Theme - Ravens of War

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Legion Logo.jpg Theme - Ravens of War

Legion Theme Force
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War

When speed is of the essence and the servants of the dragon must strike with stealth, they rely upon the Ravens of War. A force of swift-moving striders and grotesques, these inhuman warriors can traverse any obstacle to deliver sudden death no matter where the enemy may hide. Able to respond quickly to unexpected dangers or to pursue a fleeing enemy, these highly mobile forces can be relied upon to move with such speed that the battle is decided before their prey realizes they are under attack.

Theme Rules[edit]

Theme Restrictions[edit]

An army made use the Ravens of War theme force can include only the following Legion models:

Full model list[edit]

The models allowed in Ravens of War are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2018.03   (Edit)

Warlocks

  • All Legion warlocks

Warbeasts

Units

Solos

Minions

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

Theme Bonuses[edit]

  1. You can also include up to one Minion solo and one Minion unit that work for the Legion.
    • These can be included even if they have Partisan [Legion]
    • Mercenary units can have attachments, including Ranking Officers.
  2. For every 20 points of Legion units in the army you can add free of cost either:
    • One Legion Command Attachment, or
    • One Legion small-based solo.
    Free models do not contribute to points when working out this bonus.
  3. Enemy models lose Ambush.
  4. One Grotesque Raider in the army gains Ambush.
    • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.

Recent Changes[edit]

No changes since 2017.09

Thoughts on this Theme Force[edit]

Ravens of War in a nutshell[edit]

Ravens of War is an interesting theme that doubles down on Legion's "Flying Circus" subset of models; a motif that has been around for a while. It also encourages Legion's new mixed arms approach to list building, as the main benefit from this theme comes from points spent on units. Some may take issue with this but, thankfully, this theme lets you bring Raptors which are among Legion's finest infantry choices. It also allows Deathstalkers, who frequent many of Legion's armies regardless of warlock or theme choices.

The harder parts of the theme to swallow are the Grotesques. While not awful units, they can be hard to include in many lists. They have a small niche that not all casters need filled, and are hard to deliver in one piece. Thankfully, if your list already allows Raiders to shine (and a few do exist), picking up Ambush can make them much easier to drop in on the front lines, especially with their high speed and access to flight. Additionally, the Assassin solo is always a decent addition to a list regardless of whether you have the main units, so his inclusion is nice to see. Some may be disappointed by the lack of Swordsmen included in the theme restrictions.

Thankfully, you don't have to skimp too hard on your beasts, as the list does allow Forsaken to keep FURY in check. Unfortunately, you can only bring flying beasts or light beasts, and no characters are allowed except those who have a bond with the warlock you bring. This is sadly pretty restricting for most of Legion's warlocks, as only a select few can run a pure Flying Circus successfully, as it essentially limits your heavy hitters to the Angelius and Neraph. This is a problem as the former struggles to finish what they start , and the latter struggles against other heavy beasts and jacks across all factions. Thankfully, your light beasts need not take to the skies, so star players like the Raek, Naga Nightlurker, and Nephilim Protector can still be fielded. Also on the bright side, you can bring Seraphs for support and slipstream as always.

Theme weaknesses & mitigating them[edit]

  • You must omit the most able close combat choice (Swordsmen) from your lists - though Raptors and Hellmouths make up for this flaw.
  • Heavy warbeasts with flight only - say goodbye to the "Carnivean chassis", and the Blightbringer. Your heavy hitter choice will be limited mainly to the to the Angelius.
  • As with many theme lists, character warbeasts can only come with the Warlock they share bond with (like Rhyas and Zuriel).
  • No Shepherds. Though Sorceresses can make your beasts charge for free via aerial coordination, the lack of the extended control zone, where you can force your warbeasts and the absence of healing can be annoying with your low-FURY warlocks.

List building Tips[edit]

Placeholder

Warlock thoughts[edit]

All said, there are a few warlocks who can successfully utilize Ravens of War.

