There are few things more disconcerting than facing a legion of Convergence soldiers who have achieved transcendence—metal-bodied warriors who go to battle in silence and act in unison with mathematical perfection. While such a pitiless metallic army is terrifying to face in its own right, any living devotees to the Maiden of Gears can be even more frightening. Their desire to prove their worthiness to ascend into a clockwork shell drives them to acts of fanatical devotion and unhinged violence.
An army made use the Clockwork Legions theme force can include only the following Convergence and Mercenary models:
- This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Convergence.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Convergence] rule.
- Mercenary units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments
Void Archons don’t become Convergence models (boo!), but you can take two Archons and another Mercenary solo (yay!)
Full model list
The models allowed in Clockwork Legions
This list was last updated: 2020.04 (Edit)
- All Convergence warcasters
- All non-character Convergence warjacks
(★) These models are specifically allowed, so don't use up your "Up to one Mercenary" slot
- One Convergence warjack with a point cost of 6 or less
- One Convergence command attachment
- One Enigma Foundry solo
- One Frustrum Locus solo
- One small- or medium-based Convergence solo
- Enigma Foundry solos in this army become FA 4.
- Eradicator, Perforator, and Reciprocator units in this army gain Vengeance.
- Vengeance - During your Maintenance Phase, if one or more models in a unit with Vengeance were damaged by enemy attacks during the last round, each model in the unit can advance 3" and make one basic melee attack.
2019.12 Destructotron 3000 released
- Asphyxious4 added to the list of allowed models.
- A few old models errata'd, most notably all 3 medium-based units.
Thoughts on Clockwork Legions
Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.
See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.
- Please update this article to reflect the recent changes and new models, then delete this tag
Clockwork Legions in a nutshell
Clockwork Legions is a more infantry-based, balanced army than Destruction Initiative which is very warjack-centric.
With three free Enigma Foundries (and the option to take a fourth) Clockwork Legions is exceptional at the attrition game, returning a dozen dead models per turn and asking the enemy to try it again.
- Great attrition potential means that theme force can play with scenarios pretty well.
- When it comes to convergence's unique durability thanks to Optifex Directives, it is nigh impossible to break open infantry line and harass main vectors.
- Three convergence heavy infantries love additional move, which is guaranteed by vengeance thus give access to more tactical benefits.
- With no access to the TEP, Convergence's super-efficient infantry clearer, this theme has to defeat enemy infantry with their own infantry, which is quite mundane.
- No access to Servitors. In particular, without Attunement Servitors Convergence struggle to pass an attack roll.
Clockwork Legions tend to play defensive and use their recursion to win the long game, since they can't just chop enemy heavies into pieces.
Reliance on lynchpin models
Enigma Foundries are crucial models, and if your opponent takes them out you will be completely hamstrung. Furthermore, there are very few models available to screen them from getting shot by long-range guns. Keep some Shield Guards nearby.
List Building Tips / Synergies
This theme is all about infantry recursion. You normally don't spend any more than your WJP on vectors. You'll probably want to avoid the walking cipher-chassis vectors in favour of the faster hovering conservator-chassis. They'll be able to keep up with the infantry better.
The key piece of the army are the Enigma Foundries and the infantry units they are regenerating each turn. Steelsoul Protectors can be useful to keep the Foundries alive vs shooty opponents.
Normally you have a unit of small-base infantry to run interference for the medium-base troops. Obstructors are the preferred choice.
Medium base troops get Vengeance, so you'll want at least one medium unit or else you're "missing out" on a theme benefit. Reciprocators are arguably the best at "getting work done" with Vengeance.
If you have more than one medium unit, it may pay to have some Optifex Directive to repair them (or the few vectors ypu have). Especially if you are using a caster that buffs ARM, and makes your troops less likely to be killed in one turn.
Any of the main combat units can benefit from the Transverse Enumerator command attachment.
A Frustram Locus can be a useful buff for your units, if you're regularly facing enemy spellslingers.
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
Mainly an infantry caster, she prefers this theme.
His Positive Charge spell can fix accuracy issues. The +4 ARM from his feat will mean your opponent will struggle to kill infantry. Shield Guarding Vectors (from his Field Marshal ability) will help protect the all-important Enigma Foundries.
This theme is great when it comes to his playstyle; grind the infantries, counter-charge with an inverter, then revive the fallen.
- Convergence's best feat becomes deadly when it spreads it into every single infantry in the table.
- Due to theme restriction, Obstructors are a common view in this theme force; and no other caster can make them deadlier that Axis.
- It is strongly recommended to take one or two Conservator, since it is vital to protect Enigma Foundries.
While an odd choice, Iron Mother brings a turn-by-turn damage buff to the army with her Servitors' Imperil beams.
- Shrapnel Swarm also can do wonders for clearing infantry
- Tactical Supremacy is adored by shield wall units.
- With MAT/RAT 5, she isn't wanting for some ranged Vectors to help supplement the Legions' meager accuracy and damage, too. The cipher, with its two flares each turn, can be useful here.
Orion offers an interesting puzzle to unravel.
- His feat contributes both to the accuracy of his units (versus enemy infantry) and to their damage output (versus beasts/'jacks).
- Spellpiercer means you don't have to worry about Magical Weapons or enemy spells, and Avenging Force should be triggered nearly every turn.
- The only issue is asking if one turn of high-output and high damage is enough to cripple the enemy. More use might be found in leveraging vectors to deal damage at range instead.
Locke... doesn't do much of anything for an infantry-based army. Other than using their attacks to trigger Road to War, and possibly giving a Frustrum Locus Sentry, her points can be better spent on more vectors.
Everything that was true of Locke is true for Syntherion. Except he can attempt to support his infantry by casting Magnetic Hold (through an ADO, of course) to grant things extra charge distance.
- Spoiled 2017.08, in a PP Insider.
- The Mk2 theme force "Sustained Attack" (Axis' theme) was the equivalent infantry-heavy theme force.
Other Convergence Models
Rules Clarification : Advance Move - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum (Edit)
- Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
- You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
- Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the model/unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
- Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
- Units only
- Out of formation models cannot make Vengeance moves nor Vengeance attacks.
However if the unit commander uses their movement to bring the Grunts back into formation, then they can move and attack.
- When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
- If you manage to spawn new models during the Maintenance Phase (such as with Reconstruction or Blood-Bound) then those new models can also make Vengeance attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
- If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
- But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".
- Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
- If a CA has Granted: Vengeance then only models in formation have it. However, models that are damaged while out of formation can trigger Vengeance, they just will not benefit from it. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Themes that change a model's Faction [Show/Hide]
- Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency - whenever a model is considered a different faction to normal, it will not be its original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
- For instance Lukas stops being a Crucible Guard model when taken in an Infernal army, and as a consequence he cannot take Toros or Vanguards in Infernals. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
- If the original loser still loses, fine.
- If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
- If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Since Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- If they are on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want, plus another Mercenary unit/solo.(Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria). (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points [Show/Hide]
- You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
- You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
- If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
See also these Theme-Specific Rulings [Show/Hide]
Rules Clarification : Black Industries (Edit)
- The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models". Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
- The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness (Edit)
- You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
- Morrowan Battle Priest:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros (Edit)
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host (Edit)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : The Exalted (Edit)
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes (Edit)
- Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus (Edit)
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)