Trencher Commandos

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1297 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Cygnar Logo.jpg

Trencher Commandos
Cygnar Trencher Unit
Weapon Attachment
Command Attachment

Forged during years of warfare in some of the most brutal fighting in all the Iron Kingdoms, the toughest soldiers of the Trenchers are singled out for special training. These commandos must master a variety of skills that include camouflage and covert unit coordination in addition to the deadly knife fighting techniques that are their trademark. In battle they crawl to the very edge of no man’s land to silently neutralize enemy scouts and snipers and disappear back into the woods without a trace.

A coordinated commando assault supported by grenades and scatterguns rapidly turns units of enemy of soldiers into ground meat.

Masters of covert operations, sabotage, and targeted elimination behind enemy lines, the officers of the trencher commandos are the best of the best. These officers lead squads of commandos on the most dangerous and sensitive assignments, where their paramount goal is always simple: complete the mission at any cost.

Basic Info

Trencher Commandos
Missing Info
Trencher Commandos.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
STR {{{str}}}
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 13
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +1CA +0 to 2 WA
COST 10 / 15 +5CA +2 per WA
1.6 each (base unit)
1.9 each (max attachments)
FA 2
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Officer only
    • He has +1 MAT, RAT, CMD, and 5 hitpoints
    • Officer symbol.jpg Officer
    • Granted: Reposition [3"] - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Reposition [3"]. (Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.)
    • Tactics: Quick Work - Models in this unit gain Quick Work. (Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one basic ranged attack.)
    • Mission Objective [ Minifeat ] - Once per game at any time during its activation, choose an enemy model/unit in the Officer's LOS. This activation the Commandos gain +2 to attack and damage rolls against that chosen model/unit.


  • Leader, Grunts, & Officer
    • Carbine - 10" range, POW 10 gun.
    • Grenade - 6" range, 3" AOE, POW 12 gun.
      • Cumbersome - This model cannot attack with this weapon and with another weapon on the same activation.
    • Trench Knife - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon
  • Scattergunner
    • Scatter Gun - 8" Spray, POW 12 gun
    • Trench Knife - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No changes since 2017

Thoughts on the Trencher Commandos

Weapon Attachment

Trencher Commandos in a nutshell

Trencher Commandos are something of a toolbox unit. They're capable of taking on light infantry with their carbines and light jacks/heavy infantry with their grenades if enough of them can get into range. They're also a great counter to units such as Widowmaker Scouts, which have no natural ability to deal with Stealth.

Thoughts on adding the WA

Scattergunners aren't that different from their common bretheren, except for the fact that they got a shot gun. Which should be more than enough reason to consider adding as many of them as possible, especially with the CA since it gives them Quick Work and Mission Objective. They can charge in, kill a model thanks to anatomical precision and lay down some spray templates to absolutely shred infantry.

Thoughts on adding the CA

As if Cygnar needed more ways to massacre single box infantry - but the CA is very very good at that, especially combined with the Scattergunners. Reposition's great on a stealth unit - and if you're expecting a lot of enemies then quick work with rifles or scatter guns can create a hell of a mess in the enemy's back line. The commando grenades are well suited to dealing damage to multi-box infantry or to light warjacks/warbeasts when combined with the CA's Mission Objective.

Combos & Synergies

  • If you're taking Commandos, you will probably want to take Captain Maxwell Finn. Not only is he an unholy terror by himself, your Commandos become effective MAT8 as a result. RAT7 sprays from the Scatter Gunners makes their ranged output very nasty, too.
  • Both of the iterations of Siege work wonders with the Commandos.
    • Colonel Markus 'Siege' Brisbane extends their threat radius immensely via Desperate Pace and his feat, effectively turning the Commandos into SPD11 models.
      • Fury also mitigates their subpar melee damage vs non-living or multi-wound models. Stealth also means the DEF penalty is less of an issue as they close on the enemy.
      • The feat-created Dig In is also nice for their survivability, although they generally prefer it for the threat extension.
    • While Major Markus 'Siege' Brisbane doesn't add much to their threat radius, under his feat they hit like trucks. POW14 grenades and Scatterguns are far more scary when they can damage an ARM20 model at dice plus four.
  • Captain Allison Jakes gives them a surprise boost during her feat, making their melee weapons RNG2.
  • Captain Allister Caine as with all Trencher units, can keep them from being knocked down when they succeed Tough checks.
  • Captain Jeremiah Kraye Countermeasure turns them into anti range monsters. With Stealth preventing shooting over a distance of 5 inches or greater, Countermeasure prevents shooting over a distance of less the 5 inches. This makes them screen/jamb much harder then most units.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They're a special order model.
  • Pretty contested position in the only theme force they're allowed so far:
    • They're very short ranged, on par with the regular Trencher Infantry, while having one less POW on their rifle.
    • You must get pretty close to use their grenades if you want your target dead or you may have no commandos left next turn. Discounting the blast damages from AoEs, Trencher Long Gunners can dish out the same amount of POW12 shots with 2-men CRAs and dual attack.
    • Their high cost, average speed and short melee range won't denote them as a good jamming unit either. Regular Trenchers out-threat them with their 1" melee range.
  • Anatomical Precision has no impact on Undead models, or the Construct infantries of the Convergence.
  • They're reliant on Stealth and terrain to keep them alive - their base DEF and ARM are not hard to get through for most units in the game. If you are up against models with True Sight or Eyeless Sight, your Commandos will not last long.
  • Their short melee range means it can be hard to get the charge on to their main prey - high ARM - single wound, Tough infantry.
  • No Take Up or anything on the Scattergunner
  • The addition of Quick Work from the CA doesn't allow you to throw grenades since they are Cumbersome.

Tricks & Tips

Command Attachment
  • Anatomical Precision means they're great against high ARM, single box infantry. But with the low melee range of their trench knives, you may have to use some of the unit to absorb a charge and then attack with the rest of the unit in your next turn.
  • Anatomical Precision also gives Tough units such as trollkin pause for thought.
  • Position the Scattergunners throughout the unit to make it harder for your opponent to take them out without either getting into melee or putting his units squarely in your commandos' threat range.
  • Between AoE shots, templates, Reposition and occasionally Quick Work, this unit can eat up your death clock pretty fast. Practice accordingly.
  • Remember AoE deviation rules, as a point blank thrown grenade cannot deviate far enough to not hit your target.
  • Charge as much Commandos into a target as possible (with the right positioning you can get 5 of them into melee with a heavy), then reposition away to make room for a flanking Trench Buster to finish the target off.



Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

Battlegroup Controllers: Caine0 - Nemo4 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)


Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures

Nemo4 - Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse

Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.02

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Cumbersome - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • If you attach a WA or CA to this unit, and the attachment doesn't have Advance Deployment, then they all get to Advance Deploy anyway. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blight Storm and/or Anatomical Precision and/or Affliction     (Edit)

  • With an AOE, only the model directly hit by the AOE will take auto-damage, other models in the AOE take normal damage.
  • You don't get auto-damage on stuff which isn't an attack, like Electro Leap and Flak Field.
  • If someone is immune to damage, you can't trigger the auto-damage vs them. Because you never got a damage roll in the first place. (Infernal Ruling)
  • When this ability is triggered by a spell (ie Blight Storm or Affliction) then that does not change the source of the damage to the caster, nor change the damage type to magical.
    It merely changes the result of a damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mission Objective      (Edit)

  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the WA's tagged abilities, Click here

To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here