Theme - Warriors of the Old Faith

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Feora2 (theme thoughts) Imperatus (Dawnguard and non-vyros combos)


Khador Logo.jpg
Protectorate Logo.jpg
Theme - Warriors of the Old Faith

Khador & Protectorate Theme Force

Armored Corps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter

Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith

Fluff

Theme Rules

CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change.
This model is unreleased.

This model is part of the current CID cycle (What is CID?) and the information shown below does not represent its final rules.

This is a new model, and the information here is what was given on day 1 of the CID cycle

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Warriors of the Old Faith theme force can include only the following models:

Full model list

The models allowed in Warriors of the Old Faith are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.04   (Edit)

Warcasters

Note: - You can take a warcaster that doesn't normally belong to your Faction.

Warjacks

  • All non-character Khador and Protectorate warjacks
Note: - Warcasters can take any mix of warjacks they like, regardless of their original Faction.
  • Character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Battle Engines

Mercenaries

  • None (other than those listed above)

Theme Bonuses

  1. All models in an army made using this theme force are considered to be both Khador and Protectorate models.
    This means Protectorate do get access to Khador warcasters, and vice versa.
  2. For every full 20 points of units and solos in this army, you can add free of cost either:
    • two Vassal solos, or
    • one other small-based solo.
    Free models do not count toward the total point value of solos or units in the army when calculating this bonus.
  3. Cavalry models in this army gain Line Breaker.
    Line Breaker - This model gets an extra die on impact attack rolls.
  4. You can reroll your starting roll for the game. Your starting game roll can be rerolled only once as a result of this special rule.

Recent Changes

2019.04 Beta rules released

Thoughts on Warriors of the Old Faith

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Info icon.png

Oblivion's Theme Faction mashup

The 3 themes released in Oblivion mixes up Factions in a new way, so here's a quick recap of what it means in terms of list pairings:     [Show/Hide]
Although there are 6 Factions you can steal from, you have to pick just one then all the stolen models must be from the same original Faction.
It is always an Infernal army and in a Steamroller tournament it must be paired with another Infernal army. (Although you can pair it with another Hearts army, that steals from a completely different Faction.)
  • Warriors of the Old Faith "completely share" all models allowed in the theme.
It is both a Khador and a Protectorate theme, and can be paired with either a Khador army or Protectorate army.
For example, you could build an army with nothing but Protectorate models in this theme, and you could still pair it with a Khador army.
It is either a Khador, Cygnar, or Mercenary theme, and must be paired with an army from the same Faction.
For example, if you use a Cygnar warcaster in this theme, it is a Cygnar army and must be paired with another Cygnar army.

Warriors of the Old Faith in a Nutshell

HORSES.

Theme weaknesses

Placeholder

List Building Tips

Placeholder

Starting with a 25 point force

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's been specifically designed to be relatively newbie friendly for both you and your opponent.

  • Placeholder

Caster Thoughts

Placeholder

Other

Trivia

  • In Beta 2019.04

Other Faction models/themes

Khador Logo.jpg       Khador Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Sorscha3 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2

Warcaster attachments

Khador: War Dog - Greylord Adjunct
Mercenary: Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Malakov1 - Sorscha0
'Jack Marshals: Man-o-War Kovnik - Greylord Forge Seer

Heavy Warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood - MOW Atanas & Standard
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos

Greylord Adjunct - Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - MOW Strike Tanker - MOW Suppresion Tanker - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Sorscha0 - Yuri

Battle Engines Gun Carriage - Man-o-War Siege Chariot - Man-o-War Assault Chariot
Theme Forces
Armored Corps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Khador Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.04
Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

Note to self: I need to update this rules section after the CID rules are finalised - juckto.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models   [Show/Hide]
  • If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
    • There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
    • There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)