Theme - Primal Terrors

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Primal Terrors art.jpg
We have 1219 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (one year review) Exemplar Bastion Seneschal (one year review) Exemplar Errants (One one year review)


Legion Logo.jpg Theme - Primal Terrors

Legion Theme Force
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War

When the blighted ogrun tribes go to war, they do so with the blessings of Everblight by their side. Fighting with little regard for personal safety, howling warbands descend upon their foes crazed by the prospect of spilling blood for their war chiefs and their korune, Thagrosh. Even mortal wounds suffered in battle do not deter them. Instead, such injuries goad them to drive even deeper into the enemy’s heart to shed even more blood before they expire.

Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Primal Terrors theme force can include only the following Legion models:

Full model list

The models allowed in Primal Terrors are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warlocks

  • All Legion warlocks

Warbeasts

  • All non-character Legion warbeasts
  • Golab
  • Other character warbeasts can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Minions

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

Theme Bonuses

  1. You may also include one Minion unit and one Minion solo that will work for Legion.
    • These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Legion] rule.
    • Minion units in this army can include attachments.
  2. For every full 20 points of Blighted Ogrun and Rotwing models/units in this army, you can add free of cost either:
    Free models don't count towards the 20 points.
  3. Blighted Ogrun Warmongers and Blighted Ogrun Warspears units gain Vengeance.
    • Vengeance - During your Maintenance Phase, if one or more models in a unit with Vengeance were damaged by enemy attacks during the last round, each model in the unit can advance 3" and make one basic melee attack.
  4. You get +2" deployment

Recent Changes

No changes since 2018.03

Thoughts on this Theme Force

Primal Terrors in a nutshell

Ogruns everywhere! As of 2018 September, Primal Terrors is considered to be the Legion's first and foremost theme for competitive builds. Beside free Hellmouths, this list is pretty resilient and have access to all the survival, accuracy and damage bonuses they previously needed. The list itself often revolves around its staple warlock, Anamag, who takes all the theme's perks up to 11. It is not the fastest list in the faction, but definitely takes the punch better than most of the other Legion builds, and can still respond in kind.

Theme's weaknesses and Overcoming them

  • Apart of the Chosen and your battlegroup monsters, the rest of the list may struggle with terrain more than other Legion theme forces.
  • Kind of bland - there are almost self-evident choices, way superior to others. Expect to see Anamag and 2 Hellmouths 99/100 times.
  • Few magical weapons. Though Ammok's Exorcist aura can deal with Incorporeal models in a large circle, he can't be everywhere at once, and for enemies spamming incorporeal denial pieces, he will be a priority target. Consider bringing the Naga Nightlurker and/or a Mist Speaker as your minion choice.
  • Your range presence mainly revolves around the - minimal - battlegroup (usually a Blightbringer) and the Warspears. Fast armies with Stealth might close in on you unopposed .

Starter Set

Starter set

Unlike most themes, Primal Terrors have a starter set. This is distinctly average purchase as you only save about 6% over buying the contents individually. The contents are:

You'll notice that there is no warlock or warbeasts included.

List-Building Tips

  • Blightbringer - Usually the cornerstone of your battlegroup and your support engine. Though he received only a minor update in his SPD and CMD, it is more than enough now to keep up with your force, and to cast its blighted aura in an almost 17" diameter circle. Whatever you won't reach with your aura, will likely be covered by your 5" AoE, giving plenty of space for your troops to maneuver around, and still reap the benefits of the Blight Ash. The best thing is that these aura abilities are neither spells, nor special actions, so cannot be shut down by anti-upkeep, or anti-spell tactics. Blessed weapons also have to deal with the increased ARM of the models, as it is not a spell-related bonus. Anti-shooting tricks might hinder the delivery of the Blighted Fire AoEs, but it is usually a minor inconvenience.
  • Chosen of Everblight - Your shock troopers. Despite sporting inferior SPD compared to the other factions' heavy cavalries, the extra deployment zone, plus their resiliency is more than a compensation for that flaw. It is not unheard of bringing 2 full unit of them, soaking up initial fire and stomp flat everything in your way, until the rest of your force moves up.
  • Hellmouth - Quite possibly the best return-on-investment free stuffs in the entire game, these units will give you decent board control and harassment pieces. With the possibility to deploy them literally up to half-table if you go second, you only have to watch out for their initial placement - it is really frustrating, if your Blightbringer has to run around your own Maw because it blocks his advance.
  • Blighted Ogrun Warspears - A slow-ish unit with Thrown weapons and UA-dependency gets Vengeance and plenty of STR buffs? Plus occasionally a free unit attachment? Yes please. Though their threat range is not something to write home about, the stacking damage bonuses (Prey, Dragon's Breath, spells like Fury's Strength or Draconic Blessing) will make rocket launchers out of those spears. Their set defense brings them up to a respectable def vs charges, making them a decent front line unit if you need to absorb an alpha.
  • Blighted Ogrun Warmongers - Previously one of the factions underdog units, Warmongers are now one of the most versatile tools in the theme. With Gorag's - and occasionally the Warmonger War Chief's - help they need few outside support. You can tailor them toward killing high DEF models with all the available MAT buffs, or deliver powerful blows with the STR bonus from the BB and their respective warlock, stopping unwanted fratricidal attacks with Blood Drinker.

