Theme - Exemplar Interdiction

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1219 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (one year review) Exemplar Bastion Seneschal (one year review) Exemplar Errants (One one year review)


Protectorate Logo.jpg Theme - Exemplar Interdiction

Protectorate Theme Force
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith

The ruling priesthood and scrutators of the Protectorate of Menoth have no more loyal and steadfast protectors and warriors than the Exemplars.


Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Exemplar Interdiction theme force can include only the following Protectorate models:

Full model list

The models allowed in Exemplar Interdiction are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Protectorate warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Protectorate warjacks
  • Fire of Salvation
  • Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Battle Engines

Structures

Mercenaries

  • One solo
  • One unit

Theme Bonuses

  1. This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Protectorate.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Protectorate] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every 20 points of Exemplar models/units you can add free of cost either:
    • One small- or medium-based Protectorate solo, or
    • One Protectorate CA.
    Free models don't count towards the limit
  3. Protectorate warjacks' weapons gain Blessed.
    • Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.)
  4. Your deployment zone is extended 2" forward.

Recent Changes

2018.06 Crucible Guard CID

2018.07 Exemplar Interdiction CID


Thoughts on this Theme Force

Exemplar Interdiction in a nutshell

Exemplars are the elite infantry of Protectorate, and this theme rewards you for fielding them. Given that all Exemplars have Weapon Master on their melee weapons, you're going to have a terrifyingly potent melee force. Unfortunately there is no real benefit to the Exemplars themselves (other than the free points) besides the additional deployment zone. +2" deployment zone is pretty nice for faction not known for it's high mobility, not much to discuss really, but it's nice thing to have.

Blessed weapons on jacks are quite a powerful feature. Besides saving you Focus and/or model activations dealing with whatever buffs your opponent has on their models, Menoth currently boasts incredibly powerful ranged weapons on both its Colossals, both of which already ignore several common defensive measures already (Stealth, protection against non-magical shooting, cover/concealment). Even the humble Redeemer can punch holes in low-DEF or knocked down models your opponent thought was safe due to an ARM buff. Seriously consider putting in ranged warjacks to compliment your mostly melee army.

Core Units - Role Recap

Theme Weaknesses

Slow army
Most of the Exemplar units are quite slow. While there are some mitigating options like Gravus you'll still want a caster that can either speed them up or protect them.

Limited Guns
Most Exemplar units do not have ranged weapons. You'll want to include some way of sniping out annoying enemy support solos, whether via Exemplar Errants, the Errant solos, or with an arc node and offensive spells.

Weakness to Guns Part of the above, most Exemplars are not tough enough to weather too much firepower. You'll want some method of weathering the storm before you get to the enemy, such as screening with Exemplar Cinerators, Kreoss2's Tough bubble, or Vindictus' feat.

Starter Set

Starter set

Unlike most themes, the Exemplar Interdiction have a starter set. This is a decent purchase as you save about 11% over buying the contents individually. The contents are:

You'll notice that there is no warcaster or warjacks included.

List-Building Tips

Exemplar-Heavy build

There are essentially three infantry-heavy archetypes for Exemplar Interdiction.

  • Infantry-spam, involves taking many of the small-based Exemplar, Knights and Errants, and swarming the field with high volumes of accurate, high damage Weapon Master attacks. It is excellent with Testament of Menoth for souls and recursion or Vice Scrutator Vindictus as he can speed up and protect large numbers of models.
  • Medium-base spam. Bastions and Cinerators offer very high damage output and good survivability at the cost of speed and volume of attacks. This means the list excels with The Harbinger of Menoth who can protect the higher value targets with Martyrdom, and speed them up via Crusader's Call.
  • Judicator and friends. The third variant involves taking the Judicator, already a powerful field dominating piece, and supporting it with the various means available to Exemplar Interdiction. Exemplar Errants offer board control and aid accuracy with their CA, Rhoven & Co and Severius0 further support the colossal, while units like Exemplar Vengers or Exemplar Cinerators can hold objectives and offer a second threat to deal with. This type of list excels with a host of warcasters including The Harbinger of Menoth, High Exemplar Cyrenia and The High Reclaimer

Jack-Heavy build

  • Take a max unit of Exemplar Errants with CA (20 points) and use them to screen your jacks. You'll get a free solo (probably Severius 0) out of it. If you want them to stick around a little longer, the Exemplar Errant Seneschal solo (3 points) gives the Errants Unyielding which makes them a more durable screening unit.

Combined-Arms build

  • Kreoss3 and Thyra have flexible buffs that can affect both warrior models and warjacks. Severius0 fits nicely into these lists; Road to War is an excellent threat extender for his battlegroup, and Eye of Menoth provides a buff for the entire army.

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Caster Thoughts

Harbinger

She is an excellent Warcaster to run with medium- and large-based Exemplars, able to increases their threat range and melee accuracy with her spells, while Martyrdom keeps them alive. Especially frustrating on ARM21 Cinerators, or the ever-annoying Knights Exemplar Seneschal.

Cyrenia

She is another great choice to run Exemplars with. Her Battle Plans are quite useful, and she increases her troops offensive and defensive capabilities via her spells and feat.

Reclaimer1 and Reclaimer2

Either version are good at running troop-heavy forces. They can recycle your troops further forwards, helping offset the slow speed of Exemplars.

Kreoss2

He gives Exemplars Tough thanks to Paragon of the Faith, and his feat turns your melee attacks up to 11.

Kreoss3

He favors running Vengers (often two units) thanks to providing Divine Inspiration to them via his Elite Cadre; his spells support them and other Exemplars as well.

Thyra

She is a potent force multiplier for Exemplars; like Cyrenia, she gives her troops a threat extender (via feat), as well as a POW and accuracy buffs. Occultation prevents a unit from getting shot.

Vindictus

He can speed them up with a spell and protect them with his feat.

Other

Trivia

Released 2017.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  1. If the original dice roll is a draw, you can choose to either use your theme-benefit-reroll (TBR) on your die only, or let both players reroll the dice and save your TBR for later.
  2. If you lose the original dice roll, then use your TBR and get a draw, then that's your TBR used up. Both players will now reroll the tie normally until there is a winner/loser.
  3. If both players have a TBR and the original roll is not a tie, then the loser will reroll (unless he really wants to lose). If his new roll results in:
    • If the loser is now the winner, the ex-winner can use his TBR to try and beat it.
    • If the loser is now tied with the ex-winner, then the ex-winner can choose whether to use his TBR or save it for later, as described in #1.
  4. If both players have a TBR and the original roll is a tie, then both players reroll it until there is a winner/loser, then you can start using your TBR as described in #3.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models". (Infernal Ruling)
    • This may change with the remix 2019.08
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]

Models in this category

Refer to Category: Exemplar Interdiction

Other themes

List of All Theme Forces       (Edit List)      
Cygnar Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith (Edit)
Khador Armored Corps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter (Edit)
Cryx Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders (Edit)
Retribution of Scyrah Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution (Edit)
Mercenaries Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter (Edit)
Convergence of Cyriss Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions (Edit)
Crucible Guard Magnum Opus - Prima Materia (Edit)
 
Trollbloods Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North (Edit)
Circle Orboros Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt (Edit)
Skorne Disciples of Agony - Imperial Warhost - Masters of War - The Exalted - Winds of Death (Edit)
Legion of Everblight Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War (Edit)
Minions The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food (Edit)
Grymkin Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night (Edit)