Thorn

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Cygnar Logo.jpg Thorn

Cygnar Character Light Warjack

Haley's very favorite robot, an artifact from her first days as a warcaster, has been endlessly refitted, rebuilt, and upgraded with the most advanced arc node technology available to Cygnaran military science.

Basic Info

Thorn
Missing Info
Thorn.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 9
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 16 / 18 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 26
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 13
N/A
N/A
FA C
(★) 18 with the Shield
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
  • Bond [Haley] - If this model begins the game in Haley's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Haley and in their control range, Haley can channel spells through it as if it were not engaged.
  • Dodge - When an enemy misses this model with an attack at any time except when it is advancing, this model can immediately advance 2" ignoring free strikes.
  • Reaction Drive - Thorn can advance 3" once per turn immediately after a spell is arced through him.
  • Set Defense - A model in this model's front arc suffers -2 on charge, slam power attack, and impact attack rolls against this model.

Weapons

  • Disruption Spear - 2" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
    • Disruption - A warjack hit will lose all focus points. It also can't gain focus or channel spells for one round.
  • Shock Shield - 0.5" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.
    • Shield - This weapon is a shield that gives the model a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. A model does not gain this bonus while the weapon system with the shield is crippled or when resolving damage that originates in its back arc.
    • Cortex Damage - When a warjack is hit by this weapon, it suffers 1 damage point to its first available Cortex system box.
    • Shock Field - If a warjack hits this model, after the attack that warjack suffers a point of damage to its cortex.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Thorn

Thorn in a nutshell

Thorn is an upgraded Lancer, and does all of its duties plus more ... for a trivial number of extra points. Reaction Drive can change charge vectors and act as a straight threat extender, which you can double up on if you arc spells such as Telekinesis through its Arc Node. Dodge turns it into an utter nuisance, especially when you consider that Set Defense makes it quite hard to hit for most models without boosting.

Its bond with Haley means that her assassination runs can be very hard to stop, particular with Major Victoria Haley and her Telekinesis shenanigans.

Compared to a Lancer, Thorn gains:

  • Extra melee hitting power: extra MAT, extra POW, and disruption on its spear.
  • Extra mobility: the Reaction Drive and Dodge speed it up and help it get odd places.
  • Extra survivability: Dodge means that if anyone misses an attack in melee against it it just walks out of combat and the other attacks are wasted.

Combos & Synergies

  • Before Theme forces started to dominate the game, Thorn was a no-brainer "upgrade" for anyone's Lancer who wanted to arc a spell with any sort of regularity. If you still happen to play outside theme forces, that is still true.
  • If you play theme forces, Thorn can work well with any iteration of Victoria Haley. Since it can channel even when engaged, almost any of their spells, particularly the offensive ones, are a serious threat to the enemy.
    • Haley2 and Haley3 - DEF buffs increase the chance of activating Dodge.
    • Consider casting Evasive Action from Arlan. If the enemy gets a bead on you, Thorn gets its 2" move, whether or not they'll hit.
    • Telekinesis and Domination can foul up any attempts by enemy Warjacks to stand in your way.
    • As ever, Arcane Shield is a good pick. Thorn is a big and important target in Haley's battlegroup.
  • Strangewayes - Free Focus is always nice, but the more interesting tool in his box is Evasive Action. Using it in conjunction with Dodge will ensure that if the enemy fires at Thorn, you get to move, no matter if they hit or miss.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It is disallowed in the theme forces for everyone but Haley. Outside themes, when compared to a Lancer, there are virtually no downsides.

Tricks & Tips

  • It is one of only two non-warcaster models in faction with straight disruption (the other being the lightning pod on the stormwall). All the other sources are critical disruption. Use this to your advantage.
  • Reaction Drive has a few uses:
    • Move it forward, arc a spell through it then use the move to get out of charge range or into a defensive position.
    • Arc a spell through it first and use it as a threat extender for Thorn's own charge or to arc a further spell through it that has a shorter range.
    • Haley2 in particular can do all of this while Thorn is engaged, potentially putting it deep into enemy lines.
    • Even if your Warcaster doesn't have any offensive spells you want to cast, Arcing a support spell through Thorn onto a friendly unit or even Thorn itself is a good way to activate Reaction Drive.
      • Arcing Telekinesis adds 5" to its movement between the two effects. In a straight line, it can engage nearly any unit, even cavalry from outside of their threat range.
  • Watch out for targeted system destruction; models with the Marksman/Precision Strike rule will decrease the usefulness of Thorn pretty fast, and it usually operates too forward to enjoy the support of the repair crews.
  • Haley3's time echoes don't benefit from Thorn's bond or Reaction Drive. (See #Rules Clarifications).

Other

Trivia

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Caine0 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Haley3 & Thorn (Edit)

  • When Thorn is taken in Haley3's battlegroup, then the Time Echoes can channel through Thorn, but:
    • They don't trigger Reaction Drive (because they are not a battlegroup controller, let alone Thorn's controller)
    • They don't benefit from Thorn's bond. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Disruption      (Edit)

  • If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Cortex Damage      (Edit)

  • The damage to the cortex is applied before making your normal damage roll.

Rules Clarification : Shock Field - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dodge      (Edit)

  • Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
  • An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
  • If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, you can choose whether to dodge or riposte first. Appendix A Step 13 applies here, because the controller of the model being attacked is not the active player.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reaction Drive      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)