Theme - Defenders of Ios

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Retribution Logo.jpg Theme - Defenders of Ios

Retribution Theme Force
Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution

When Ios itself is threatened, the Homeguard Coalition leverages the assets of all the halltyr to form an army made up of the diverse forces of housguard warriors and the combined might of countless Iosan houses.

Theme Rules - Remix

CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change - 2019 Theme Remix
All existing theme forces are changing from the "free cards" system into a new "Requistion Points" system. There will be an interim period between the end of 2019.07 to mid 2019.09 where players can use whichever system they prefer.

The Remixed version became officially available on the 26th July.

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Defenders of Ios theme force can include only the following Retribution models:

  • This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Retribution.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Retribution] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments

Full model list

The models allowed in Defenders of Ios are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Retribution warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character warjacks
  • Hypnos
  • Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Battle Engines

Units

Solos

Mercenaries

  • Up to one unit
  • Up to one solo

(★) Because these models are specifically allowed in this theme, they don't use up your Mercenary slot.

Requisition Options

Each Requistion Point can be spent on either:

  • One Retribution weapon crew unit
  • One Retribution command attachment
  • Two Ghost Sniper solos
  • Two Lys Healer solos
  • One other small- or medium-based Retribution solo

Theme Bonuses

  1. Retribution solos, House Vyre Electromancer units, and Stormfall Archer units in this army gain Reposition [3˝].
    Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
  2. Before deploying models you can place a wall template completely within 20" of the rear edge of your deployment zone, and not within 3" of a obstacle or obstruction. This template is an obstacle that grants cover.

Recent Changes

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Hypnos added to the list of allowed models.
  • Lost the "For each Houseguard unit, one Retribution unit without a ranged weapon can gain Advance Move. " benefit.
  • Gained the wall benefit
  • Multi-model options added to the potential freebies.

Theme Rules - Old

Old Restrictions   [Show/Hide]

An army made use the Defenders of Ios theme force can include only the following Retribution models:

Old Bonuses   [Show/Hide]
  1. This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Retribution.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Retribution] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every full 20 points of Retribution units and battle engines in your army, you can add one Retribution weapon crew, Retribution CA, or Retribution solo to the army free of cost.
    • Free models/units do not count toward the total point value of when calculating this bonus.
  3. Retribution solos, House Vyre Electromancer units, and Stormfall Archer units in this army gain Reposition [3˝].
    • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
  4. For each Houseguard unit, one Retribution unit without a ranged weapon can gain Advance Move.
    • Advance Move - Before the start of the game but after both players have deployed, a model with Advance Move can make a full advance.

Thoughts on Defenders of Ios

Thoughts on the Remix

The Remix didn't really change anything about how to build and play this theme. Even changing to Requistion system doesn't change much in terms of list building.

Defenders of Ios in a nutshell

These is a theme all about infantry. Mobile shooting infantry to be precise. It allows Stormfall Archers, House Vyre Electromancers, and solos to hit & run, and melee units to engage faster.

While Legions of Dawn focuses more on the melee aspect of Retribution with Flanking Myrmidons, Sentinels and Destors, Defenders employs shooting of extreme quality and nothing exemplifies this more that the Arcantric Force Generator only available in this theme. It's a giant control piece threatening to set up assassinations and also increases the range of Myrmidon guns and at least one, possibly two, should be taken at all times. More powerful shooting can be found in the units in Riflemen, Nyss Hunters, Stromfall Archers and Heavy Rifle Teams, but also in the solos with Eiryss1, 2 and 4 as well as Ghost Snipers. As the theme gives all the solos Reposition 3" and lets you take two Ghost Snipers as a single requisition option, it makes them extremely compelling choices. The theme doen't lack for good melee pieces either, though, offering you the choice between Halberdiers, Ryssovass and their respective solos and Swordsmen. Thus you can alternae between gunlines, triple battle engine lists, or a combined arms approach, giving you extreme flexibility.

Theme Weaknesses

Defenders is the most flexible theme in Retribution and any potential weakness a particular model/unit may have can be mitigated by ypur overall list build.

