Theme - Magnum Opus

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1265 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


CG Logo.png Theme - Magnum Opus

Crucible Guard Theme Force
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia

The Crucible Guard has unleashed its standing army in a show of force that unveils its impressive military innovations and tactical flexibility. Its highly trained and specialized soldiers fight in concert with skilled combat alchemists and support units to push up the field in a haze of alchemical smoke, backed up by the might of the Golden Crucible’s advanced war machines.

Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Magnum Opus theme force can include only the following Crucible Guard models:

  • This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Crucible Guard.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Crucible Guard] rule.
    • Mercenary units can include attachments, including Doctor Alejandro Mosby.

Full model list

Literally the entire faction is included, even the Partisans.

(Note that, since Gorman and Hutchuk are explicitly on the list of allowed models, they do not use up your "Up to one Merc solo" slot.)

Requisition Options

Each Requistion Point can be spent on either:

  • One Crucible Guard weapon crew unit
  • One Crucible Guard command attachment
  • Three Crucible Guard Mechanik solos
  • Two Trancer solos
  • One other small- or medium-based Crucible Guard solo

Theme Bonuses

  1. Crucible Guard solos and Crucible Guard weapon crew units in this army gain Reposition [3"].
    Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
  2. You can reroll your starting roll for the game. Your starting game roll can only be rerolled once as a result of this special rule.

Recent Changes

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Gorman2 added to the list of allowed models.
  • Swapped the "+1 to go first" benefit for the "reroll to go first"
  • Multi-model options added to the potential freebies.


Thoughts on Magnum Opus

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Magnum Opus in a Nutshell

Magnum Opus is an infantry focused theme force. It’s large differentiating option from Prima Materia is the inclusion of general Mercenary units and solos. It should benefit infantry focused builds.

If you're running a full Crucible Guard list without many mercenaries then you've ended up in Magnum Opus by default. The only real reason not to play Magnum Opus as the Crucible guard is if you want to play Prime Materia, or buttloads of Mercenaries, instead.

Theme weakness

As the base Crucible Guard theme, anything which is good into Guard will be good into Magnum Opus and vice versa. Guard rely heavily on shooting, as well as continuous effects which layer on top of one another. They are thus vulnerable to lists with powerful anti-shooting tech (such as cloud walls, mass Stealth, or terrain exploitation). Additionally Guard struggles in melee, relying on their 'jacks & battle engines once the enemy has engaged. High speed enemies or enemies with lots of Ambush are thus huge headaches, as is anything tough enough to weather a turn or two of shooting before engaging.

Guard has few tools to deal with anti-shooting tech, and must often push into their merc options (such as the Steelhead Arcanist's ability to delete clouds) or accept that some portion of their army will not function properly into such lists. Playing aggressively up the board with battle engines & 'jacks to set the pace of the engagement can also be an option, one which is made much more viable by the +1 roll to go first theme benefit. Picking the right table edge is critical for Guard, as that single decision can swing entire games. Counter-Ambush is remarkably strong in Guard thanks to the ability to take Hutchuk and another Ambushing Merc (or even a whole unit!). Jamming is very viable in Guard, thanks to the huge amount of resources needed to remove a forward unit of Rocketmen.

List Building Tips

Magnum Opus' defining feature as a theme is how open it is and how easy it is to get value out of the theme benefits. It's recommended to bring both available units of Dragon's Breath Rockets (there's really not a good reason to not), but beyond that there is really no obvious or standard way to build the theme. A few notable models include:

  • Rocketmen are Guard's premier skirmishers, and thanks to their winning combination of speed, high DEF, and high model count they excel at jamming and contesting space up the board early in the game. The solution to fast enemies or enemies which exploit terrain is to slow them down on their side of table, a roll in which Rocketmen fit perfect.
  • The Railless Interceptor is a major damage dealer, and not too shabby in melee. It is both tough enough and large enough to slow down entire enemy flanks, and threatening enough at range to not be ignored.
  • Magnum Opus allowing Gorman & Hutchuk without taking up your Merc slot is huge. Merc solos are generally above the curve due to their limited availability, Gorman & Hutchuk especially so.
  • Vanguard's are still very much useful (despite not being at peak efficiency like in Prima Materia), especially for a list which wants to hang back and trade volleys at range.
  • Trancers are regarded as one of Crucible Guard's most powerful & skill intensive models, with most top players taking 3 or 4 in every list. Slam on a 3 point solo is very, very good for a list which doesn't want to see enemy models within 10".

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Caster thoughts

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the launch of the CG Faction, 2018.06
  • Magnum Opus is Latin for "Great Work", and in modern usuage it refers to a creation that is considered to be the greatest work of a person's entire career.

Other CG models

CG Logo.png       Crucible Guard Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Gearhart - Locke - Lukas - Mackay - Syvestro

Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (Crucible) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Prospero (BGC)
Light Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard
Heavy Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator
Colossal Vulcan
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Solos

CG Mechanik - Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist (1) - Gorman the Mad (2) - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - Prospero - Rocketman Ace - Trancer

Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
Theme Forces
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Crucible Guard Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition     (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
    1. This applies even if the Partisan model is only called out be a secondary attribute, with or without a faction identifier. Example: Living Cryx models/units in Scourge of the Broken Coast applies to Cephalyx. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]