To sow terror and reap death, blackclads who embrace the primal aspects of Orboros turn to the Tharn. With murderous howls, Tharn warriors charge from the darkest forests to strike fear into their enemies’ hearts before ripping them out and devouring them whole. These gruesome, gore-streaked combatants run side by side with all manner of beasts, intent on slaking their thirst on the blood of the Circle’s foes. Theirs is a history of violence, and their motivations for war do not stray beyond devotion to the Devourer Wurm and an attunement with the basest of instincts.
- An army made use the The Devourer's Host theme force can include only the following Circle models:
- This army can include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
- Minion units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
- For every 20 points of Tharn models/units you can add free of cost either:
- One Circle solo, or
- One Circle command attachment.
- Free models don't count towards free models.
- One Tharn Bloodweavers unit in this army gains Ambush.
- Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
- Every model that can start with a corpse token does start with one.
| 2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update
Thoughts on this Theme Force
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.
Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.
Devourer's Host in a nutshell
This is a thematic Tharn army that gives you a few bonuses for playing mostly with Tharn. If anyone needs heart tokens to start with it's Death Wolves so they can survive at least some incoming fire. Remember that corpse tokens alas only boost melee rolls, so no games with the Blood Pack or Ravager Shaman.
Tharn Ravagers are not as tough as they seem at first glance. You've excellent skirmishers in Tharn Bloodtrackers, solid tough and hard hitting melee infantry in Tharn Ravagers, utility in Tharn Bloodweavers, a little ranged firepower in the Tharn Blood Pack, and sheer speed and mobility in the Tharn Wolf Riders. And then a nice collection of solos that support all of the above, plus the Death Wolves.
Easy to counter
The list is easy to tech against; even Ravagers go down to standard anti-infantry tech. Rapid Healing sounds good on paper, but rarely will you survive long enough to see it. Maybe it'll mean it takes 3 attacks instead of 2, to kill you.
Low Damage output
Outside your Battlegroup nothing has P+S over 13, which means you'll struggle vs ARM 18+ targets.
You'll want to bring a caster with ARM debuffs.
You may also want to put some heavy hitters in your battlegroup, as opposed to utility 'beasts.
Difficult list choices
Death Wolves and Lord of the Feast are excellent but don't count towards free points.
Unlike most themes, the Tharn have a starter set. This is a worthwhile purchase as you save about 12% over buying the contents individually. The contents are:
- A 6-man unit of Tharn Ravagers plus their command attachment.
- A 6-woman unit of Tharn Bloodweavers plus their command attachment.
- The character unit Brighid & Caul
- This adds up to 34 points, plus the Ravager CA who you'll take as your first free card.
You'll notice that there is no warlock or warbeasts included.
List Building Tips
Since the errata and new releases this has become a pretty versatile theme with a lot of ways of building; a list starting with Bloodtrackers, ambushing Bloodweavers, and the Death Wolves is going to be applying a lot of scenario pressure with all the advance deploying (and ambushing) Pathfinders, whereas a list that starts off with two full units of Ravagers with their unit attachments is basically threatening to charge head on at the enemy and shatter them whatever they may be.
The Spirit Cauldron helps a lot in spreading around corpse tokens. You should really consider it as your minion unit.
The most expensive free models you can get are the Tharn Wolf Rider Champion at 7 points and the Lord of the Feast at 6 for a potential 20 free points for the army. At 5 points there's the Tharn Ravager White Mane and the attachment for the Tharn Ravagers.
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
Deploying max Tharn and a small battlegroup. Ravagers can be protected by Gale Winds on the approach and have a 2” melee when they get there. Initial corpse tokens should go mostly to the Death Wolves.
He is a Tharn and thus fluffy and looks excellent.
She is very good at regrowing Bloodtrackers or Tharn Ravagers. All Tharn appreciate Mortality.
She likes to feat back Tharn Ravagers and rerolls can keep their overtake/heart eater chains going for a long time; she also likes feating back Tharn Bloodtrackers for their position and hitting power. The Tharn Blood Pack of course have Hunter which allow them to ignore her fog of war (while the Bloodtrackers are normally forward enough to shoot beyond it)
She has Hand of Fate, which lowers the odds of missing an attack and enables a single Ravager to plough through a whole unit if he can constantly kill and buy with corpse tokens. Popular army compositions concentrate around half a dozen Griffons and two units of Ravagers plus the Death Wolves.
He can buff Ravagers to high enough ARM to survive light gunfire and electro-leaps, and makes them hit hard enough to kill heavies.
She was made to run Tharn in Devourer's Host, and her entire card reflects it. She provides Dodge within her CMD, shores up their defenses with Surefoot and Phantasm, and her feat massively ups their survivability and hitting power.
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
- they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans
- Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
- If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit
(eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]") [Show/Hide]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points [Show/Hide]
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
- If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models [Show/Hide]
- If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
- There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
- There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.
Cryx - Ghost Fleet [Show/Hide]
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast [Show/Hide]
Protectorate - The Faithful Masses [Show/Hide]
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might [Show/Hide]
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance [Show/Hide]
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Bones of Orboros [Show/Hide]
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild [Show/Hide]
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host [Show/Hide]
- Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
Legion - Children of the Dragon [Show/Hide]
- If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
Skorne - The Exalted [Show/Hide]
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Trollblood - Kriel Company [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus [Show/Hide]
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Snacking (Edit)
- You can use Snacking to RFP your target even if you're at full health. (Locked thread)
- Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
- Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
- Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
- Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as collecting soul tokens, etc)
- You can snack friendly models.
- You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
- If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.
Models in this Theme Force
Refer to Category: The Devourer's Host