The ruthless Greylord Covenant seeks absolute arcane mastery. Khadoran ingenuity created the first steam engines, and through the efficient sub-cortexes of the Behemoth, the advanced targeting algorithms of the Grolar, and by rushing four colossal Conquests to the front line before first Stormwall stepped out of the factory, modern Greylords have lived up to that pioneering achievement. Although some among them are bound by tradition and caution, others embrace any means to increase the technical and occult might of their nation; thus the study of accursed Orgoth relics. The ability to command the ancient fellblades is the first fruit born of that research. Now criminals, deserters, and rebels are shackled to these dark artefacts, their wills broken by the deranged voices of the blade's past victims, and then unleashed upon the enemies of the Covenant, proving that there is no tool that cannot be turned to suit the agendas of the Greylords.
| An army made use the Wolves of Winter theme force can include only the following Khador models:
The models allowed in Wolves of Winter
This list was last updated: 2018.11 (Edit)
- All non-character Khador warjacks
- Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
- Up to one solo
- Up to one unit
- This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Khador.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Khador] rule.
- Mercenary units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
- For every full 20 points of Greylord and Doom Reaver models/units in this army, you can add one free of cost either:
- one Greylord Ternion unit, or,
- one Khador command attachment, or
- one small-based Khador solo, or
- one medium-based Khador solo.
- Free models do not count toward the total point value of Greylord or Doom Reaver models/units in the army when calculating this bonus.
- At the beginning of each of your Control Phases, one non-warcaster Greylord or Doom Reaver unit gains Apparition for one turn.
- Apparition - During your Control Phase, place models with Apparition anywhere completely within 2" of their current location.
- Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by your warcaster's upkeep spells.
- These spells and their targets must be declared before either player deploys any models.
- Models in this army do not have to pay to upkeep their spells during your first turn of the game.
| 2019.01 Cornucopia Errata
- Greylord Adjunct released
- Ruin added to list of allowed models
- Second benefit now allows free Ternions
- Many of the models within the theme received various buffs.
Thoughts on this Theme Force
Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.
See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.
Wolves of Winter in a Nutshell
Hordes of insane berserkers, wizards in fur hats, and so on. It does, however, offer the largest amount of troops with magic weapons, which can ruin your friendly neighborhood incorporeal-spam list's day. And more than one 'caster has met their end after eating a couple ice cages and then being beaten to a pulp by a doom reaver (or four.)
The biggest weakness this theme has is the lack of depth; you get Doom Reavers and Greylords. No widowmakers to clear charge lanes, no winterguard death star, and no man hunter bursting from the woods to apply axe to face with reckless abandon.
The lack of Pathfinder on the base doomreaver unit, the ternions, and the Koldun Lord can be a problem. You will have it on the Greylord Outriders. However, It is now an ability for the Doom Reaver Greylord Escort Unit attachment who with his Combat Caster ability can cast Death Strider when the unit charges to provide it pathfinder. You also can mitigate terrain challenges through Apparition, using the 2 inch place to move a model over a wall or out of a forest. If these tools are not enough, the right 'caster and/or merc choices can help mitigate it, but in the end, you want to apply fellblade and ice cage to face, and forests / rough terrain can hamper you.
List Building Tips
This list can be run as vintage Doom Reaver spam (how many Weapon Master units does it take to get to the center of the MK3 brick meta?), as a temptingly squishy cloud wall that punishes any overextension with rampant Stationary effects, or as anything in between. Though Doom Reavers aren't usually classified as jamming units, you can run them into enemy charge lanes, then un-jam them with Apparition to go after tastier targets.
If you take a Merc unit with Ranking Officer, Koldun Kapitan Valachev counts towards free points (although the unit he attached to doesn't).
Starting a 25 point list
Greylords and Doom Reavers are by far the hardest models to master in Khador due to the plethora of spell options, but they're also impressively thematic and unique. Only a truly dedicated new player should consider them as their first theme. A full unit of Doom Reaver Swordsmen with their Escort unit attachment, and backed up by a Greylord Ternion and an elite Koldun Lord will have you slinging spells and swinging Orgoth blades up to 25 point encounters in no time.
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
She buffs spellslingers, plus occasionally allows the removal of Doom Reavers in your way via Sacrificial Lamb to fuel your jacks. Not the most efficeint way to use them, but if it opens up a lane for assassination, so be it. Note that while she is a Greylord, and her guards are Doom Reavers, the unit is neither a Doom Reaver or Greylord Unit, and thus can not benefit from the theme benefit of apparition. Shame.
