When Ios itself is threatened, the Homeguard Coalition leverages the assets of all the halltyr to form an army made up of the diverse forces of housguard warriors and the combined might of countless Iosan houses.
- An army made use the Defenders of Ios theme force can include only the following Retribution models:
Full model list
The models allowed in Defenders of Ios
This list was last updated: 2019.07 (Edit)
- All Retribution warcasters
- All non-character warjacks
- Character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
- Up to one unit
- Up to one solo
(★) Because these models are specifically allowed in this theme, they don't use up your Mercenary slot.
- This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Retribution.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Retribution] rule.
- Mercenary units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
- For every full 20 points of Retribution units and battle engines in your army, you can add one Retribution weapon crew, Retribution CA, or Retribution solo to the army free of cost.
- Free models/units do not count toward the total point value of when calculating this bonus.
- Retribution solos, House Vyre Electromancer units, and Stormfall Archer units in this army gain Reposition [3˝].
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- For each Houseguard unit, one Retribution unit without a ranged weapon can gain Advance Move.
- Advance Move - Before the start of the game but after both players have deployed, a model with Advance Move can make a full advance.
| 2018.09 Retribution Legacy Errata
- Stormfall archers no longer called out by name (as they are now a subset of Houseguard units)
- Third benefit now applies to Electromancers, too
- Fourth benefit changed to "Advance Move per Houseguard unit" (used to be just "all Halberdiers get Advance Move")
Thoughts on this Theme Force
Defenders of Ios in a nutshell
These is a theme all about infantry. Mobile shooting infantry to be precise. It allows Stormfall Archers, House Vyre Electromancers, and solos to hit & run, and melee units to engage faster.
Theme Weaknesses & Mitigating them
Defenders of Ios isn't the most hard hitting theme, nor is it great at scenario owing to to the inherent weaknesses of Retribution infantry (cannot weather an alpha, cannot rely on caster intervention, feats aside, to help them hit harder). However, it is still the most flexible in faction and any potential weakness an element may have can be mitigated by list build.
Further, there is an almost complete absence of Pathfinder in the list which can only be solved by two casters and a third's feat.
Because of their quality, Houseguard Halberdiers and the Arcantrik Force Generator, a common build is two of each, battlegroup and free solos flavoured to choice, a build that is supported well by quite a few different casters.
The theme is now even more able to take combined arms lists as your other melee units now benefit from getting Advance Move, which is now provided by Houseguard units. The cheapest unit to give Advance Move with is the Heavy Rifle Team, so it is common to see two of these giving Advance move to two units of Rysovass Defenders.
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
Any of them... no seriously, every caster is capable of running a Defenders of Ios list well, and even if they cannot provide Pathfinder.
Defenders is more popular for Elara, Kaelyssa, Thyron, Ossyan, Ravyn and Garryth, but Issyria and Rahn are also capable of being at the helm of such a list.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Advance Move - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- If the original dice roll is a draw, you can choose to either use your theme-benefit-reroll (TBR) on your die only, or let both players reroll the dice and save your TBR for later.
- If you lose the original dice roll, then use your TBR and get a draw, then that's your TBR used up. Both players will now reroll the tie normally until there is a winner/loser.
- If both players have a TBR and the original roll is not a tie, then the loser will reroll (unless he really wants to lose). If his new roll results in:
- If the loser is now the winner, the ex-winner can use his TBR to try and beat it.
- If the loser is now tied with the ex-winner, then the ex-winner can choose whether to use his TBR or save it for later, as described in #1.
- If both players have a TBR and the original roll is a tie, then both players reroll it until there is a winner/loser, then you can start using your TBR as described in #3.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
- they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans
- Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
- If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models". (Infernal Ruling)
- This may change with the remix 2019.08
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit
(eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]") [Show/Hide]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Cryx - Ghost Fleet [Show/Hide]
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast [Show/Hide]
Protectorate - The Faithful Masses [Show/Hide]
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might [Show/Hide]
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance [Show/Hide]
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter [Show/Hide]
- The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)
Circle - The Bones of Orboros [Show/Hide]
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild [Show/Hide]
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host [Show/Hide]
- Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Legion - Children of the Dragon [Show/Hide]
- If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
Skorne - The Exalted [Show/Hide]
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Trollblood - Kriel Company [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus [Show/Hide]
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)
Infernals - Hearts of Darkness [Show/Hide]
Models in this Theme Force
Refer to Category: Defenders of Ios