Theme - Jaws of the Wolf

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Khador Logo.jpg Theme - Jaws of the Wolf

Khador Theme Force
Armored Korps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter

The deployment of warjack-heavy forces to eliminate hard targets is a standard response to military threats. A common Khadoran tactic involves augmenting such forces with a contingent of scouts who venture ahead to ensure the slow and steady column of Khadoran steel reaches its target intact. Once engaged, the warjacks rely on overwhelming strength and raw firepower to batter the enemy into submission.

Theme Rules - Remix

CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change - 2019 Theme Remix
All existing theme forces are changing from the "free cards" system into a new "Requistion Points" system. There will be an interim period between the end of 2019.07 to mid 2019.09 where players can use whichever system they prefer.

The Remixed version became officially available on the 26th July.

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Jaws of the Wolf theme force can include only the following Khador models:

  • This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Khador.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Khador] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have attachments, but not a Ranking Officer.

Full model list

The models allowed in Jaws of the Wolf are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Khador warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Khador warjacks
  • Behemoth
  • Black Ivan
  • Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Mercenaries

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

Requisition Points

You can spend each Requisition Point on either:

  • One Kayazy Eliminator unit
  • One Khador CA
  • One small-based Khador solo
  • One medium-based Khador solo

Theme Bonuses

  1. Khador warjacks in this army gain Pathfinder.
  2. Before models are deployed at the start of the game, you can place one 5" AOE forest terrain feature anywhere completely within 18" of the rear table edge of your deployment zone.

Recent Changes

2019.01 Cornucopia Errata

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Black Ivan added to the list of allowed models
  • Ranking Officers removed from the list of allowed models.
  • Eliminators are now a free option
  • Both benefits changed. (They used to be: Mechaniks gained Reposition 3", and enemies lost Ambush)

Theme Rules - Old Version

Old Restrictions   [Show/Hide]

An army made use the Jaws of the Wolf theme force can include only the following Khador models:

Old Bonuses   [Show/Hide]
  1. This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Khador.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Khador] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every 25 points of Khador warjacks in this army, you can add free of cost either:
    • One Khador command attachment, or
    • One Khador solo.
  3. Battle Mechaniks units in the army gain Reposition [3].
    • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
  4. Enemy models lose Ambush.

Thoughts on Jaws of the Wolf

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Initial Thoughts on the Remix

Warjacks gaining Pathfinder is huge and makes this into the warjack theme even with the loss of the fourth potential freebie. This is a substantial buff as well as allowing Kayazy to be used more freely. The theme really opened up.

Jaws of the Wolf in a nutshell

Jaws of the Wolf focuses on the mainstay of Khador armies in mk3: The Warjacks, supplemented by infantry options comprised of Khador's Stealth and Advance Deployment units. It is quite possible to run an army entirely made up of stealth models. Lastly, never underestimate the power of having Pathfinder on every single heavy you bring

  • More than anything else, this theme list makes playing lots of warjacks more viable across the board, and largely does so regardless of who you choose as your caster.
  • Reposition on the Mechanics allow for more mechanics to get into B2B with a damaged jack to repair it, then move out of the jack's way before it activates.
  • Free Forge seers provide your warjacks with extra focus through their empower spell, and if you marshall a warjack to them, their drive also makes all the warjack's weapons magical and blessed. You're playing a list that is probably going to be warjack heavy, so you would be foolish not to take free models that make your warjacks significantly better.
  • A forest is a cool bonus, but entirely dependent on what your opponent has brought with regards to it being great or a minor inconvenience. Use it to screen your jacks until the time is ready to strike and to trigger Yuri and his posse of Manhunter's Treewalker. If the enemy also has a Pathfinder heavy army (as in: Circle) it's not going to be all that relevant, but hey, it's free!

Theme weaknesses & Mitigating them

This theme, despite having a focus on Warjacks, doesn't grant them any direct benefits (like Advance Move granted by the Winter Guard Kommand). It "only" hands out free support solos and improves the maneuverability of Battle Mechanics. Players should decide for themselves whether that and the denied deployment is worth giving up on mercenary and out-of-theme support or not.

List Building Tips

To get most out of the theme benefits, the vast majority of your list will be composed of Jacks, taking the best solos available as free benefits. Battle Mechanics should be taken to fill out the army and provide repair for the large number of Jacks and few Man-O-War solos included. Remember to try and get as close to multiples of 25 for your jacks in order to be more efficient with getting free solos.

At a bare minimum, you should run 50 points of warjacks to gain the 2 free forge seers along with 3-5 warjacks.

There are many ways to build into a Jaws army but you're always going to benefit from owning a unit of Widowmakers and their supporting solo the Widowmaker Marksman (which all fit into Winter Guard Kommand theme too). To support all the warjacks you can't go wrong with investing in a Greylord Forge Seer (which is also excellent in Armored Corps and Wolves of Winter lists). The new Greylord Adjunct is also a solid option for giving you another way to put magic weapons in the hands of your warjacks, as well as eyeless sight.

Another approach to building lists in this theme, would be to take advantage of the stealth models with high DEF stats. Kayazy are excellent at gumming up the opponent's slowed down army while your battlegroup gets into position to either line up the assassination or prepare for the attrition.

Example of a Jack-heavy list   [Show/Hide]
8 heavy Jacks plus Karchev himself totaling 100p exactly; that's 4 free solos (at 4p each) with exactly enough points to get a single unit of Mechanics. Khadoran Jack spam at its height.
Example of a Stealth-heavy list   [Show/Hide]

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Casters of Note

The casters that will make the most of this theme are the ones who are already good at running warjacks, namely: Butcher1, Harkevich, Karchev, Kozlov, Malakov2, Sorscha2, and Vlad1.

In saying that though, given that the theme allows you to take Forge Seers and Junior Warcasters (Malakov1 and Sorscha0) that then let you support more warjacks essentially for free, nearly every caster can run this theme list reasonably well. As such it is easier to point out the casters that don't have any synergy with the theme:

  • Zerkova2: Zerkova 2 works much better with far more Greylords and offers nothing to the models available in this theme.
  • Old Witch1: While Scrapjack benefits from any Repair or other warjack synergy, Old Witch's relatively low Warjack Points hinders your ability to get free solos.

Other

Trivia

Originally released 2017.03

Other Khador models

Khador Logo.jpg       Khador Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Sorscha3 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2

Warcaster attachments

Khador: War Dog - Greylord Adjunct
Mercenary: Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Malakov1 - Sorscha0
'Jack Marshals: Man-o-War Kovnik - Greylord Forge Seer

Heavy Warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood - MOW Atanas & Standard
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos

Greylord Adjunct - Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - MOW Strike Tanker - MOW Suppresion Tanker - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Sorscha0 - Yuri

Battle Engines Gun Carriage - Man-o-War Siege Chariot - Man-o-War Assault Chariot
Theme Forces
Armored Korps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Khador Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]