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Warlock thoughts

Anamag1

Anamag came, saw and conquered. She was released at the same time the theme was expanded, and it should come as no surprise she runs it very well. She supports every aspect of this list, be it resilience, hitting power or accuracy. If it weren't enough, her feat has a huge impact on the war of attrition. Other warlocks rarely match the versatility of her support arsenal, and even if they have a signature ability, giving up on Anamag's other bonuses rarely worth the consideration.

Kallus1

Just like Anamag, Kallus1 is also a fairly passive support warlock, who likes to stroll around the mid-field and let his army do the heavy lifting. Dark Guidance makes everything murderously accurate in close combat, and with Ignite you can boost further their combat effectiveness. Warspears in his Unyielding aura plus with the Blightbringer's Dragon's Breath can have enormous staying power if they get stuck in melee. Even if the enemy brings them down under your feat, they just manage to create a DEF16/ARM19 Incubus out of them.

Thagrosh1

The Ogrun warlock, Thagrosh, was the number 1 choice for an Ogrun brick list before the arrival of Anamag. With Death Shroud, all the Ogruns (and Hellmouths) have outstanding staying power, while Draconic Blessing and Fog of War kept most of your army safe.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in 2017.09, and expanded in 2018.03

Other Legion models

Legion Logo.jpg       Legion Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Absylonia1 - Absylonia2 - Anamag - Bethayne - Fyanna2 - Kallus1 - Kallus2 - Kryssa - Lylyth1 - Lylyth2 - Lylyth3 - Rhyas1 - Saeryn1 - Saeryn2 & Rhyas2 - Thagrosh1 - Thagrosh2 - Vayl1 - Vayl2
Other Warbeast Controllers Beast Mistress
Lesser & Packs Lesser Warbeasts: Shredder - Harrier - Stinger - Warbeast Packs: Blight Wasps
Light Afflictor - Naga Nightlurker - Nephilim Bloodseer - Nephilim Bolt Thrower - Nephilim Protector - Nephilim Soldier - Raek - Teraph
Heavy Angelius - Carnivean - Neraph - Ravagore - Scythean - Seraph
Azrael - Golab - Proteus - Typhon - Zuriel
Gargantuans Archangel - Blightbringer
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units B.N. Archers - B.N. Hex Hunters - B.N. Legionnaires - B.N. Raptors - B.N. Scather Crew - B.N. Swordsmen - B. Rotwings - B.O. Warmongers - B.O. Warspears - Chosen - Grotesque Banshees - Grotesque Raiders - Hellmouth - Ice Witches - Strider Blightblades - Strider Scouts - Spawning Vessel
Blackfrost Shard
Solos Beast Mistress - B.N Shepher - B.N. Sorceress - B.N. Warlord - Forsaken - Grotesque Assassin - Incubi - Spell Martyr - Strider Deathstalker - Succubus - B.O. Warmonger War Chief
Ammok - Annyssa Ryvaal - Fyanna the Lash - Craelix
Battle Engines Throne of Everblight
Theme Forces
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Legion of Everblight Minion
This index was last updated: 2018.10

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum     (Edit)

  • Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
  • You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
  • When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
  • Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
  • Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
  • Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
  • Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
    • If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
    • But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  1. If the original dice roll is a draw, you can choose to either use your theme-benefit-reroll (TBR) on your die only, or let both players reroll the dice and save your TBR for later.
  2. If you lose the original dice roll, then use your TBR and get a draw, then that's your TBR used up. Both players will now reroll the tie normally until there is a winner/loser.
  3. If both players have a TBR and the original roll is not a tie, then the loser will reroll (unless he really wants to lose). If his new roll results in:
    • If the loser is now the winner, the ex-winner can use his TBR to try and beat it.
    • If the loser is now tied with the ex-winner, then the ex-winner can choose whether to use his TBR or save it for later, as described in #1.
  4. If both players have a TBR and the original roll is a tie, then both players reroll it until there is a winner/loser, then you can start using your TBR as described in #3.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models". (Infernal Ruling)
    • This may change with the remix 2019.08
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]