Theme - Infernal Machines

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
SamePageIcon.jpg

You may be looking for one of these:

We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Cryx Logo.jpg Theme - Infernal Machines

Cryx Theme Force
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders

The true might of the Nightmare Empire lies in its endless tide of undead thralls and the power of its helljacks.

Theme Rules[edit]

Theme Restrictions[edit]

An army made use the Infernal Machines theme force can include only the following Cryx models:

Full model list[edit]

The models allowed in Infernal Machines are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2018.05   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Cryx warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Cryx warjacks
  • Deathjack
  • Malice
  • Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Battle Engines

Mercenaries

  • One solo
  • One unit

Theme Bonuses[edit]

  1. You may include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Cryx.
    • These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Cryx] rule.
    • Mercenary units in this army can include attachments, including a Ranking Officer.
  2. For every full 20 points of Thrall models/units in your army, you can add for free either
    1. One Necrosurgeon unit, or
    2. One command attachment, or
    3. One non-character solo.
    • Free models/units do not count toward the total point value of Thrall models/units when calculating this bonus.
  3. Warjacks in the army gain Hyper-Aggressive.
    • Hyper-Aggressive - When this model suffers damage from an enemy attack at any time except while it is advancing, after the attack is resolved it can immediately make a full advance directly toward the attacking model.
  4. One Mechanithrall unit in the army gains Ambush.
    • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.

Recent Changes[edit]

2018.04

Thoughts on this Infernal Machines[edit]

Infernal Machines in a nutshell[edit]

This theme specialises in the mindless thralls of Cryx, which are the "cheap swarm" undead, and also warjacks.

Alternatively it's the Cryx theme force for warjacks, giving them hyper-aggressive for free. The trick to an Infernal Machines list built this way is that if you're building jack-heavy you build your list normally then see how close you are to this theme force.

Competitiveness Infernal Machines is generally considered to be not competitive, althougth it is considered the second best way of spamming infantry in Cryx (after The Ghost Fleet). Lots of infantry, lots of recursion - but Infernal Machines lacks Gang when compared to Ghost Fleet. It also gets fewer free points than Ghost Fleet.

The changes to Ghost Fleet (specifically to the Revenant Crew of the Atramentous coupled with the nerfs to Deneghra1) have opened some space for reconsideration of the place of Infernal Machines within Cryx. While the benefits of IM are indeed questionable at best--neither Hyper-Aggressive on jacks nor ambushing Mechanithralls are by themselves particularly impressive--the theme does offer a great deal of flexibility in terms of list building, has access to strong character choices, can take Wraith Engines (although sadly, not for theme points as in Dark Host), and can work with nearly any caster in the faction.

For the most part, the troop options that count towards acquiring a free solo in Infernal Machines are not as well-rounded as those that are available to other themes like Dark Host, Scourge of the Broken Coast, or Slaughter Fleet Raiders. Another constraint on list-building is that a number of the theme's best pieces do not count towards free points. For this reason, it is recommended to build with an eye towards meeting only the bare minimum thresholds for free solos (either two Pistol Wraiths or two Warwitch Sirens), typically aiming for 40-point modules in a 75-pt list. This frees up thirty-five points (plus a caster's WJPs) towards loading up on your battlegroup, taking support pieces like Aiakos, Hellslinger Phantom, and the Withershadow Combine, or investing in elite mercenary options like Wrongeye & Snapjaw.

Theme weaknesses[edit]

Bad Core
Fundamentally, the thralls are the low-quality troops of Cryx. In previous editions you can sprinkle a few elite units amongst them, but with the way themes work in Mk3 you're stuck with nothing but the thralls which ... just doesn't work.

No FA bonus
It does nothing to increase FA. So the only reason you can swarm better than out of theme is that you get your Necrosurgeons for free.

List Building Tips[edit]

Despite the variety of options available to the theme, there are no particularly strong synergies worth pursuing via a "combined arms" approach to list-building with Infernal Machines. Indeed, the units (and solos) available to the theme all tend to work best when spammed or taken in pairs. This perspective yields a few different archetypes:

  • Dawn of the Dead: Three full units of Mechanithralls with maximum Brutes (one of which is ambushing), and two units of Necrosurgeons. A Skarlock UA for one of the non-ambushing units and a Skarlock Thrall attachment for the caster (ideally, one with access to Ghost Walk) round out a 60 pt module. Since the days of MK2, this build has long been a bog standard for Terminus and Skarre1, although Dark Host is hands-down the better theme for both of them now.
  • The Birds: Two full units of Carrion Thralls backed by a pair of Necrosurgeons, with a min unit of Mechanithralls and three Brutes for the ambush. Again, 40 pts. This module has the benefit of not caring about a lot of terrain. This build gels very nicely with Goreshade3's typical gameplan. Casters with scary assassination threats like Asphyxious1, Captain Aiakos, or even the much-maligned Sturgis2 could also get a lot of mileage out of a module of fast, cheap, recurring jammers that come with two free solos.
  • The Purge: Two max units of Bile Thralls with Skarlock UAs for Advanced Deployment, trailed by two necrosurgeons, and supported by two Bloat Thralls with Mobius, and an additional two points to taste (Soul Trappers or a Skarlock Thrall, depending on the caster) to get to 60 pts. Alternately, downgrade the Bile Thralls to min units and add in a min unit of Mechanithralls and three brutes to ambush. This build is definitely more on the casual side, especially in a meta that favors high-ARM multi-wound models. Still, someone like Bane Witch Agathia could have a lot to offer this sort of build.


One last note: Go for either your jack line (which would probably be better in Black Industries anyway) or your McThrall swarm. Not both.

Caster thoughts[edit]

  • Aiakos2 goes well with McThralls, fixing their MAT - and also likes the jacks he gets - and finally gives this list an assassination threat.
  • Lich Lord Terminus makes the entire swarm tough. You can even bring Orin to protect him from spells.
  • Deneghra2 goes well with everything.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released around about 2016.07

Other Cryx models[edit]

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates
Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hyper-Aggressive      (Edit)

  • Because you must move directly towards your attacker, you cannot change facing after completing your Hyper-Aggressive move.
  • HA can be triggered more than once per turn.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ambush      (Edit)

  • When a model/unit is going to use Ambush, it needs to be declared before either player begins deploying models. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If both players have Ambushing models, then it goes: Pick Sides, Player 1 chooses whether or not to use Ambush, then Player 2 chooses whether or not to Ambush, then Player 1 begins deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Ambush occurs last in Step 5 of the Control Phase. You cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models   [Show/Hide]
  • If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
    • There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
    • There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]
Cryx - Slaughter Fleet Raiders   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Cryx unit during a game, the DSM still use up your Mercenary slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Mercenary unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)