The proud Dawnguard soldiers of House Nyarr represent one of the greatest assets in the Retribution of Scyrah’s arsenal. These oath-sworn warriors boast martial traditions stretching back millennia and make up the elite soldiery of the Retribution. Bearing the most advanced weapons and armor of their Great Military House, they are implacable warriors devoted to House Nyarr and through it the Retribution’s cause.
An army made use the Legions of Dawn theme force can include only the following Retribution models:
- This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Retribution.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Retribution] rule.
- Mercenary units can have attachments
Full model list
The models allowed in Legions of Dawn
This list was last updated: 2019.07 (Edit)
- All Retribution warcasters
- All non-character warjacks
- Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
- Up to one unit
- Up to one solo
You can spend each Requisition Point on either:
- One Retribution CA
- Two Ghost Sniper solos
- Two Lys Healer solos
- One other small- or medium-based Retribution solo
- Warjacks in this army can ignore friendly Dawnguard models when determining LOS. Warjacks in this army can advance through friendly Dawnguard models if they have enough movement to move completely past them.
- While 'Jack Marshaled, warjacks in this army gain Flank [Dawnguard].
- Flank [Dawnguard] - When this model makes a melee attack against an enemy model in the melee range of a friendly Dawnguard model, this model gains +2 to attack rolls and gains an additional damage die.
2019.07 Theme Remix
- Game-wide Remix changes
- Hemera added to the list of allowed models.
- The non-existent Nyarr models were removed from the list of allowed models
- Freebies expanded to allow Lys Healers or Ghost Snipers
- Benefit changed to Flank (instead of +1 to go first). Like it used to be before the 2018.09 errata.
Thoughts on this Theme Force
Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.
See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.
Legions of Dawn in a nutshell
A nice, combined-arms theme for your Dawnguards - mainly for Sentinels. The theme bonus gives a quasi-tactician for your warjacks, making navigation through your infantry screen less challenging - if you don't have a Scyir nearby. With the Oblivion theme force update and the introduction of Requisition points the theme gained quite a bit of flexibility and is capable of building both infantry or warjack-focused forces as well as a more mixed force. Generally you'll probably want at least one unit of infantry, but don't be afraid to go for more jacks in this theme.
The Flank theme benefit is a nice bonus but probably not worth building lists for. It's a nice bonus late-game but generally probably isn't worth giving up battlegroup jacks for.
With 3 Requisition points in a 75-point game it's easy to bring one or two Artificers for handing out Force barrier and double Ghost Snipers for 1 point is great for holding down flags.
If anything the only weakness is just being SPD5 on your mainstay infantry.
List Building tips
- Scyir - He eases the movement issues with your cavalry and infantry around, and Righteous Vengeance can help you to deliver an angry jack into the face of the enemy. If you're taking more than one unit of infantry (or even sometimes if you do only have one unit) you take him for Tactician and to have a nice late-game hitter.
- The addition of Hemera to the list creates some interesting builds; Mark Target is huge for Invictors, Destors, and the Trident and can stack with Veteran Leader from Vyros2 and the Shooting Gallery on the Trident for RAT scores between 9 and 11 if you get everything lined up right.
- You can create some unexpected attack vectors if your opponent loses track of what can move or see through what. With all your movement tricks in play you're looking at:
- Infantry that can see and move through each other thanks to the Scyir.
- Warjacks that can see and move through infantry thanks to the theme benefit.
- All Friendly models can see and move through the Trident.
- Both Vyros1 and Vyros2 let their warjacks ignore clouds, forests, and models for LOS as well.
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
Casters of Note
- Magister Helynna - Deceleration is all that takes to deliver your Sentinels or Destors to the enemy, and you can add an additional layer of protection with your feat.
- Issyria, Sibyl of Dawn - great movement boost with Crusader's Call, another ARM boost, and anti-shooting tech with Blinding Light. Her feat ensures you some protection from bad dice rolls.
- Vyros1 and Vyros2 - yet 2 more casters with ARM boosters, with great spells for their battlegroup too. The prime incarnation's feat allows warjacks to run in and unjam your frontlines from all but the toughest models, while the epic incarnation's veteran bonus will make your hits all the more deadlier (goes for the ones you deliver under Vengeance too).
- Kaelyssa - it's a lot easier to deliver sentinels when they have stealth and can't be charged for one turn on the approach, and Banishing Ward to prevent one unit being debuffed is nice too.
- Lord Ghyrrshyld, the Forgiven - He can take Sentinels to ARM23 under Dauntless Resolve and Minifeat, he can give them Ghost Walk to clear rough terrain out of deployment, he has a DEF fixer nuke for removing high threat solos, he can run a pretty good gunline with Tridents and Invictors because of his ARM debuff, and he can protect against shooting with cloudwalls. His Field Marshal helps keep debuffs off of your units. His Feat makes attacking Sentinels with anything that isn't ranged or Immune to Cold an absolute trap, usually forcing your opponents to just back off for a turn. In short he does an incredible amount for this theme, only limited by how much Focus he has.
Other Retribution themes/models
- The third benefit functions a lot like Tactician, so I've included it's rules clarifications
Rules Clarification : Tactician and/or Operations Command (Edit)
- The moving model doesn't have to be in CMD range, just the model they're moving through.
- The "can ignore for LOS" is not optional. You cannot opt to "turn off" your ability to see through models, in the hope of getting a free strike or some such. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flank (Edit)
- You can gain the Flank bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
- Melee range is measured from your front arc so you cannot trigger Flank on models in your back arc.
- The target enemy doesn't need to be in the Flanker's LOS, just their melee range.
- Most of the time if something is in your melee range then it is so close it's in your LOS too, and the difference is meaningless.
- But if you have 2" reach and you're jammed up in B2B with a bunch of closely-spaced enemies, you'll find your LOS is blocked. In this case, you might be able to trigger Flank on an enemy model that is "hiding" behind that front row of jammers, even though you don't have LOS to it.
- Flank is not tied to a specific weapon, so Mount attacks and Power Attacks can benefit as well.
- If the target moves in/out of the Flanker's melee range between the attack roll and the damage roll (for instance if you throw it) then you need to reassess whether you get the Flank bonus for the damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Themes that change a model's Faction [Show/Hide]
- Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency when a model is considered a different faction, it will not be it's original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
- If the original loser still loses, fine.
- If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
- If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Since Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- If they are on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want, plus another Mercenary unit/solo.(Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria). (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points [Show/Hide]
- You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
- You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
- If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
See also these Theme-Specific Rulings [Show/Hide]
Rules Clarification : Black Industries (Edit)
- The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models". Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
- The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness (Edit)
- You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
- Morrowan Battle Priest:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros (Edit)
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host (Edit)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : The Exalted (Edit)
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes (Edit)
- Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus (Edit)
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)