  • Fyanna2 already can leverage pairs of Angelius effectively compared to other warlocks thanks to how much mileage they get from Fury (the spell). Grotesque Raiders become very cost effective with Iron Flesh or Fury as well. Buffed Ambushing Raiders on feat turn can potentially get into some very annoying locations with Fyanna2.
    • Raptors are another good target for Fury or Iron Flesh, and play very well into Fynna2 lists even without the theme force.
    • Removing Ambush isn't that useful; the old version which removed Advance Deployment broke some enemy armies.
  • Bethayne isn't a bad choice for this theme as well. While she may do better with hardier beasts, Angelius can be solid initiators for her feat turn. A single Angelius likely won't kill a target on his own, and with flight and a 2" melee range, a pair can tag a lot of targets for flank.
    • While she may sometimes prefer Swordmen for the hardest of targets, Ambushing Raiders with Flank (and potentially Disintegrate, if you landed that first) can get a lot of work done for a lot fewer points. Raptors are also always superb with Bethayne.
    • If you prefer to not bring Angels, Bethayne can load up on light beasts and focus on tying enemys up and focusing on more infantry.
  • Lylyth3 is popularly played with a pair of Archangels, but Ravens of War suits her high speed playstyle well. Additionally, most of the flying beasts she'll be forced to bring have a decent gun for feat, and some screening infantry in the form of Strider Scouts may be appreciated.
    • On the flip side, she won't get as much use out of the Raiders with Ambush. It's not a deal breaker and she could certainly run this theme, but just keep this in mind if you're thinking about running her with this.
  • Lylyth 1 can definitely run Ravens of War, as parasite turns her list up to 11. Similar to Fyanna and Fury, Parasite will allow Angelius to sustain their damage after the Armor Pierce, and lets Raiders hit outside their weight class.
  • Kallus1 gets a special mention for those who wish to make his feat very, very annoying. Grotesques are often the ideal choice of model to sacrifice for Kallus's feat turn, as they're cheap, fast, and can get to annoying places. A unit or two of Raiders with Ambush can get to even more annoying places than before, and probably at full strength. Don't underestimate the power of an Incubus jammed deep in the back lines.
    • Kallus will have some trouble running only winged beasts, as he prefers a Blighbringer or a combination of Proteus/Typhon/Carniveans and their ilk.
  • Rhyas1 likes fast lists with a mix of infantry and beasts, though she may struggle with armor when running this theme.
    • She can bring Zuriel without breaking theme, who with his recent small damage buff may help secure attrition wins, since you're likely to be bringing a Grotesque Assassin who can tag his targets with Grievous Wounds.


Other[edit]

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models   [Show/Hide]
  • If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
    • There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
    • There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]
Cryx - Slaughter Fleet Raiders   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Cryx unit during a game, the DSM still use up your Mercenary slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Mercenary unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ambush      (Edit)

  • When a model/unit is going to use Ambush, it needs to be declared before either player begins deploying models. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If both players have Ambushing models, then it goes: Pick Sides, Player 1 chooses whether or not to use Ambush, then Player 2 chooses whether or not to Ambush, then Player 1 begins deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Ambush occurs last in Step 5 of the Control Phase. You cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)

Models in this Theme[edit]

Refer to Category: Ravens of War

Other themes[edit]

List of All Theme Forces       (Edit List)      
Cygnar Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple (Edit)
Khador Armored Corps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter (Edit)
Cryx Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders (Edit)
Retribution of Scyrah Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution (Edit)
Mercenaries Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Steelhead - The Talion Charter (Edit)
Convergence of Cyriss Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions (Edit)
Crucible Guard Magnum Opus - Prima Materia (Edit)
 
Trollbloods Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North (Edit)
Circle Orboros Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt (Edit)
Skorne Winds of Death - Disciples of Agony - Imperial Warhost - Masters of War - The Exalted (Edit)
Legion of Everblight Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War (Edit)
Minions The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food (Edit)
Grymkin Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night (Edit)