The brotherhood of the Iron Fangs maintains traditions arising from ancient warriors who battled the beasts of the north armed only with spears and the indomitable courage all true Khadorans possess. Iron Fang assault forces are tasked with breaking enemy lines regardless of whether those lines are composed of towering warjacks or masses of infantry. Surrounding a hard center of warjacks, an Iron Fang legion marches in lockstep behind a wall of shields, supported by swift and brutal cavalry to protect their flanks.
An army made use the Legion of Steel theme force can include only the following Khador models:
- Khador warcasters
- Non-character warjacks
- Iron Fang models/units
- War Dog solos
- Battle Mechaniks units
- Greylord Adjunct solos
- This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Khador.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Khador] rule.
- Mercenary units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments.
Full Model List
The models allowed in Legion of Steel
This list was last updated: 2019.07 (Edit)
- All non-character Khador warjacks
- Character warjacks can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
- Up to one solo
- Up to one unit
You can spend each Requisition Point on either:
- One Khador command attachment
- One small- or medium-based Khador solo
- The Great Bears of Gallowswood and Iron Fang solos in this army gain Countercharge.
- Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
- You can reroll your starting roll for the game. Your starting game roll can be rerolled only once as a result of this special rule.
2019.07 Theme Remix
- Game-wide Remix changes
- Theme no longer grants Advance Move, replaced with the reroll of the starting roll.
- Mercenary restrictions relaxed (used to be one solo, and one non-character unit)
Thoughts on this Legion of Steel
Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.
See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.
Legion of Steel in a nutshell
Uhlans and Pikemen and Kovniks, OH MY!
The Iron Fang contingent within Khador has extremely potent internal synergy with each other that is caster independent making this theme force somewhat viable regardless of which caster is chosen to lead it.
- Kovnik Markov grants tactician to friendly Iron Fang Models within his 10" command bubble allowing all Iron Fangs to draw line of sight and move through each others basses.
- The Iron Fang Kovnik grants Precise Strike to Iron Fangs in his command 10 as well as making them immune to knock down.
- Kapitan Sofya just straight up boosts Iron Fang attacks, while being tough as nails and a shield guard.
All of these in addition to counter charge on the Great Bears and solos allows you to screen your important "Kommanders" with Pikeman of either flavor, then counter charge through them into juicy targets that present themselves if you can be relatively sure they can survive. Precision Strike even allows you to potentially carve out key systems to unwary Jacks or beasts who wander into counter charge range potentially crippling them before they can perform actions.
Your Warcaster, their Warjacks, and a small number of merc units and solos are you only options for ranged attacks. If you're doing it right though, you shouldn't be in shooting range for more than 1 turn before you charge, and your armor should weather most of that.
Few Magic Weapons
Other than mercenaries or your caster (and possibly Ruin), you have zero options to deal with Incorporeal models. This isn't terribly different from most Khador lists, but you probably want access to more Koldun if you are finding yourself up against a lot of incorporeal targets.
List Building Tips
Units with interesting synergies with this theme:
- If you can get two or more Great Bears to counter charge the same enemy model they benefit from Flank making them MAT 10 and 4 dice on damage.
- Kovnik Markov's Concussion Lance will trigger Warhead on a counter charge making it even more dangerous to infantry who try to group up on hard targets. Make sure to counter charge the last viable target to catch the most models in the 4" AOE.
Starting a LoS force
You'll want a full unit of either Iron Fang Pikemen or the Black Dragons (which are sold in the same box as a multikit). The Pikemen loadout is generally easier to learn and more universally useful, but the Black Dragons look and play great as well. Then add their Iron Fang Kovnik support solo and you'll be most of the way to a 25 point game.
Casters of Note
- Irusk2: One of the best infantry casters in the game, who can help improve the Iron Fangs survivability.
- Strakhov2: Our newest and arguably best pure infantry caster; he makes the Iron Fangs absurdly survivable.
- Lord Kozlov, Viscount of Scarsgrad: Improves the speed and ARM and hitting power of the entire army.
- Zerkova1: This theme is, besides eventual battlegroup warjacks, purely melee oriented. 12" of clouds will help the Iron Fangs to actually get there safely.
Other casters will get varying mileage out of the theme depending on their playstyle, but due to the innate synergies withing the Iron Fangs themselves they demand little in the way of support in order to do what they are intended to do.
- Released 2017.03
- The 2017 Khador All-in-One Army box contained a Legion of Steel force led by Irusk1.
Other Khador themes/models
Rules Clarification: : Countercharge (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Triggering Countercharge |
- You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
- Some abilities let you "ignore intervening models when declaring a charge" (such as Flight). Unfortunately, you still need LOS to trigger Countercharge, and it's only after CC is triggered that you actually get to declare a charge. In other words, Flight and Countercharge don't work together for LOS purposes.
- What does trigger Countercharge
- Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
- Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
- What doesn't trigger Countercharge
- Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
- If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
- Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
- Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
- When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."
What can your opponent do?
- Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
- They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).
Attacks, Boosting, & Other Triggers
- You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
- The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.
- Countercharge occurs outside of activation so you can't spend fury/focus to boost a countercharge attack, nor buy additional attacks afterwards, not trigger stuff that only happens during your Combat Action (like Berserk).
- Exception: It is possible to trigger Countercharge during your own activation (for instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away). In that case, you can do all the stuff mentioned above. (Locked Thread)
After the Countercharge
- You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)
- Countercharge within your own activation ( Edit )
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation, but only if an enemy model somehow triggers their own move. For instance, you move towards a model with Admonition and they trigger that to try to move away. (You do a normal move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge from their admonition-move.)
- In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
- Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge). (Infernal Ruling)
This ruling still applies even after the 2018.07 update (Infernal Re-ruling)
- Countercharge plus Admonition
- If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
- Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
- Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
- This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Themes that change a model's Faction [Show/Hide]
- Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency when a model is considered a different faction, it will not be it's original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
- If the original loser still loses, fine.
- If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
- If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Since Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- If they are on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want, plus another Mercenary unit/solo.(Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria). (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points [Show/Hide]
- You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
- You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
- If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
See also these Theme-Specific Rulings [Show/Hide]
Rules Clarification : Black Industries (Edit)
- The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models". Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
- The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness (Edit)
- You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
- Morrowan Battle Priest:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros (Edit)
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host (Edit)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : The Exalted (Edit)
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes (Edit)
- Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus (Edit)
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)