His original theme force in Mk2 was all about the Doom Reavers, and he still hangs nicely along with fellow homicidal maniacs. Under his feat the Swordsmen can cause untold carnage in the enemy lines, and since your front-line troops are mage static, you can spare your sweet support spells to your battlegroup. Add in Ruin to get an army with excellent anti-magic capabilities.
He enjoys moving up the board behind waves of bodies and clouds, both of which this theme provides. Dont forget to position the Argi in front of him, so if they are shot they trigger Vengeance.
Irusk is an odd choice for this list, as he loves to buff his infantry, and can't, due to spell ward. However, Solid Ground is CTRL range spell which offers a massive bubble of no-knockdown tech. What's better than tough doom reavers? No Knockdown Tough Doom Reavers. He also offers a smaller bubble of tactician, allowing any of his infantry to move through each other and draw LOS through each other. Artifice of Deviation is niche here, but can make a huge difference against the right opponent, as the spell places the AOE into play; it is not directly cast onto the doom reavers and thus bypasses their spell ward.
Irusk1 is a much stranger choice, though his battle plan, Reveille is interesting here; it mitigates the need to spend 3 points on the Doom Reaver UA (for Rise), but it requires Irusk to play uncomfortably close to the front lines. However, Irusk1 has an amazing feat which makes anyone around him irritatingly difficult to remove...
Ever want to make your opponent blink and say 'wait, how?' before shoving a doom reaver with stealth down their throat? Malakov2, by himself or with the hep of the Greylord Escort, can make your opponent's nightmare a reality. Malakov offers the battle plan Sneak, which grants Prowl to a unit. He can then cast Veil of Mists or the Escort casts Blizzard, which place 4" AOE clouds on the table. Prowl+Cloud=Stealthed wrecking balls. The effect is larger with either Sorscha on the table (tho Sorscha0 is not allowed in this theme), as they offer Fog of War which blankets an entire area in concealment. Same effect as a cloud, larger area, but still requires Malakov for his battle plan. Apparition can also be used to get Doom Reavers into the back arc of things, where they can cut throats as by Malakov's other battle plan.
Assisted by the Adjunct her feat ignores LOS, so the enemy won't be save from being frozen by Khadors resident ice queen. The frozen models can then be smashed to pieces by Doom Reavers, whom she can also protect with Fog of War, which can be put into place at the start of the game, due to the theme benefit and can be upkept for free thanks to the Adjunct.
The Adjunct also gives her some much needed range on her Freezing Grip. Additionally the theme brings its own damage buffs in Canker Frost, which is good since Sorscha does not have any damage buffs herself (but buffs to-hit expertly by freezing enemies).
- This theme force pays homage to two mk2 theme forces: Butcher2's "Mad Dogs of War" and Zerkova1's "Wolves of Winter," for which it is named.
- Originally spoiled August 8, 2017.
Other Khador models
Rules Clarification : Apparition (Edit)
- If a model is B2B with you when you use Apparition then they will be exactly 2" away afterwards. So you can't get away from 'long reach' melee weapons.
- Unit members must always be placed in formation. Refer to the "Placed" section if the core rulebook.
- If a trooper can't be placed in formation (because it's more than 2" out of formation to begin with) then it can't be placed at all.
- The unit commander is always "In Formation" by definition, so can be placed where he likes.
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- If the original dice roll is a draw, you can choose to either use your theme-benefit-reroll (TBR) on your die only, or let both players reroll the dice and save your TBR for later.
- If you lose the original dice roll, then use your TBR and get a draw, then that's your TBR used up. Both players will now reroll the tie normally until there is a winner/loser.
- If both players have a TBR and the original roll is not a tie, then the loser will reroll (unless he really wants to lose). If his new roll results in:
- If the loser is now the winner, the ex-winner can use his TBR to try and beat it.
- If the loser is now tied with the ex-winner, then the ex-winner can choose whether to use his TBR or save it for later, as described in #1.
- If both players have a TBR and the original roll is a tie, then both players reroll it until there is a winner/loser, then you can start using your TBR as described in #3.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
- they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans
- Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
- If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models". (Infernal Ruling)
- This may change with the remix 2019.08
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit
(eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]") [Show/Hide]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Cryx - Ghost Fleet [Show/Hide]
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast [Show/Hide]
Protectorate - The Faithful Masses [Show/Hide]
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might [Show/Hide]
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance [Show/Hide]
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter [Show/Hide]
- The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)
Circle - The Bones of Orboros [Show/Hide]
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild [Show/Hide]
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host [Show/Hide]
- Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Legion - Children of the Dragon [Show/Hide]
- If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
Skorne - The Exalted [Show/Hide]
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Trollblood - Kriel Company [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus [Show/Hide]
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)
Infernals - Hearts of Darkness [Show/Hide]