Theme - The Wild Hunt

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Circle Logo.jpg Theme - The Wild Hunt

Circle Theme Force
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt

When war requires speed, cunning, and brutality, the Wild Hunt is gathered to spill the enemy’s blood. If the need is dire, many villages of Wolf Sworn are drawn together in these great hunting parties. A Wild Hunt draws upon its warriors’ hunting skills and their knowledge of the land to launch lethal ambushes against enemy columns marching through the wilderness. The warriors of a Wild Hunt rely on their mobility to defeat technologically superior foes; they bleed the enemy with quick strikes, chasing down all who break ranks to offer them as a sacrifice to the primal power of the Devourer Wurm.

Theme Rules[edit]

Theme Restrictions
An army made use the The Wild Hunt theme force can include only the following Circle models:
Theme Bonuses
  1. This army can include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
    • Minion units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every 20 points of Wolf Sworn models/units get a free Wolf Sworn command attachment or a small- or medium-based Circle solo
    • The solo can be non-Wolf Sworn.
    • Free models don't count towards free points.
  3. Warbeasts gain Tracker.
    • Tracker - This model ignores forests when determining LOS when declaring a charge.
  4. One unit of Wolves of Orboros gains Ambush.
    • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.

Recent Changes[edit]

2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update
  • The Well of Orboros was released, and this theme's rules were immediately rewritten to allow it.
     
Models allowed in The Wild Hunt   (Edit)  
This list was last updated: 2018.10

Warlocks

  • All Circle warlocks

Warbeasts

  • All non-character warbeasts
  • Character warbeasts can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Structures

Units

Solos

Minions

  • One solo
  • One unit

Thoughts on this Theme Force[edit]

The Wild Hunt in a nutshell[edit]

This is a thematic Wolf Sworn army that gives you a few bonuses for playing mostly with Wolf Sworn - and has to date the best ambushers in the game. Unusually for the Circle the only advance deploying models are the Shifting Stones, but you do get a powerful unit of ambushers instead. The Wolf Sworn are not, alas, amazingly popular even if the Reeves can utterly thresh light infantry.

Grayle the Farstrider is himself of course a Wolf Sworn and grants his fellow Wolf Sworn Tactician.

List Building Tips[edit]

The biggest freebie options are the Reeve Hunter and the unit attachments for the Wolves of Orboros, the Reeves of Orboros, and the Warpborn Skinwalkers. This means that probably the biggest bonus this list gives is the ambushing Wolves, so always take a unit.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Like most Circle lists this list lacks melee hitting power. Highest power (non-character) unit is the Skinwalkers with the UA at P+S 14 including gang.
  • There are no freebie options that cost more than 4 points.
  • With no Blackclad Stoneshaper although you can use the construct warbeasts the construct heavies lack a little hitting power. (Which is no reason not to take the Woldwyrd, the Woldwatcher and the Wold Wight
  • It's a great theme for cutting through infantry - but honestly so is almost every other Circle theme.
  • A lack of magic weapons can be an issue.

Warlocks of Note[edit]

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Released 2017.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models   [Show/Hide]
  • If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
    • There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
    • There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]
Cryx - Slaughter Fleet Raiders   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Cryx unit during a game, the DSM still use up your Mercenary slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Mercenary unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ambush      (Edit)

  • When a model/unit is going to use Ambush, it needs to be declared before either player begins deploying models. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If both players have Ambushing models, then it goes: Pick Sides, Player 1 chooses whether or not to use Ambush, then Player 2 chooses whether or not to Ambush, then Player 1 begins deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Ambush occurs last in Step 5 of the Control Phase. You cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Tracker - None yet. (Edit)

Models in this Theme Force[edit]

Refer to Category: The Wild Hunt

Other themes[edit]

List of All Theme Forces       (Edit List)      
Cygnar Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple (Edit)
Khador Armored Corps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter (Edit)
Cryx Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders (Edit)
Retribution of Scyrah Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution (Edit)
Mercenaries Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Steelhead - The Talion Charter (Edit)
Convergence of Cyriss Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions (Edit)
Crucible Guard Magnum Opus - Prima Materia (Edit)
 
Trollbloods Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North (Edit)
Circle Orboros Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt (Edit)
Skorne Winds of Death - Disciples of Agony - Imperial Warhost - Masters of War - The Exalted (Edit)
Legion of Everblight Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War (Edit)
Minions The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food (Edit)
Grymkin Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night (Edit)