Theme - The Bones of Orboros

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1251 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Dawnguard Destors (1 year review) Dawnguard Destor Thane (1 year review) Defenders of Ios (1 year review) Bump in the Night (Casters)


Circle Logo.jpg Theme - The Bones of Orboros

Circle Theme Force
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt

Since the order’s inception, the blackclads of the Circle Orboros have passed down the secrets of shaping and animating wood and stone to do their bidding as wolds. The product of ancient rites and blood sacrifices, these massive stone constructs patrol the old places of the world and ensure the sacred sites of the order remain untouched by outsiders, falling upon intruders without hesitation to crush them under fist and foot. The druids also summon forth these stone constructs to batter into submission those threats too large or well-defended to succumb to the Circle’s traditional hit-and-run tactics, using brute force to buckle the armor of machines and shatter the bones of great beasts.

Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the The Bones of Orboros theme force can include only the following Circle models:

  • This army can also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
    • Minion units in this army can include non-Ranking Officer attachments

Full model list

The models allowed in The Bones of Orboros are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warlocks

  • All Circle warlocks

Warbeasts

Battle Engines

Structures

Units

Solos

Minions

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

Technically Una1 is allowed in this theme, but as of the time of writing (2019.06) her Limited Battlegroup rule is incompatible with the theme's requirement for Construct warbeasts.

Requisition Options

Each Requistion Point can be spent on either:

Theme Bonuses

  1. Before leeching during each of your Control Phases, you can remove up to 1 damage point from each Circle warbeast.
  2. Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by the upkeep spells of models in this army.
    • These spells and their targets must be declared before either player deploys their models.
    • Warlocks in this army do not have to pay fury to upkeep their spells during your first turn of the game.
    • Note: As currently worded, lesser warlocks get to start with upkeeps in play, but have to pay for them. This may be a typo though.

Recent Changes

2018.11 Tharn Expansion

2019.07 Theme Remix

Theme Rules - Old Version

Old Restrictions - entirely unchanged.

Old Bonuses   [Show/Hide]
  1. This army can also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
    • Minion units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every 25 points of Circle warbeasts, battle engines, and/or structures you get a free Circle solo
  3. Each warbeast heals 1 per turn in the Control Phase
  4. 2" extra deployment zone

Thoughts on this Theme Force

Thoughts on the Remix

Not much has changed - not enough for the recent changes tag. The Requisition Points system has opened the list up a little - and there are some excellent options in there; the Blackclad Stoneshaper used to be taken as a single free model and now you get two for free. And you can also take a pair of sentry stones (or even the Woldshrimp) without worrying about losing free models.

Bones of Orboros in a nutshell

This Circle theme force is sometimes known as the "Sticks and Stones" theme because it's made up entirely of druids and rocks. During most of 2016 and 2017 it wasn't considered very strong by players, but in November 2017 many of the models in the theme were buffed, and since then it's become more popular.

It's a pretty strong all-comers list, with WoldWights, Sentry Stones, and Wold Wardens able to maul infantry, while the Stoneshaper and both heavies maul heavies, and it has an impressive scenario presence.

In terms of what models are available, there's a lot of overlap with Call of the Wild and Secret Masters, so any of the three themes are a good option to start a new Circle collection.

List Building Tips

Most lists are battlegroup-heavy, with a couple of Sentry Stones for screening, some Shifting Stones for Fury management, and some Blackclad Wayfarers for threat range. The two Wold heavies are both good

The upgraded Celestial Fulcrum synergises exceptionally well with the theme force.

The requisition options are all excellent:

  • Two Blackclad Stoneshaper solo, worth six points, are an obvious first pick and people were choosing them as the free solos in tournament winning lists at one per option.
  • Two units of Shifting Stones are six points and most Bones lists used to include two units even when points were a little tighter.
  • A Sentry Stone & Mannikins at five points is excellent to the point that at the start of Mk3, before the theme forces dropped, just about every single top tier Circle army included two. The only reason not to take a Sentry Stone as one of your requisition points is that you get more points from another option.
  • Three Gallows Grove solos is generally overkill; before the Oblivion drop Wurmwood1 lists used to take two and Krueger2 lists one. If you were already going to take two, getting the third for one point by choosing this in place the Sentry Stone may be a pretty good choice.
  • A solo just doesn't compete. A Blackclad Wayfarer or your third Blackclad Stoneshaper are excellent things to include in your list. But they are 4 and 3 points respectively, while the first three requisition options are auto-includes and 6, 6, and 5 points respectively.

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Notable warlocks

  • Baldur1 allows free charges and has a damage buff. Boosted Roots of Earth is a 3d6 crit knockdown, leading to assassinations. On the other hand his Solid Ground and providing cover belong to other lists so
  • Baldur2 both allow free running and charging for beasts. Wold Wardens are going to mix Crevasse and just giving themselves Roots of Earth regardless of whether it's feat turn or not. This gets grindy.
    • He can build a strong list around two Woldwraths.
  • Bradigus Thorle the Runecarver is a pure construct warlock with Synergy, Rift, a mobility feat, and discounted animi.
  • Krueger2 is a scenario caster and gives both Gallows and Lightning Storm.
  • Krueger1 was an old solution to infantry-spam with Forked Lightning spam. Gale Winds and free forests combine to make our rocky beasts DEF 15 against incoming shooting.
  • Tanith the Feralsong rifts all over everything which is medium AoEs to break infantry - and she scything touches to break armour.
  • Mohsar the Desertwalker gets Crevice and can Gallows Grove a damage buff.
  • Kaya3 has interesting options with Blood Spiller being cast by wardens and can Synergy. But Brad generally does the same thing better.

Warlocks to avoid

Avoid infantry support casters, like Morvahna1, Morvahna2, and Grayle. Also living warbeast specialists like the Kayas.

Other

Trivia

Released 2017.02

Other Circle models/themes

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]