Toro

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Mercenary Logo.jpg CG Logo.png Toro

Mercenary, & Crucible Guard "Partisan", Ordic Heavy Warjack

Crucible Arms has taken over the production of the Ordic Toro chassis, an aggressive workhorse heavy warjack armed with sword and shield that has fought with the Ordic Army for decades. As a part of the Crucible’s agreements with Ord’s king, Crucible Arms now produces Toros in number, as well as variants outfitted with proprietary weapons better suited to the methods by which these alchemists wage war.

Basic Info

Toro
Missing Info
Toro.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 11
ARM 18 / 20 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 30
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 13
N/A
N/A
FA U
(★) 20 with the Shield
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Maker's Mark [Crucible Guard] - This warjack can be included in a battlegroup controlled by a Crucible Guard model. If it is, this warjack is a Crucible Guard model instead of a Mercenary model. If this warjack begins the game as part of a battlegroup controlled by a Crucible Guard model, it can be included in an army made using a theme force whether or not it can normally be included in armies made using the theme force.

Weapons

  • Shield - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
    • Shield - This weapon is a shield that gives the model a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. A model does not gain this bonus while the weapon system with the shield is crippled or when resolving damage that originates in its back arc.
  • Sword - 2" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions

Thoughts on Toro

Toro in a nutshell

The Toro is a basic line heavy developed by the Ordic military. Production of the Toro for the Ordic military has since been taken up by the Order of the Golden Crucible. There is nothing fancy about the Toro. It is meant to be a combat capable, albeit simple, heavy warjack. In Crucible Guard it serves as the basic heavy hitter to apply high damage attacks. In Mercenaries, it is a slightly more durable Nomad that has a slightly worse offensive output and will catch careless opponents off guard with Countercharge. It is one of a very few effectively ARM 20 heavy warjacks with SPD 5 alongside the Rover and Triumph. It compares favorably to most 13 point heavies. It has been the most popular mercenary heavy in high level lists since the Nomad went up to 12 points in March 2019, and in Crucible Guard it is one of the two most popular heavies (alongside the Suppressor)

Combos & Synergies

Crucible Guard

Mercenaries

  • Ashlynn d'Elyse also provides Admonition and the Toro has just the right stats to benefit immensly from her feat. She also needs something that hits hard. A match made in Urcaen!
  • Although DEF 11 is still really low, the extra +1 DEF over a Nomad can make all the difference if you have a caster that makes models harder to hit. Such as Ashlynn or Fiona.
  • Magnus the Warlord grants it Unyielding for ARM 22 against melee attacks
  • Magnus the Traitor can make him hard to kill with deathward, or make sure his charge attacks connect with Iron Agression.
  • Captain Bartolo Montador can push its resilience further with Batten Down the Hatches.
  • Fiona's Befuddle spell can trigger countercharge, giving it massive threat extension and a free charge.

Drawbacks and Downsides

  • An experienced opponent will just try to jam the Toro up to render countercharge moot. Which leaves it as a POW 18 ARM 20 warjack.

Tricks and Tips

  • To get the most out of Countercharge try to position the Toro in a place where it can charge while also making it hard for enemy chaff to block it.

Other

Trivia

Beta rule released in the Crucible Guard CID (2018.03), final rules released with the Faction (2018.06)

Who can take this warjack

When used in a Crucible Guard battlegroup, it works like a normal CG warjack.

When used as a Mercenary model, it must be controlled by one of the Mercenary controllers listed below.

Oddly, it can be used as a Mercenary model within a CG force.

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

Non-Casters "Junior Warcaster" Crosse1 'Jack Marshal

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw

Note: Other restrictions may apply (such as 'Jack Marshals can't control Colossals).

Other Faction models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

Non-Casters "Junior Warcaster" Crosse1 'Jack Marshal

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire (2) - Alexia, The Undying (3) - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella, Duchess of Dread - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler, Solo Artist - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios (1) - Eiryss, Angel of Retribution (2) - Eiryss, Fortune Hunter of Ios (4) - First Mate Hawk - Flugwug the Filcher - Gastone Crosse - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist (1) - Gorman the Mad (2) - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin - Gudrun the Wanderer - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Viktor Pendrake - Widget, Tinker Extraordinaire - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2019.09
CG Logo.png       Crucible Guard Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Baldwin - Locke - Lukas - Mackay - Syvestro

Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (Crucible) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Prospero (BGC)
Light Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard
Heavy Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator
Colossal Vulcan
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Solos

CG Mechanik - Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist (1) - Gorman the Mad (2) - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - Prospero - Rocketman Ace - Trancer

Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
Theme Forces
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Crucible Guard Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Triggering Countercharge
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • Some abilities let you "ignore intervening models when declaring a charge" (such as Flight). Unfortunately, you still need LOS to trigger Countercharge, and it's only after CC is triggered that you actually get to declare a charge. In other words, Flight and Countercharge don't work together for LOS purposes.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
    • Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
  • Countercharge within your own activation ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation, but only if an enemy model somehow triggers their own move. For instance, you move towards a model with Admonition and they trigger that to try to move away. (You do a normal move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge from their admonition-move.)
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge). (Infernal Ruling)
      This ruling still applies even after the 2018.07 update (Infernal Re-ruling)
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Maker's Mark      (Edit)

  • The benefit doesn't apply to Jack Marshals, because marshals don't have battlegroups.
  • Locke can't take Maker Marked warjacks in Convergence because of the wording of her Divided Loyalties rule.
  • Lukas can't take Maker Marked warjacks in Hearts of Darkness. (Infernal Ruling)