Theme - Guardians of the Temple

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1219 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (one year review) Exemplar Bastion Seneschal (one year review) Exemplar Errants (One one year review)


Protectorate Logo.jpg Theme - Guardians of the Temple

Protectorate Theme Force
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith

The soldiers of the Flameguard Temple once found their purpose in defending the sacred sites of the Protectorate, but the turmoil of recent years has seen these former guardians forged into one of the most formidable fighting forces of the nation. Hearing and heeding Menoth's call to service, thousands have swelled the ranks to take up arms and carry out the will of the Lawgiver. With the blessings of Menoth upon them, these faithful eagerly go to war against the non-believers, unified in their unwavering support of the Great Crusade.

Theme Rules - Remix

CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change - 2019 Theme Remix
All existing theme forces will be changing from the "free cards" system into a new "Requistion Points" system. There will be an interim period from the start of 2019.08 to mid 2019.09 where players can use whichever system they prefer.

The new version is not "officially" available. The info below is from a spoiler.

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Guardians of the Temple theme force can include only the following Protectorate models:

  • This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Protectorate.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Protectorate] rule.
    • Minion units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments

Full model list

The models allowed in Guardians of the Temple are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Protectorate warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Protectorate warjacks
  • Character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Structures

Units

Solos

Mercenaries

  • One solo
  • One unit

Requisition Points

You can spend each Requisition Point on either:

Theme Bonuses

  1. While B2B with another model in their unit, Temple Flameguard trooper models gain Tough and cannot become knocked down.
  2. Up to one Daughters of the Flame unit in this army gains Ambush.
    Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.

Recent Changes

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Theme now allows all non-character warbeasts (it used to just be ones with flight)
  • 3 character warjacks added to the list of allowed models.
  • Attendant Priest removed from the list of allowed models
  • Freebie models greatly expanded (used to just be a Flameguard CA or a small based solo)
  • The benefits did not change

Theme Rules - Old

Old Restrictions   [Show/Hide]

An army made use the Guardians of the Temple theme force can include only the following Protectorate models:

Old Bonuses   [Show/Hide]
  1. This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Protectorate.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Protectorate] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every full 20 points of Flameguard models/units and Protectorate structures in this army, you can add free of cost either:
    • one Flameguard CA, or
    • one small-based Protectorate solo
    Free models do not count towards the points when working out the bonus.
  3. One unit of Daughters of the Flame gains Ambush.
    • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
  4. While B2B with another model in their unit, Temple Flameguard trooper models gain Tough and cannot become knocked down.

Thoughts on Guardians of the Temple

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Initial thoughts on the Remix

Little changed. Attendant Priests went, character jacks turned up, and you can get two free reclaimer gatekeepers instead of a more expensive solo. But the theme continues as before.

Guardians of the Temple in a nutshell

  • Guardians of the Temple is decent at holding scenario locations with hard to hit units like the Daughters and tough to kill units like the Temple Flameguard.
  • Ambushing Daughters of the Flame is also a very good way of jamming enemy troops or throwing a wrench in your opponents plans.

Theme's weaknesses

  • All the infantry being so cheap leaves an obvious hole in the list; smashing tougher stuff. Of course that's what the Choir of Menoth and the heavy jacks are for.
  • Alas losing the Covenant of Menoth and the Hierophant isn't good.

List Building Tips

  • Take the Ambushing Daughters. Single wound infantry are terrified of these women.
  • Taking a unit of Temple Flameguard with their Command Attachment and Pyrrhus is 20 points, giving you a good self-sufficient module and another free solo.
  • The list lacks magic weapons and attacks outside of what your warcaster might bring and the Shrine of the Lawgiver, so a Sanctifier is highly recommended to deal with pesky Incorporeal models.

Casters of Note

  • Feora, Priestess of the Flame gives all Flameguard an MAT buff. Ignite also helps them hit harder.
  • Feora, The Conquering Flame potentially ups the offensive power of her entire army via Incite. She loves the fact that the Temple Flameguard are relatively self-sufficient on defense, as she does very little to get her army up the field otherwise.
  • Grand Scrutator Severius is an excellent force multiplier for his army via his many support spells (Death Sentence, Defender's Ward, Vision) and Eye of Menoth.
  • Although High Exemplar Cyrenia's Battle Plans don't work on Flameguard, her spell list and feat work just as well as buffing them as they do Exemplars.
  • The High Reclaimer does more for Guardians than the theme does for him; Hand of Fate is an excellent buff, and bringing back Flamebringers or Cleansers can allow for surprising angles of attack. He'd usually rather play in Exemplar Interdiction, though, due to their greater hitting power.
  • Servath Reznik, Wrath of Ages buffs the accuracy of his army via Death March, while Spellpiercer and Lamentation are incredibly punishing for opponents relying on buffs. Like Feora3, he appreciates the TFG being defensively self-sufficient as he does nothing to help them up the board.
  • The Testament of Menoth turns the already annoying-to-deal-with Temple Flameguard into absolute pests via Ashen Veil and cheap recursion. His feat can also be great when used with Flameguard Cleansers and Flamebringers, allowing them to dig deep into the enemy.
  • Thyra, Flame of Sorrow gives Daughters of the Flame Vengence and additional hitting power/accuracy. Occultation and her feat also help get them up the field.

Other

Trivia

  • Released 2017.01
  • Guardians of the Temple was one of the first Theme Forces to be previewed for MK III.

Other Protectorate models/themes

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ambush      (Edit)

  • When a model/unit is going to use Ambush, it needs to be declared before either player begins deploying models. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If both players have Ambushing models, then it goes: Pick Sides, Player 1 chooses whether or not to use Ambush, then Player 2 chooses whether or not to Ambush, then Player 1 begins deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Ambush occurs last in Step 5 of the Control Phase. You cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Girded - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  1. If the original dice roll is a draw, you can choose to either use your theme-benefit-reroll (TBR) on your die only, or let both players reroll the dice and save your TBR for later.
  2. If you lose the original dice roll, then use your TBR and get a draw, then that's your TBR used up. Both players will now reroll the tie normally until there is a winner/loser.
  3. If both players have a TBR and the original roll is not a tie, then the loser will reroll (unless he really wants to lose). If his new roll results in:
    • If the loser is now the winner, the ex-winner can use his TBR to try and beat it.
    • If the loser is now tied with the ex-winner, then the ex-winner can choose whether to use his TBR or save it for later, as described in #1.
  4. If both players have a TBR and the original roll is a tie, then both players reroll it until there is a winner/loser, then you can start using your TBR as described in #3.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models". (Infernal Ruling)
    • This may change with the remix 2019.08
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]