (Precision Fire - Models in this unit can reroll ranged attack damage rolls.)
  • Tactics: Marksman - Models in this unit gain Marksman. (Marksman - When damaging a warjack/warbeast with a ranged attack, the attacker chooses which column/branch takes the damage. )

Weapons

Entire Unit

  • Repeating Long Gun - 14" range, POW 10 gun
  • Trench Knife - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Trencher Long Gunners

Trencher Long Gunners in a nutshell

Trencher Long Gunners are a ranged support unit capable of unleashing enormous volumes of firepower on the enemy. These troops are not cheap at 18 points or 22 with the CA which should definitely be taken.

They are most efficient when aiming to cut down hordes of infantry, with two man CRAs they will reliably hit defense 15 and break armor 18 on average dice. This means they can pretty much slaughter most shield wall infantry. Against more heavily armored units, they are going to suffer, but they will still manage to put in very meaningful damage into the targets. With large CRAs and Marksman they can snipe out systems and branches on warjacks and beasts. However, as effective as this may be, enemies might bait you into using large CRAs to do this because in terms of pure efficiency they probably should not be using too many of their shots on well armored target if it can be helped.

Hopefully you should be able to shoot any melee units threatening these models before they become a problem by taking advantage of your excellent range. Against other ranged units, choose a critical turn and use the Go-To-Ground minifeat to ensure that next turn your Trencher Long Gunners are relatively unscathed by enemy fire.

In context of themes, they will work well with other Trenchers units allowing Commandos and the more versatile infantry to slow the enemy down while they keep pouring on the fire. Anson Hitch allows them to shoot through their own models expanding their LOS. Express Teams can ensure any damage they deal to larger enemies remains. The Patrol Dog ensures the enemy cannot trivially avoid their damage through use of stealth. Maxwell Finn’s veteran leader allows for them to hit even more accurately, although that might borderline on serious overkill.

The important take away is that Trencher Long Gunners have arguably more fire power than any other unit in Cygnar. They are expensive enough that you will have to deal some serious damage.

Combos & Synergies

  • Between Precision Fire and Combined Ranged Attack, you can start targeting Warbeasts' spirit or Warjacks' Cortex columns. Completely cripple them by applying Grievous Wounds through a Trencher Express Team or Caine2.
  • Finding it hard to get off that 2nd shot? Use them with a Snipe warcaster or Siege2's feat.
  • Hitch can, and probably should, hand them Target Priority to ward off any low rolls when using Combined Ranged Attack.

Drawbacks & Downsides

These models are extremely vulnerable to melee. If seriously engaged by enemies, the unit is probably lost.

This unit is strangely vulnerable to covering fire template. An opponent can drop a template straight on top of them forcing them to move making them lose the benefit of the dual shot. If the enemy has access to these abilities, keep spread out enough to avoid losing all your dual shots.

Tricks & Tips

Tactician only works for Trenchers, which can lead to other models blocking their line of sight instead. If you're taking Grenadiers, who are typically further forward due to their shorter range, make sure they are dug in. The larger based model would normally block the Long Gunners' line of sight to small or medium based models - If the Grenadier is dug in, it does not block line of sight.

If your opponent's ranged game is weak and you don’t need to use Go to Ground defensively, or you need to deal enough damage and are desperate enough to need to do it, you can use the minifeat as a means of getting around your own line of sight problems because dug in models do not block it.

Other

Trivia

Originally released in the Trencher CID (2017.06)

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Caine0 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack      (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee ... unless the target is a huge-based model or the attacker has War-Tempered.
  • If you give the attack-leader a buff to their attack (such as Guidance) then that buff applies to the combined attack (even though the other participants don't have the buff). (Locked thread)
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Shot      (Edit)

  • You can't Aim if you start your activation in melee. So you will never benefit from Dual Shot, even if you have Gunfighter and/or your squad mates disengage you before you start your Combat Action.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Go to Ground      (Edit)

  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

    • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
    • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.

    Rules Clarification : Precision Fire - None yet. (Edit)

    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Marksman and/or Precision Strike     (Edit)

    • These abilities do not get around Retribution Force Fields. The attacker's ability assigns it to a column, and Force Field reassigns it.
    • Versus a Colossal or Gargantuan, you don't get to choose which grid is damaged. That is still governed by which Firing Arc the attacker is standing in.
    • Attacker chooses column vs Defender chooses column (Edit)
      • When both the attacker and defender have an ability that lets them choose the column that gets damaged, the attacker gets to choose. (Infernal Ruling)


    Wrench symbol.png

    Note to Editors
    To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here