Low POW

Defenders of Ios isn't the most hard hitting theme.

Low scenario presence

It is not great at scenario owing to to the inherent weaknesses of Retribution infantry (cannot weather an alpha, cannot rely on caster intervention, feats aside, to help them hit harder).

Terrain mitigation

There is an almost complete absence of Pathfinder in the list which can only be solved by two casters and a third's feat.

List-Building Tips

This is a very flexible theme, as mentioned above, which makes it hard to give any generic tips.

It is noteable that between Ryssovass and Ghost Snipers, you can have an army where almost everything does "auto-damage".

Casters with mass stationary (such as Goreshade4 and Kaelyssa) can abuse Electromancers and/or Eiryss1 to render enemy jacks useless for a round. First make the warjack stationary, then disrupt them so they get no focus to shake it.

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Casters

  • Kaelyssa, Night's Whisper - She loves AFGs to put refuge on and Blur is excellent on any of the bigger units. As mentioned above she also like Electromancers to follow up her stationary shots.
  • Lord Ghyrrshyld, the Forgiven - He makes everything better and having a horde of angry Nyss capitalise on his ARM debuff and excellent shooting to make use of his anti stealth makes him feel right at home in this theme. Also, again, his feat and Electromancers go very well together.
  • Lord Arcanist Ossyan - He cranks up anything shooty to eleven and unless Mage HUnter Strike Forces are your jam, you won't find better shooting anywhere else.
  • Elara, Death's Shadow - Halberdiers under feat and Scything Touch are extremely fast and hit like a ton of bricks.
  • Adeptis Rahn - Probably better in Forges but if he uses his kit to make Nyss Hunters not die to blasts and uses Priests of Nyssor and Lanyssa, backed up by his beloved Sphinx, for his feat he can make the theme work for him.
  • Issyria, Sibyl of Dawn - She makes the list blindingly (heh) fast and her feat does wonders for anything shooty.
  • Thyron, Sword of Truth - It's the home theme of his designated unit, the Swordsmen, and Spell Piercing Heave Rifle Teams are the icing on the cake.

Other

Trivia

Released in the themeopaclypse (2017.09)

Other Retribution themes/models

Retribution Logo.jpg       Retribution Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Elara2 - Garryth1 - Garryth2 - Goreshade4 - Helynna1 - Issyria1 - Kaelyssa1 - Ossyan1 - Rahn1 - Ravyn1 - Thyron1 - Vyros1 - Vyros2
Warcaster attachments Fane Knight Guardian (Retribution) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Retribution) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Elara1 (BGC) - Sentinel Scyir ('Jack Marshal) - Artificer ('Jack Marshal)
Light Warjacks Aspis - Chimera - Gorgon - Griffon - Harpy - Siren
Moros
Heavy Warjacks Banshee - Daemon - Hydra - Manticore - Phoenix - Sphinx
Discordia - Hypnos - Hemera - Imperatus
Colossal Hyperion - Helios
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Destors - Invictors - Sentinels - Heavy Rifle Team - Swordsmen - Arcanists - Battle Mages - Electromancers - Halberdiers - Riflemen - Infiltrators - Strike Force - Ryssovass Defenders - Stormfall Archers
Nyss Hunters - Spears of Scyrah
Special: Eiryss3 (CA) - Soulless Escort (WA)
Solos

Aelyth Vyr - Arcanist Mechanik - Destor Thane - Sentinel Scyir - Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios (1) - Eiryss, Angel of Retribution (2) - Eiryss, Fortune Hunter of Ios (4) - Elara, Tyro of the Third Chamber (1) - Fane Knight Guardian - Fane Knight Skeryth Issyen - Ghost Sniper - Hermit of Henge Hold - Artificer - Magister - Houseguard Thane - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress Lys Healer - Assassin - Narn, Mage Hunter of Ios - Nayl - Priest of Nyssor - Soulless Voidtracer

Battle Engines Arcantrik Force Generator - Dawnguard Trident
Theme Forces
Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution
Mercenaries
Units Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus Wesselbaum & Edrea Lloryrr
Solos

Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan - Void Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]